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Business plan of a shoe business

Report
On
A business plan of a shoe business
Submitted to:
Mrs. Saira Banu
Assistant Professor
Department of Management
Faculty of Business Studies
University of Dhaka

Submitted by:
Group number: 4
No. Name ID
1. Jamima Akter 024-004
2. Johora Banu 024-015
3. Razia Sultana 024-016
4. Halima Afrin 024-032
5. Tanjil Hossain 024-035
6. Md. Kamruzzaman 024-036
7. Kaniz Fatema Chowdhury 024-066
8. Rokaiya Rosul Itu 024-076
9. Emon Barua 024-079
10. Suma Akhter 024-099

Batch: BBA 22nd, Section: A


Department of Management
Faculty of Business Studies
University of Dhaka

Date of Submission: October 10, 2018


October 8, 2018

Mrs. Saira Banu


Assistant Professor
Course: Small and Medium Enterprises
Department of Management
Faculty of Business Studies
University of Dhaka

Subject: Submission of the Report on A business plan of a shoe business

Dear Ma’am:

We have the pleasure to submit our report on a business plan of a shoe business is
prepared for knowing about a business plan.

This report helped us to know practical knowledge of a business plan. We the members of
Group 4 have tried our level best to collect the information for the report. We hope that the
information given in this report will clearly represent all the parts of the business plan. We
wish that you would be very pleased to accept our report and will consider our
shortcomings while you evaluate our report and oblige thereby.

Sincerely yours,

___________

Tanjil Hossain

(On behalf of the group members)


Acknowledgment

At first, we would like to convey our heartiest gratitude and total devotion to the almighty
Allah for blessing us with the ability, strength, and patience as well keeping us active in
performing this report.

We wish to express our special thanks of gratitude to our honorable teacher Mrs. Saira Banu
Ma’am, Department of Management, University of Dhaka who has given us an opportunity
to do this wonderful report on the topic of a business plan of a shoe business. This report
has also helped us in knowing a lot of information and we have come to know about the
business plan and how it is prepared practically.

Secondly, we would also like to thank our friends and group members who have helped us a
lot in finishing this report within the limited time.

We are making this report not only for marks but also for expanding our knowledge.
Thanks again to all who have helped us.
Table of Contents
Figure No. Title Page No.
Executive Summary Vii
1 Introduction of the Study 8
1.1 Origin of the Report 8
1.2 Problem Statement 8
1.3 Objectives of the Report 8
1.3.1 General Objective 8
1.3.2 Specific Objectives 8
1.4 Methodology 8
1.4.1 Sources of data collection 8
1.4.1.1 Primary data collection 8
1.4.1.2 Secondary data collection 8
1.5 Scope of the study 8
1.6 Limitations of the study 8
2 Analysis and Findings 9-29
2.1 Analysis 9-28
2.2 Findings 29
3 Conclusion 30
Reference 31

Table of Illustration
Illustration No. Particulars Page No.
1 Market Share 12
2 Assembly Sector Layout 16
3 Organizational Chart 19

Executive summary
The report attempted to highlight the business plan of a shoe business for the fulfillment of
our course requirement. Therefore, we have studied some business plan for making this
report effective. This report of business plan will help us in running the shoe business
efficiently and effectively. This report shows about our business about our mission and
vision.

The general objective of the report is to make a business plan of our shoe business. And the
specific objectives of the report are to highlight the important part of the business plan to
elaborate every parts of the business plan to provide a detailed information of every
respective parts of the business plan so that everyone can get benefits from the business
plan.

In order to make the report more meaningful and presentable we have collected data from
primary and secondary sources. We have visited some websites regarding business plan, we
have collected information from textbook. Therefore, based on this information we have
conducted market research, we have conducted SWOT analysis to identify our strengths,
weakness, opportunities, and threats. We have forecasted sales revenue. We have made
our production plan. We have developed our marketing strategy regarding product, price,
place, and promotion. We have developed our organizational plan and Human resource
plan. We have developed our financial plan including projected income statement,
projected balance sheet and projected cash flow statement for one year.

The business plan however has some findings. Constant marker research is necessary for
ongoing trends, production units must be increased in order to meet ongoing demand,
continuous product development and understanding of target market is necessary to cope
with changing market and also to achieve competitive advantage, huge promotion is
necessary for creating demand for company shoe, proper planning with future expansion
must be prepared based on market research and finally must control, counsel and monitor
everything.

