GlossaryOfTerms Social Media 2016-V3

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TABLE OF CONTENTS

General Glossary of Terms 2

Glossary Terms for Google Analytics 10

Glossary Terms for SEM/SEO 11

Glossary Terms for Geofencing 12

Glossary Terms for Social Media 14

Glossary Terms for Email Marketing 17

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General Glossary of Terms

A
AdSense
Google AdSense is a pay-per-click advertisement application which is available to bloggers and Web publishers
as a way to generate revenue from the traffic on their sites. The owner of the site selects which ads they will
host, and AdSense pays the owner each time an ad is clicked.
Ad Tag
A small piece of code that defines the ad space where ads display on a website. It includes parameters that
describe the inventory advertising campaigns can target, which may in turn display ads in the ad space.
ATF: Above the fold.
ATF ads are visible on the screen without needing to scroll.
Ad server
A system that communicates with web browsers or applications to deliver and track ads.
AdWords
The pay-per-click (PPC) search-engine marketing (SEM) program provided by Google.
API
Abbreviation for Application Programming Interface. Allows people to get data directly into their website, and
continuously update data (Images, Videos, Text). When social media networks like Facebook and Twitter open
their API, it allows developers to build new applications on top of the current service.
Alt Tags
Alt tags were originally designed to provide descriptions of images as a resource of the visually impaired. In
Search Engine Optimization (SEO), they provide an opportunity within an image search and to appropriately
include keywords in image descriptions.
Audience segment
A group of users with similar traits or characteristics.
Audience targeting
Targeting of specific audience segments, such as an age demographic.

B
Banner
This is an ad that appears on a web page which is typically hyperlinked to an advertisers website. Banners can
be images (GIF, JPEG, PNG), JavaScript programs or multimedia objects (Flash, Java, Shockwave etc.)

Beacon
An element on a publishers website that is invisible to users while it gathers information. AKA tracking pixels.

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Bounce Rate
Refers to the percentage of a given pages visitors who exit without visiting another page on the same site. This
term is often used in e-commerce in conjunction with merchandise shopping carts. Also known as
abandonment rate.
Broken Links
Links to pages which no longer exist or have been moved to a different URL without redirection. These links
usually serve pages with the 404 error message (see 404 error). Incidentally, most search engines provide
ways for visitors to report on broken or dead links.
BTF: Below the fold.
Below the fold ads are not visible until the user scrolls down to them

C
Click-Thru Rate (CTR)
The percentage of impressions that results in a click through (e.g. in an email message or advertisement). For
example if a banner was clicked on 87 times after being shown 1000 times, it would have a CTR or click-
through rate of .087 or 8.7% (87/1000 = 0.087100 = 8.7).
Conversion tag:
A small piece of code that tracks how users respond to the ads that serve for the orders they are associated
with.
CPD: Cost per day
A payment model where advertisers pay on a daily basis for their ads to be displayed in various arrangements
Contextual Link Inventory
An extension of search engines where they place targeted links on websites they deem to have similar
audiences.
Conversion
A desired action taken by a website visitor, such as making a purchase, registering for an event, subscribing to
an e-newsletter, completing a lead-gen form, downloading a file, etc.
Conversion Cost
See cost-per-acquisition (CPA).
Conversion Rate
This is the percentage of visitors to a site or ad who actually take a further action, like buying a product or filling
out a survey. For example, if your primary goal is to collect survey data through your site, and 20 people visit it,
but only 5 people complete the survey, you have a conversion rate of 25%.

Cost-Per-Acquisition (CPA)
Represents the ratio of the total cost of a pay-per-click (PPC) campaign to the total number of leads or
customers, often called CPA or conversion cost.
Cost-Per-Click
A method of paying for targeted traffic. For a fee, sites like Google or Facebook direct traffic to your site. You
agree to pay a set amount for every click.

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CPA
An abbreviation for cost-per-acquisition.
CPC
An abbreviation for cost-per-click.
CPM
This is the cost-per-thousand views of an advertisement. Often, advertisers agree to pay a certain amount for
every 1,000 customers who see their ad, regardless of conversion rates or click-thrus. The M in CPM is
derived from the Latin word for 1,000 (mille).

D
Dashboard
Any area of administrative control for operating applications, especially social media settings, blogging
software, and user profiles for websites that offer multiple customization options.
Directory
An index of websites where the listings are compiled by hand, rather than by a crawler. Whether general or
niche-oriented, the best of these sites are structured, reviewed and regularly updated by humans with
transparent editorial guidelines
DNS
Stands alternately for Domain Name Service, Domain Name Server, and Domain Name System: the DNS is
a name service which allows letters (and numbers) that constitute domain names to be used to identify
computers instead of numerical IP addresses.

E
eCPM: Effective cost per mille
eCPM tells a publisher what he or she would have received if they sold advertising inventory on a CPM basis
Exit Page
The last page a viewer sees before leaving a website after viewing one or more pages. For a viewer who sees
only one page, the landing page and exit page are the same.

F
Flash
Refers to a form of video software developed by Adobe Macromedia that creates vector-based graphic
animations that occupy small file sizes.

H
HTML Hypertext markup language (HTML)
Refers to the text-based language which is used to create websites.

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I
iFrames
Also known as simply frames, these HTML tag devices allow 2 or more websites to be displayed
simultaneously on the same page. Facebook now allows companies to create customized tabs for its fan pages
using iFrames, a process which developers find much easier than using the previous FBML, or Facebook
markup language.
Impression
A single display of an ad on a web page, mobile app, or other delivery medium. An impression does not have to
be viewed or clicked on to count as an impression.
IP Address
This series of numbers and periods represents the unique numeric address for each Internet user.

J
Java
Java is a powerful programming language which is independent of platforms, meaning it can run on multiple
computers and operating systems.
JavaScript
JavaScript is a relatively simple scripting language which can be seamlessly integrated with HTML and is used
on many websites. JavaScript is less complex and consequently, less powerful than Java.

K
Keywords
The terms that a user enters into a search engine. They can also signify the terms a website is targeting to rank
highly as part of an SEO marketing campaign. It can also mean variables tagged within content to make the
story/article targetable based on contextual relevancy.

L
Landing Page
A stand-alone Web page that a user lands on, commonly after visiting a paid search-engine listing or following
a link in an email newsletter. This kind of page often is designed with a very specific purpose (i.e. conversion
goals) for visitors.
Listings
A listing is a websites presence in a search engine or directory, and is not necessarily indicative of its search-
engine positioning.

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M
Meta-Tags
Also called meta-data, this information found in HTML page headers used to be the bread and butter of SEO
marketing tactics. Still used today despite widely perceived diminishing relevance to search-engine rankings,
the most common are the title, description, and keyword tags (see below).
Meta-Description Tag
A tag on a Web page located in the heading source code containing a basic description of the page. It helps
search engines categorize the page and can potentially inform users who come across the page listing in search
results.
Meta-Keywords Tag
In the past, this tag allowed page authors to insert a massive list of keywords related (and occasionally
unrelated) to a page in order to game search-engine results. Today, this tags potential to influence rankings has
diminished to the point where it is widely disregarded by major search engines.

O
Organic Listings
Also known as natural listings, these are search-engine results that have not been purchased. They are
calculated solely by an engines algorithm and are based on the merits of the listed pages. Typically, most search
engines will display several sponsored ads related to search terms (often separated by background color or
otherwise highlighted) before displaying the non-paid listings.