A business plan is very helpful for starting a business. It is a blueprint for the business.
Business plan attract investors to invest in the business. It can be said that this business plan
will work properly to achieve the goals and objectives of the business.
01: Introduction of the Study
1.1: Origin of the report: We were authorized to prepare a report on making a business
plan of a shoe business for the fulfillment of our course requirement . Our honorable course
teacher has assigned us to report on the business plan. We studied some business plan for
making this report. Our study will be presented on the date fixed by the faculty.

1.2: Problem statement:  To make the business plan

1.3: Objectives of the study:


1.3.1. General objective: The general objective is to make the business plan of a shoe
business

1.3.2. Specific objectives


 To know how to make a business plan
 To highlight the important parts of the business plan
 To know how to make projected financial plan in advanced
 To know how to evaluate a business before starting

1.4: Methodology:

1.4.1: Sources of data collection: In order to make the report more meaningful and
presentable, one source of data and information have been used widely.

1.4.1.1. Primary data collection: We did not use any primary data.

1.4.1.2. Secondary data collection:


 Visited some website regarding business plan
 Collected information from text book
 Collected some important files through internet
 Studied some business plan

1.5: Scope of the study: In this report there have been focused on all the qualitative
topics and quantitative figures of the business plan.

1.6: Limitation of the study:


 Lack of practical knowledge about business plan
 Lack of available information about shoe business
 Time limitation

8
02: Analysis and Findings
2.1: Analyze: To make the business plan, some steps are required. The whole business
plan are shown in the below:

Step 1: Making the commitment: I am ‘X’, from 2013; I had a dream to be a successful
businessperson. That is why I always saved money to bear the initial cost of the startup.
After 5 years of planning, saving for initial investment I prepared to transform my original
dream into reality. I know a businessperson has to work hard, work in the long time and
work under extreme stress. However, I have confidence that I have all these qualities to
manage my own business.

Step 2: Analyzing Oneself: I knew it took more than just an idea for a business to be
successful. I realized that I had to obtain three ingredients to achieve success. First, I needed
experience Second, I needed education regarding business sector. Finally, I needed the
financing. Nevertheless, I obtained all these ingredients before starting the business.

Step 3: Market Research: My shoe business is a start-up, which will enter in its first year of
operation. There are many established shoe companies and local shoe shops, which are
serving customer demands. So before stepping up to start this company we conducted a
proper marketing research to get idea about the customers, their needs and demands, how
our competitors are fulfilling these demands and we tried to find a service gap that is not
satisfied by our competitors so that by fulfilling that we can enter and establish our
company in the market. We found that branded shoe companies are providing elegant
shoes or comfortable shoes in Bangladesh but it is price on the other hand local companies
are offering shoes at low price but the design and durability is not satisfactory. So to fill the
demand of elegant and yet comfortable shoes at average price we came up with our
venture.
Industry Analysis: The footwear industry in Bangladesh has started since the colonial era,
although its modernization took place in the late 1980s. The degree of vertical integration in
the footwear industry is very high because most of the footwear manufactures have their
wholesale and retail channels.
9

Bay Bata
Lotto Apex
Emporium Banglades
Bangladesh
h

Leatherex Landmark Jennys Shoppers


world

Therefore, the local market is dominated by small-scale retail manufactures, only the
organized manufacturers and distributor such as Bata, Apex have sizable market shares.
Among the major exporters are Apex, Jennys, Landmark, Leatherex, Bay etc. The local
footwear industry is experiencing an annual growth rate of 21% annually. The local
companies make leather footwear worth around TK 17 billion yearly of which 40 to 45
percent products are meant for shipment due to expansion of local companies and their
continuous growth.
Target Market: Shoe market is a market with growth and never ending demand. Each
person needs shoes and their age varies. For example: a baby needs shoes also an elderly
person needs shoes. In this market, there are many customers and their demand varies for a
pair of shoe. For example: a teenager would look for stylish and trendy shoes on the other
hand an elderly person would look for only comfortable shoes as for him comfort is the
main demand. Ours is a venture, which is to meet the demand for trendy and comfortable
shoes at average price. Therefore, our main target customers are teenagers (13-17) and
young students (18-25) both male and female we would meet the demand of shoes for kids
aged between (3-10).
Marketing segmentation: To know our customers better and the similar needs for our
group of customers we segmented them in following in the following ways:
 Product Type: We divided our market based on benefits and characteristics that our
potential customers’ demand from a pair of shoe. Young people who are our main
customers have specific demand for shoe designs. For example, Teenagers who are
attending college want their shoes to be comfortable for daily usage yet stylish.
Teenage girls look for simple designed ballerinas or sneakers on the other hand boys
go for sneakers or slippers. They also want their shoe to be bright colored like
yellow, pink or lemon rather than going for simple colors. Thus, most demand in
shoe market circles around the product. So you we a segmentation of our customers
based on the type of shoes they want.
10
 Geographic Segmentation: In Bangladesh, the weather is hot for nine months of the
year, there are rainy season for 4 to 5 months and cold weather is for two months.
So in summer youths look for cozy shoes and in rainy season they look for shoes that
are durable and saves foot from rainwater and mud as they go out every day.
Therefore, in geographic segmentation we focus on weather of Bangladesh.
 Demographic Segmentation: For demographic segmentation, we focus on age,
income, generation, gender. Our main focus goes on age. We have focused on
following aged groups:
 Teenagers aged between 13-17 years
 Young students aged between 18-25 years
 Kids aged between 3-10 years