P
PageRank
A former proprietary method of Google (now disavowed) for measuring the popularity of a Web page. Much-
debated in the SEO community, the measurement is believed to be influenced chiefly by the number and quality
of inbound and outbound links associated with a given page. Updated infrequently, this rank was indicated as a
number between 1 and 10 most commonly displayed in a green bar chart in the Google toolbar add-on for
browsers. The SEO community consensus opinion is that the measurement was nothing more than Googles
incomplete assessment of the relative strength of a website.
Paid Listings
Listings sold to advertisers for a fee. Also known as paid placement. See pay-per-click.
Paid Placement
See pay-per-click.
Pay-For-Performance
A paid-search system nearly identical to (and essentially synonymous with) pay-per-click.
Pay-Per-Click
Also known as PPC, this type of paid search marketing involves placing advertisements that run above or
besides (and occasionally below) the free search-engine listings on Google, Bing, and Yahoo!. Typically, to get
the highest position among these ads, website owners place a per-click bid. Its not uncommon to participate in
a bidding war for coveted top spots. For example, if a websites listing is among the top 3 advertisements on a
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page, the same ad appears in the same location on partner websites. Some marketing firms, including Fathom,
provide bid management services to get the most value for each search term.
Placement
Where the ad is on the page, such as above the fold (ATF) or below the fold (BTF). This is also referred to
as position
Pop-Up Ad
A form of advertisement which automatically opens (or pops up in) a new window in a browser to display an
ad. Also seen in the form of pop-under ads, a slightly less intrusive version. These interruptive approaches to
advertising are generally disliked (and therefore ignored) by Internet users. Many browser-based and stand-
alone software programs exist to block these ads.
Position
Same as rank in reference to search-engine listings.
PPC
An abbreviation for pay-per-click.
Priority code
Priorities assigned to each line item of a campaign to determine its precedence to deliver when ad is called.
They are listed in descending order, from highest to lowest priority and precedence.
Push (Aka Push Notification)
A message or alert sent to a user in real time on their smartphone or table as soon as the event occurs.

Q
Query
The term(s) entered into a search engine by the user.

R
Ranking(s)
The position of a websites listing(s) in search-engine results pages. The higher a rank for a specific keyword, the
more generally visible a page is to search-engine users.
ROI
An acronym for return-on-investment. ROI is the percentage of profit from a given digital marketing activity.
For example, if you pay $50 a month for CPC advertising, and it leads to $500 in profit, your ROI would be
1000%.
RON: Run of network.
Ads that will appear anywhere on any page of any site that is part of a specific a market such as APP, WEB or
mobile web
ROS: Run of site
Ads that will appear anywhere on a website or mobile website

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RSS Really simple syndication


The process by which content such as blog posts or podcasts can be updated regularly and syndicated to
subscribers in feeds. RSS feeds enable users to access content updates from various outletse.g. their favorite
blogs, news sites, and digital audio/video providersall in one central location.

S
Search Engine
A website that allows users to search the Web for specific information by entering keywords. Can include paid
or organic listings of websites and sometimes specific images, products, videos, music, place entries or other
enhanced results.
Search-Engine Marketing (SEM)
A phrase sometimes used in contrast with SEO to describe paid search activities, SEM may also more
generally refer to the broad range of search-marketing activities, either paid or organic.
Search-Engine Optimization (SEO)
The process of using website analysis and copy/design/structural adjustments to ensure both the highest
possible positioning on desired search-engine results pages and the best experience for a given sites users.
Search-Engine Referral
This statistic represents a visitor who arrives at a website after clicking through a search-engine results listing.
Social Media Ad
A dedicated paid social media advertisement for a client on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or LinkedIn. These
ads are created and paid for within the specific social media network, and have no connection with a station.
They are specifically content about the client.
Sponsored Post
A sponsorship of only news station content on Facebook or Twitter. These posts cannot be an advertisement,
announcement, or direct promotion for a 3rd party. That includes mentions of any products, services,
discounts, sales, or events.
SOV: (Share of Voice)
Revenue model that focuses on weight or percentage among other advertisers. For example, if there are four
advertisers on a website, each advertiser gets 25 percent of the advertising weight. However, if an advertiser
wants page or position exclusivity they would demand 100% SOV

T
Tag
A keyword (often in a string) which is attached to a blog post, tweet (see hashtag), social bookmark or media
file. Tags help categorize content by subject.
Title
An HTML element, found within the back end of a page that describes the page and is also the text that appears
in Google when the site is indexed. The title can also be seen on the browser tab.