Our target generation is millennials or Gen Y as we are focusing on young aged customers.
We also have a focus on income because young students and teenagers are not earners.
They mainly depend on pocket money or on part time income. They would be motivated if
they find trendy products in average price. We also focus on gender-based choices. Because
choice and demand for shoes varies among on basis of gender in Bangladesh. A 20-year-old
male university student goes for slippers, sandals, or sneakers on the other hand a female
goes for low heel pumps or ballerinas or for sneakers.
Market Trend: Footwear market has diversified trends across different geographic regions.
The global footwear market is driven by factors such as growing demand for new design of
shoe and growing awareness about healthy and active life style. Research shows around 50
million people in Bangladesh are young, aged between (10-24) and their demands, choices
for footwear are influenced by new designs, social personalities, comfort, and new trend of
healthy life style. In addition, young people between the ages of 10-24 are mainly students
so they also look for shoes at reasonable price. Right now global trend in footwear market is
the use of sneakers and slippers. As the youths of Bangladesh are influenced by global
trends, the use of sneakers is also increasing in Bangladesh. So current market trend in
Bangladesh among youths
 Use of sneakers and slippers by both male and female
 Among young girls’ ballerina shoes are also popular for daily usage
 classic pumps, wedges, kitten heels are popular for parties and programs among girls
 for boys they go for same sneakers or slippers and sometimes formal shoes for
parties
 Trend for kids’ market has always been using comfortable shoes with simple design

Competitors Analysis: There are already many established shoe companies in the shoe
market of Bangladesh like Bata, apex, Bay emporium etc., and other local shoe shops
fulfilling demands for shoe of specific market.
11

Markte
Share

22%
Bata Bangladesh
Apex
Bay Emphorium
others
6%
2%

71%

Illustration 1: Market Share


1. Bata Bangladesh: Here from the pie chart we can see Bata is the market leader as it
has captured 22% of market share alone. It has a huge number of outlets all over the
country, which shows the company is more customer centric. Bata wants to make
the shopping most convenient in terms of distribution. Bata has 350 retail outlets in
Bangladesh there it has huge influence in price changing, new products and
promotions.
2. Apex: Apex is the second largest shoe company with about 6 % market share in the
local retail footwear market. The company serves the market with 120 retail outlets
and 50 agents throughout the country also; they have planned to introduce around
30 outlets each year.
3. Bay Emporium and the retail shoe shops: Bay emporium has a market share of 2%.
It started in 2006 and since than it is growing fast and it focuses on average earning
customers. Other all retail shoe shops like lotto Bangladesh, shoppers world etc. has
combined market share of 72%

Niche Market: Niche market is a market where we focus on a specific product, which is a
subset of the entire shoe market. For our footwear company the niche market is collection
of formal shoes for young adults. The customers for formal shoes among our target
customers is small and the demand for it is low. Normally young people wear formal shoes
when they go for presentation in class or competitions and when they go for corporate visit
for information collection or networking.
12
SWOT Analysis of our Footwear Company
As new entrants it is must for us to know our strengths and weakness also the opportunities
in the footwear industry and threats.

Strengths Weakness
 Good knowledge about current  Lack of strong brand image
market and demand of target  Lack of public trust
customers  Lack of fund to start broadly
 Trendy shoe line  VAT and Tax barrier
 Quality with elegant design
 Skilled manpower
 Benefit of customization
 Potential target market

Opportunities Threats
 Growing industry  Established competitors
 Young people like differentiated and  Attractive market for new entrants
trendy products  consumers misconception where
 More competition results in more they think being average priced
campaign of products means the quality is not maintained
 Buying power of our target market
is increasing

Step 4: Forecasting Sales revenue: Based on the market survey, I have found that there is a
good demand for baby shoes and younger’s shoes. In the capital Dhaka, parents like to
spend a good amount of money to purchase shoes for their babies, which are more
comfortable. The younger people also like to have the stylist and fashionable shoes. As a
result, I have decided to launch my shoes business, especially for the babies and younger.
Based on the market data, I can forecast of sales revenues for one year quarterly, appears
below:
13
Aesthetic Shoes
One year forecast of sales revenues for 2019

Particulars Amount(Tk)
January (900 x 650) 585000
February (990 x 650) 643500
March (1090 X 650) 708500
April (1210 X 650) 786500
May (1560 X 650) 1014000
June (1860 X 650) 1209000
July (1900 X 650) 1235000
August (2000 X 650) 1300000
September (2060 X 650) 1339000
October (2100 X 650) 1365000
November (2120 X 650) 1378000
December (2210 X 650) 1436500

Forecast of Sales Revenues for 2020

Particulars Amount (Tk)


First quarter 2860000
Second quarter 3250000
Third quarter 3705000
Fourth quarter 4095000
Total 13910000

Forecast of Sales Revenues for 2021

Particulars Amount (Tk)


Total annual revenues 14950000

 Assumed average price for each unit is tk. 650.


 Forecasted total yearly sales volume is 20000 units.
(Both based on the market data)

I believe that sales revenues will increase with the passage of time as I and my employees
will try our best to provide the best quality with stylist, fashionable, modern, and
comfortable shoes according to the of customers through continuous TQM, market
research, and with new qualified design both for the babies and younger.

14
Step 5: Production Plan:
 Location: I suppose our organization will operate in only one manufacturing
facilities, which will be near Sadarghat, Dhaka, with a production capacity of 25,000
pairs of shoes yearly. This space is fully owned by the owner of the organization.
 Equipment: The basic machineries needed will be –
 Pattern-making and cutting machinery
 Upper preparation and stitching machinery
 Shoe lasting machinery
 Lasted shoe bottom working machinery
 Finishing machinery
 Components preparation machinery
 Synthetic machinery module
 Managing & handling engineering
 Shoe repairing machinery
 Raw Materials: The materials most commonly used in shoe production are -
 Leather.
 Textiles.
 Synthetics.
 Rubber.
 Foam.
 Wood canvas
 Plastic
 Adhesive and bonding
 Color
 Soling materials
 Screws ,cords and threads
 Manufacturing Operation: The production will be divided into four sections: cutting
and sewing, intermediate, assembly and quality. The factory also possesses the
maintenance and the dispatch sectors. Each sector has its responsible manager,
whose function will be to coordinate tasks and evaluate the service provided. From
each factory sector, by research group observation, it was noted in the sewing
industry that the tasks would be divided in groups responsible for cutting, trimming,
stitching, aligning, and measuring the size, shape. The work will be quite repetitive.
Almost all professionals, mostly will be women, stay in standing position throughout
the workday. There will be also a section between the sewing and the assembly
sections. This section intends to allocate materials that need to be assembled in the
correct order. It triggers the production control department (PCP) and, after, the
manner the material distribution will be done to the assembly sector will be
organized. The assembly sector will have a conveyor belt where the elements to
mount the shoes will be placed. The different assembly line manufacturing stages
will be collage of the front, the middle, and the back of the shoes, mold parts, fixing,
and removal of the excess of glue, sanding, and finalization. Although there will be
many machines, the operators must be agile and alert. The conveyor belt assembly
has a pre-set speed determined by the PCP sector, which that defines the daily goal
too. If the goal will be not achieved, overtime will be done to streamline the
production. In this sector, the psychological pressure seems to be higher than in
others, due to the high propensity of delays and fail.

The assembly will be characterized by having a warehouse, a PCP and two rotator
conveyor belts – shoes’ sole preparation and assembly. The assembly conveyor belt will
be the company’s "heart", because it will be where the shoes will be assembled. This
conveyor belt will be divided into 18 sections arranged in an oval layout,

Illustration 2: Assembly sector layout.