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U
UGC
See user-generated content.
Unique Visitor Also known as absolute unique visitor
This statistic represents visitors to a website that are counted once in a given time period despite the possibility
of having made multiple visits. Determined by cookies, unique visitors are distinguished from regular visitor
counts which would classify two or more visits from the same user as multiple visitors.
URL
Universal or uniform resource locator, this string of letters and numbers separated by periods and slashes is
unique for every Internet page. A pages address must be written in this form in order to be found on the World
Wide Web.
User Sitemap
A page containing structured links to every other important page on a particular website grouped by topic or
navigational hierarchy. These pages are equally useful for people and search-engine spiders alike, as they
provide a categorized look at every page on a website at a glance (with hyperlinks).

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GLOSSARY OF TERMS FOR GOOGLE ANALYTICS

Clicks vs. Sessions


There is an important distinction between clicks (such as in your AdWords reports) and sessions (such as in
your Audience reports). The Clicks column in your reports indicates how many times your advertisements were
clicked by users, while Sessions indicates the number of unique sessions initiated by your users. There are
several reasons why these two numbers may not match:
A user may click your ad multiple times. When one person clicks on one advertisement multiple times in the
same session, AdWords records multiple clicks while Analytics recognizes the separate pageviews as one
session. This is a common behavior among users engaging in comparison shopping.
A user may click on your advertisement, but prevent the page from fully loading by navigating to another page
or by pressing the browser's Stop button. In this case, the Analytics tracking code is unable to execute and send
tracking data to the Google servers. However, AdWords still registers a click.
Sessions vs. Users
Analytics measures both sessions and users in your account. Sessions represent the number of individual
sessions initiated by all the users to your site. If a user is inactive on your site for 30 minutes or more, any future
activity is attributed to a new session. Users that leave your site and return within 30 minutes are counted as
part of the original session.
The initial session by a user during any given date range is considered to be an additional session and an
additional user. Any future sessions from the same user during the selected time period are counted as
additional sessions, but not as additional users.
Sessions vs. Entrances
Sessions are incremented with the first hit of a session, whereas entrances are incremented with the first
pageview hit of a session. If the first hit of the session is not a pageview, you may see a difference between the
number of sessions and the number of entrances.
Pageviews vs. Unique Pageviews
A pageview is defined as a view of a page on your site that is being tracked by the Analytics tracking code. If a
user clicks reload after reaching the page, this is counted as an additional pageview. If a user navigates to a
different page and then returns to the original page, a second pageview is recorded as well.
A unique pageview, as seen in the Content Overview report, aggregates pageviews that are generated by the
same user during the same session. A unique pageview represents the number of sessions during which that
page was viewed one or more times.

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GLOSSARY OF TERMS FOR SEM/SEO