Prepared by the research group. Legend: A-Warehouse, B-PCP, C-Hit point, D-Bathroom and
water fountain, E-Conveyor belt (preparation), F-Conveyor belt , 1-Assembly beginning, 2-
Formation, 3-Gluing, 4-Plate in the mold, 5 – Nozzle sharpening, 6-Plate in the mold, 7-Glue
fixation, 8-Adjusts the shoe front, 9- Sanding the bottom, 10 - Gluing, 11 - Makes the boxes
and separates shoe and sole, 12-Glues the shoe’s sole, 13-Adjustment of the sole width and
gluing, 14 – Final appearance of the shoe, 15 - Final appearance of the shoe, 16-Revision, 17-
Finalization, 18-Shipment.
Labor Skill:

 Entry requirements: Good practical skills and a practical test will be needed to be passed
when interviewed. Workers could get into this job through an apprenticeship. Previous
experience in shoe repairs, textiles, or leatherwork may also be helpful.
16
 Skills required: Workers will need:
 the ability to work quickly and accurately
 the ability to follow design patterns and instructions
 practical skills for using hand tools, technical equipment and machinery

 Working hours, patterns and environment: Workers will usually work 37-40 hours a
week. They will work most of your time spent at a workbench operating production
machinery.

 Overhead Costs:
 Indirect labor: Wages paid to supervisors, record keeping, and maintenance staff.
 Utilities: Water, sewer, electricity, phone, internet, and computer system
maintenance charges.
 Supplies: Fuel, grease, cost of any repair parts
 Other overhead costs: Property insurance premiums, Tax payment, property, or
equipment is related to manufacturing.

Step 6: Developing a marketing plan:


1. Products
We designed wide variety of products for our target customers.
 For teenage male and young male customers, we have the following products
Slippers, Sneakers, Sandals, Driver, Boat, Monk Strap, Cap toe, loafers, Oxford’s and dress
boots
 For teenage and young female, we have Ballerina flats and heels, sneakers, sandals,
gladiators, loafer, oxford, wedges, pumps, clogs, Mary Janes, kitten hills and for winter
wedge sneakers, timberland boots, Dr. martins and Chelsea boots
 For babies we have Ballet flats, sneakers, sandals patch slide sandals, cotton ballet flats,
Mary jane shoes, school cadges, boots, Danica shoes, t-strap shoes

Our shoes will be available in many colors like black, grey; navy blue also there will be bright
colors like pink, yellow, red etc.
2. Price
The price of shoes for male will vary according to following
 Sneakers: (300-3000) BDT
 Slippers: (200- 1000) BDT
 Formal shoes: (1000-2500) BDT
 Other shoes: (500-3000) BDT

The price of shoes for women


 Shoes for daily use like sneakers, sandals, ballerinas will range between TK (200-
2000)
 Shoes for parties and occasions like kitten hills, Pumps, Mary jane will range between
TK (800-4000)
17

 The price of kids’ shoes will range between (200-3000) BDT

3. Place
Since we are a startup now we will open our retail shops in Dhaka first. Then after six or
seven months, we will expand our retail stores in all big cities of the country. After two or
three years, we plan of setting our retail store in all cities of the country. For our primary
retail stores we have chosen the following locations

 Elephant road
 Gulistan
 New Market

We have chosen these locations because these are most appropriate locations where our
target customers goes for shopping shoes.
4. Promotion
Since us, our venture is new we need a lot of promotion and we will be doing offline and
online promotions.
For promoting online, we will be doing the following things
 Website
 Facebook page
 Instagram and twitter account
 Online newspaper and website advertisement
 Advertising in YouTube

For promoting offline we will use


 Word of mouth
 Advertisement in magazine in newspaper
 Distribution of pamphlets, brochures
 Opening stall in various fairs

We also will use discount strategies like


 (10%- 20%) on opening new stalls
 Occasional discount up to 30%

We will have the following sales services:


 Trained and decent sales persons
 return option among 7 days
 Limited Customization
Distribution
We will manufacture shoes and sell them with our retail stores. Later after establishing our
brand name, we will also recruit agents in different areas for selling our shoes.

18
Step 6: Developing an organizational plan: The organizational plan and an organizational
chart of my shoe business are given below:

 Ownership: Individual
 Liability of owners: Individual liable for business liabilities
 Costs’ of starting business: None, other than filling fees for trade name
 Continuity of business: Death dissolves the business
 Transferability of interest: Complete freedom to sell or transfer any part of business
 Capital requirements: Capital raised only by loan or increased contribution by
proprietor
 Management control: Proprietor makes all decisions and can act immediately
 Distributions of profit and losses: Proprietor responsible and receive all profits and
losses
 Attractiveness for raising capital: Depends on capability of proprietor and success of
business

Illustration 3: Organizational Chart


Human Resource Plan:
1. Introduction: Human resource planning is a process that identifies current and future
human resource needs for an organization to achieve goal. Work force is a big issue for any
business. For our shoe business, HR is necessary. We have to estimate our work force for
several departments. So we have to decide how we can easily manage human resource at
least cost. We have to arrange training session for unskilled worker. Reward can be provided
based on their performance. HR planning is a continuous process. The HR manager is
required to revise the employment policies from time to time for achieving the bet result.
19
2. Objective of Human Resource Planning:

 Hiring skilled worker: Customer’s tastes and preferences are changing day by day. If
customers are not satisfied enough, our sales may decrease gradually. Therefore, we
must hire skilled workers for increasing production and changing demand and
preference for customers. At preliminary stage, our shoe business needs 25 skilled
workers.
 Making them eligible: We have to conduct training session to make them eligible
from time to time. If workers have lack of competencies, they will not be able to
carry out production process.

3. Current work force stock: Our business is now in an initial stage, so there is currently zero
work force. We need 25 work force.

4. Demand and Supply Forecasting:


Permanent workers:
Name of department Number of employees

Accounting and financing 05

Production and HR 12

Marketing and sales 08

This is the list of some permanent worker for our shoe business. As it is a continuous
process, there have to present at least 25 workers.
Seasonal workers: At the time of festival or any occasion, (when demand increases), we
may need extra workers that are called seasonal workers.

5. Duties and Responsibilities:

Finance and Accounting Department:


 They will prepare income statement and balance sheet
 They will identify the sources of financing
 They will identify the growth rate
 They will try to increase the sales level every year.

Production and Human Resource Department:


 They will collect raw materials for production from different sources
 They will deal with different suppliers
 They will recruit skilled workers various departments
20

Sales and Marketing Department:


 They will contact with customers not only directly but also indirectly
 They will follow the STP (market segmentation, target market, positioning).
 They will try to attract and retain customers

6. Determining net requirement: Normally our business belong 25 workers, but the
number of employees may fluctuate when customer’s demand is very high or low.

7. Redeployment and Redundancy:


Flexible workers and redeployment: Flexible workers are those who are capable of doing
different types of tasks in their own workstation or different workstation. In our shoe
business, we will try to hire flexible workers so that they can work in various department in
hard times.
Redundancy: In case of redundancy, if the workers remain idle, we may get them in
retirement.

8. Employment Program:
Recruitment: Our business is a new business. Therefore, there is no internal source of
recruitment. We will use external recruitment source like Advertising, Internet, College
recruiting.
Selection: When we get response from applicant, we will go for selection. Here we will use
two types of selection test for management level.
 Written test
 Viva

For other workers, we consider viva and skills of a particular thing.


9. Training and Development: After selecting process, we can arrange training session for
workers especially for low level skilled workers and those who have the lack of experience.
Training Program will increase productivity at a lower price and increasing sales low level.
10. Evaluation of Human Resource Planning:
 First, we have to set standards of performance. For example: we will destine the
number of shoes that have to sell in a month.
 Then we have to evaluate the performance of every worker in a weekly, bi-weekly,
monthly, or yearly basis.
 If it is found that their performance is satisfied to get them more motivated, reward
can be provided to them.
 It is not always true that- every worker will meet the destine criteria. In that case,
corrective action can be taken.
21

Step 8: Legal Plan: My shoes business will be a sole proprietorship. In spite of having some
pitfalls of this kind business form, it will ensure me the following potential opportunities and
benefits-
 Freedom, ease of formation, low startup cost, tax benefits
 The scope of enjoying the entire profit, flexibility and quick decision making
 High customer contract and satisfaction, ease to manage the business activities
 The opportunity of giving the reality of own dream, new idea, and creativity
 Quick dissolution and so on.

All these things fit my personal preference, desires, and wealth to be an entrepreneur who
will be the decision maker and the controller of all business activities. That is why I have
chosen the sole proprietorship as the business form for my shoes business.
Step 9: Developing an accounting plan: We will keep the record of everyday activity of our
business. How many shoes are daily sold will be sold, for example on Monday we sold 8 pair
of shoes, will be kept in the record. How much lather is purchased for producing shoes, the
amount of stock of lather, how much money is received after selling shoes, how much
money is paid for different bills, what is the revenue at the day end etc. will also be kept in
the recording book and these records will be sent to the accountant which will help him in
making financial statement.
Step 10: Developing TQM program: Although there are many shoe companies of our
country, the two characteristics that will distinguish our shoe business from others are
dependability and quality. Both characteristics provide important building blocks for a
successful total quality management (TQM).
The manager and all employees of our shoe business will make total customer satisfaction-
our number one priority. In addition, we will build a team of employees where every
member of our organization constantly strives for methods that can be used to improve the
services we provide our customer.
Step 11: Developing financial plan: Another the most important plan for our new starting
business is financial planning. Because, it shows the sources from which we will collect the
funds and the distribution of this funds. Our financial planning will include the following
important statements depending on the information got from market research and data
connected with other plans.
22