Search Engine
A search engine is an informational retrieval system designed to help find information stored on a computer.
The search results are usually presented in a list and are commonly called hits. Search engines help to minimize
the time required to find information.
How search engines work
Search engines provide an interface to a group of items that enables users to specify criteria about an item of
interest and have the engine find the matching items. The criteria are referred to as a search query.. In the case
of text search engines, the search query is typically expressed as a set of words that identify the desired
concept that one or more documents may contain.
There are several styles of search query syntax that vary in strictness. It can also switch names within the
search engines from previous sites. Whereas some text search engines require users to enter two or three
words separated by white space, other search engines may enable users to specify entire documents, pictures,
and sounds. Some search engines apply improvements to search queries to increase the likelihood of providing
a quality set of items through a process known as query expansion.
SEO
Search engine optimization (SEO) is the process of affecting the visibility of a website or a web page in a search
engine's unpaid results - often referred to as "natural," "organic," or "earned" results. In general, the earlier (or
higher ranked on the search results page), and more frequently a site appears in the search results list, the
more visitors it will receive from the search engine's users. SEO may target different kinds of search, including
[1]
image search, local search, video search, academic search, news search and industry-specific vertical search
engines.
As an Internet marketing strategy, SEO considers how search engines work, what people search for, the actual
search terms or keywords typed into search engines and which search engines are preferred by their targeted
audience. Optimizing a website may involve editing its content, HTML and associated coding to both increase
its relevance to specific keywords and to remove barriers to the indexing activities of search engines.
Promoting a site to increase the number of backlinks, or inbound links, is another SEO tactic.
Audience Extension
Catch-all term that includes several services, and is broadly meant to indicate any service that is getting the
clients name out into the digital space. Another name for this is Outreach.
Audience Targeting
Targets a specific audience using Nielsen data based on people's online behavior. Through audience targeting
ZypMedia target a specific audience on any site that they visit, whether it is related to the category of the
advertiser or not
Managed Networks
Targets websites that index highly on the target category. People who visit these sites are likely interested in
the ads that are served on them
Keyword Targeting
Places ads on pages that contain the words indicated in the keyword list (ex. keyword = Ford F-150 Review
ads will be placed on pages that contain those words)

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GLOSSARY OF TERMS FOR GEOFENCING

LBA or Location-based mobile advertising


Location-based mobile advertising (LBA) is a new form of advertising that integrates mobile advertising with
location-based services. The technology is used to pinpoint a consumer location and provide a location-
specific advertisement on their mobile devices. GeoFencing and GeoRetargeting are the most widely used
LBA tactics.
GeoFencing
Simple Definition: A user gets ads while in a targeted location
GeoFencing
A solution in which a virtual barrier is created around a defined area. A geo-fence can be as broad as a state
or as hyper-local as a 100m x 100m tile (think city block) and the smaller the geo-fence, the more granular the
targeting. A geo-fence is used in a mobile ad strategy to trigger the deployment of or show eligibility to receive
certain ads and notifications based on the location of a smartphone user.
Retargeting:
Simple Definition: A user gets ads after they have left the targeted location.
Retargeting allows you to target consumers with ads based on the fact that you know they were within a fenced
area even though they may not be anymore. For example, if you created a fence around a quick service
restaurant to advertise their weekly special, and then the consumers who are in the fence, and receive the ads
get retargeted later. They may be at home, outside of the original fence, and still receive that restaurants ads.
Avail
An avail is request to find out how many people/devices you can reach when geo-targeting a specific area.
When filling out an avail please provide us with full physical addresses (street number, street name, city, state
and zip), zip codes or DMA's and we will return the estimated number of monthly available impressions for that
location based on historical data. Please allow 3 business days for avails to be processed and returned. Avail
requests with more than 5 locations will be pooled together and individual location data will not be provided.
Fences:
Locations you are trying to target in a certain radius
Frequency:
The number of times a viewer (customer) will see your ad within the campaign.
Dimensions:
When you access your reports you will see a dropdown that lists dimensions. If you want a breakdown by
fence/location, you would insert Geo Location in the dimensions field. If you wanted a breakdown by
ad/banner you would insert Ad in the dimensions field. And so on and so forth.

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GLOSSARY OF TERMS FOR SOCIAL MEDIA