Our projected capital structure for the shoes business:-


Sources of funds Amount (TK )
 Owners capital 7300000
 Borrowings from friends and family@ 5% 1300000
 Bank loans @ 9% 1000000
 Loans from financial institutions @6% 700000
Total capital structure 10300000

2. Projected distributions of funds:-


 Market research expenditure
 Product development cost
 Production cost
 Promotion and marketing expenditure
 Fixed assets acquisition cost
 Administrative expenditure
 Risk management cost
 Research and development cost
 Miscellaneous expenditure

We will make our financial planning based on some important assumptions


through market research and capital market. These are given below:-
 Interest rate for borrowings from family and friends @ 5%
 Bank interest rate @ 9%
 Depreciation rate @10%
 Management judgement and expected course of actions

Aesthetic Shoes
Projected Income statement
For the year ended December 31, 2019
Particulars Amount(TK) Amount(TK) Amount(TK)
Revenue from sales (20000*650) 13000000
Less :-Cost of goods sold(note 2) (9448666)
Gross profit :- 3551334

Less :- Other expenses


Rent of shops(8000*3*12) 288000
Depreciation
Pick up van 30000
Amortization of leasing of land 50000
Building 150000
Plant and equipment 180000
Furniture and adornment of shop 150000
Pre-start up 17000 577000
Salary for employees 1152000
Salary for managers
(3*12000*12) 288000
Salary for accountants (3*13000*12) 468000
Promotion and electricity of sales
shop(3*3000*12) 108000

Interest expenses:-
Friends and family @5% 65000
Bank loan @9% 90000
Financial institutions @6% 42000 197000 (3178000)

Net profit:- 373334


 We have distributed pre-startup cost for 10 years.
 rent of the shop is Tk. 8000

Cost of goods sold


(Note 2)
Particulars Amount(TK) Amount(TK) Amount(TK)
Beginning inventory …………
Add:-Raw material (21000*300) 6300000
Other material 1050000
Wages(21000*100) 2100000
electricity and energy 420000
Label and package 210000
Total :- 10080000
Less:- Ending inventory(note 3) (631334)

Cost of goods sold 9448666

 Production amount is 210000 units

Note 3:-
Cost of ending inventory = (Production cost + others cost) X (unit of unsold)
Total unit of production

= (10080000+3178000) X 1000
21000
= Tk. 631334
Market value of ending inventory= (1000 x 650) = Tk. 650000
According to conservative rules, we have taken the one that has less value.
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Aesthetic Shoes
Projected Balance sheet
December 31, 2019
Particulars Amount(TK) Amount(TK) Amount(TK)
Assets :-
Current Assets :-
Cash (note 1) 4349000
Ending inventory 631334
Pre-startup expenses 170000
Less Utilized (17000) 153000
5133334
Total:-

Fixed assets -
Leasing of land(20 years) 1000000
Less:- Amortization (50000) 950000
Building 1500000
Less:- Depreciation 10% (150000) 1350000
Plant and equipment 1800000
Less:- Depreciation 10% (180000) 1620000
Furniture and adornment for sale shop 1500000
Less:-Depreciation 10% (150000) 1350000
Pickup van 300000
Less:- Depreciation 10% (30000) 270000
Total:-
5540000

Total assets 10673334


Liabilities and owners’ equity
Current liabilities
Long term liabilities
Bank loan 9% 1000000
Borrowing from friends and family 5% 1300000
Loan from financial institutions 6%
Total:- 700000
3000000
Owners’ equity:-
Owners capital 7300000
Add:- Net profit 373334
7673334
Total :- 10673334

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(Note 1)
Aesthetic Shoes
Cash account
Particulars Amount(TK) Amount(TK)
Cash inflows from sales revenues ( 20000*650) 13000000
Less :- Cash out flow 10080000
Production cost (21000*480)

Others cash cost


Rent 288000
Sales person salary 1152000
Salary for managers 288000
Accountants salary 468000
Interest payment 197000
Electricity bills 108000
Advertisement and promotional expenses 100000
Total cash outflows (12681000)

Net cash surplus 319000


Add cash at the beginning of the year 4030000

Cash at the end of the year 4349000

Break-even point analysis

Here, we have assumed our sales price Tk. 650 per unit
Again
Total variable cost =Tk. 10080000
So variable cost per unit = (10080000/21000) = Tk. 480
Fixed cost is Tk. 3178000
So, break event sales (unit) =Fixed cost / (sales price per unit-variable cost per unit)
=3178000/ (650-480) = 18694 unit

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Step 12: Writing a cover letter: There are to cover letters are given. One for loan from bank
another for loan from financial institution.