Ad
See General Glossary: (Social Media Ad)
Algorithm
A series of formulas that determines which user sees specific content. Algorithms factor the type of content
(photo, video, text) people engage with most often, the people or brands they engage with most often, and the
amount of time they spend with that particular brand. Facebook, Instagram, (and Twitter to an extent) use an
algorithm to determine what content goes into your Feed. Algorithms also determine how wide or narrow
post reach will be.
Boost
Money paid to Facebook to boost the performance of a post that has already been placed. Sponsorships do
not count toward a posts boost.
Brand Advocate
A customer that is so satisfied with your product or service that they go out of their way to market it (spreading
news, good will, or insight)
Branded Content
Facebooks new policy as of April 2016 for mentioning clients in Facebook posts (from verified Pages) only.
rd
Publishers (stations) are required to tag the marketers Page in any post that mentions a 3 party brand,
product, or sponsor.
Check-In
Where a user has physically entered a geographic location or event and declares it.
Clickbait
A misleading or sensationalist headline designed to entice readers to click through to generate page views.
Conversion Rate
Conversion rate refers to a common metric tracked in social media that is the percentage of people who
completed an intended action (i.e. Visiting a website, Liking or following a social media account, etc.).
Clickthrough Rate
Clickthrough rate is a common social media metric used to represent the number of times a visitor
clickthrough divided by the total number of impressions a piece of content receives.
Engagement Rate
Engagement rate is a popular social media metric used to describe the amount of interaction -- likes, shares,
comments -- a piece of content receives.
Feed: (aka News Feed)
The stream of posts within a social media network. Twitter, and Instagram (for now) are reverse chronological
(most recent posts first). Facebook relies on an algorithm based on user behavior.

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GIF
Abbreviation for Graphics Interchange Format. Originally pronounced JIF., Small animations and video clips
included in posts or Tweets.
Handle
The term used for someones @username on Instagram or Twitter.
#Hashtag
Symbol that adds context and metadata to your post or tweet. People often use hashtags to aggregate,
organize, and discover relevant content.
Impressions:
The total number of times a persons (or brand) content is viewed on social media. This is different from reach.
See also: Reach.
Influencer
A social media user who can reach a significant audience to drive awareness about a topic, company or product.
Insights
Data from each social media post that shows you the engagement (likes, comments, shares, clicks, video views,
etc.), and reach. Only account admins may view this data.
Instant Articles
Complete web-like full content stories within Facebook from a particular news organization. You are not re-
directed to a news website. Per Facebook, these articles load 10 times faster than standard mobile web articles.
Revenue is shared between publisher and Facebook.
Live (Facebook)
A service within Facebook that allows people to share live video with their followers and friends on Facebook in
real-time.
Organic Post
Social media posts (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc.) that have zero advertising dollars or boost behind it.
Sponsorships do not count as advertising dollars.
Periscope
A service within Twitter (and as a standalone app) that allows people to share live video with followers around
the world.
Reach
The number of unique people who have seen your content on social media. On Facebook, total reach is the
unique people who have seen content within the last 7 days. Post reach is the number of unique people who
have seen a particular post.
Snap
A post or update within Snapchat. Can be sent to a specific user, or added to someones story.
Sponsored Post
See General Glossary: (Sponsored Post)

Story
A collection of snaps a person posts within a 24-hour period within Snapchat.

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Tag
People, brands, or locations a user will include in a video, image, or text post to help other users find related
topics, content, or people.
Trend
A topic or hashtag that is popular on social media at a given moment. Trends are often highlighted on Facebook,
Twitter, and Instagram to encourage more discussion and engagement.
Troll
A person who usually tries to derail constructive dialogue by posting outlandish, or inappropriate comments
below social media posts, or by doing the same via messaging a brand or person.
UGC
Abbreviation for User Generated Content. Any form of content created by someone else.

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GLOSSARY OF TERMS FOR EMAIL MARKETING

Counts
The number of email addresses you can reach depending on your selected GEOs. Each request is a count.
Seed List
The people whom you list on your email marketing order form you want to received your test.
Split Deployment
A split deployment is essentially two different email campaigns/deployments. It costs an extra $150. Ex: Your
client bought 50K. You can send one email to 25,000. And a second one to another 25,000. The emails can look
different and have different subject lines and geos. However they must have the same deployment time/date
and the same FROM line.
Match Back
For $250, your client can save email addresses from a deployment and use it to match back against the
customers client lead list. A match back is normally done a month or more after the email deployment. The
client needs to submit their client list in an excel spreadsheet.
Scrub List
If your client has a list of emails that they do NOT want their deployment to go to they can attach an excel
document containing the clients email addresses and scrub it against the deployment. There is no charge for
this.

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