December 1, 2018

Manager
United Commercial Bank
Dilkusha, Dhaka

Subject: Loan Application

Dear Sir:
Attached is my business plan for Aesthetic Shoes. After reviewing the attached business
plan, you will, I am sure, agree that the potential for success for this type of business is
excellent. The key elements that will make this business a success include a quality service
provided by an owner and employees who are dependable and not afraid of hard work.
Although estimates for sales revenues and profits for the first year is impressive, I will need
a bank loan of 10,00,000 taka .This loan ,along with the initial capital 73,00,000 that I will
invest ,should provide the startup financing needed to open the business and provide an
adequate cash reserve. In fact, based on projections contained in the attached business
plan, Aesthetic should earn a profit of almost 3,73,334 the first year.

If you have any questions about the enclosed loan application or business plan, please do
not hesitate to call me. Thank you for your consideration. I look forward to hearing from you
shortly.

Sincerely,

‘X’
Owner
Aesthetic Shoes

Enclosures: Loan Application


Business Plan

27
December 5, 2018

Branch Manager
Lanka Bangla Finance Limited
Motijheel, Dhaka

Subject: Loan Application

Dear Sir:
Attached is my business plan for Aesthetic Shoes. After reviewing the attached business
plan, you will, I am sure, agree that the potential for success for this type of business is
excellent. The key elements that will make this business a success include a quality service
provided by an owner and employees who are dependable and not afraid of hard work.
Although estimates for sales revenues and profits for the first year is impressive, I will need
a bank loan of 700000 taka .This loan ,along with the initial capital 7300000 that I will invest
,should provide the startup financing needed to open the business and provide an adequate
cash reserve. In fact, based on projections contained in the attached business plan,
Aesthetic should earn a profit of almost 373334 the first year.

If you have any questions about the enclosed loan application or business plan, please do
not hesitate to call me. Thank you for your consideration. I look forward to hearing from you
shortly.

Sincerely,

‘X’
Owner
Aesthetic Shoes

Enclosures: Loan Application


Business Plan

28
2.2: Findings: After properly studying the whole report the following findings can be
found:

 Target market of Aesthetic Shoes are mainly young people and trend in this market
is a matter of constant change so continuous market research is necessary
 Yearly production units need to be increased if enough demand is found after
running successfully.
 There are many established competitors and the market is open to new entrants so
continuous product development and understanding of target market is necessary
for growth and survival.
 The price of shoes in Aesthetic is average but is ensure quality with comfortability.
However, there is a general understanding that average priced products do not
ensure quality. So breaking this concept is a challenge.
 As this is a start, huge promotion is necessary and for this, most appropriate is using
the word of mouth technique since it is a sole proprietorship.
 Keeping a good accounting procedure is a challenge since in sole proprietorship
business, everything is related with the owner and keeping the record and its
methods mainly depend on the entrepreneur.
 Shoe industry is a growing industry and increasing production according to demand
growth is a challenge as there are limited employee and capital. So proper planning
with future expansion plan needs to be prepared based on market research.
 Quality product means more cost so production cost increases but our is a venture of
average price so to earn more profit or a good amount of profit production and
other costs need to be reduced for which huge planning is necessary.
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03: Conclusion
3.1: Conclusion: A business plan is an important tool for managing and growing your
business. It is the blueprint of the business. A well-designed plan lays out a vision of growth
and the steps needed to get there. A business plan is also an essential communications tool
for attracting financing for your business as well as managers and staff as your business
grows. In this report, there has been focused of a shoe business plan. The business will
carry only top of the line quality in shoes. For teenage male and young male customers, the
business have the following products Slippers, Sneakers, Sandals, Driver, Boat, Monk Strap,
Cap toe, loafers, Oxford’s and dress boots. There has been also provided of sales forecasting
for the next three-consecutive years and a financial statement. It can be concluded that the
business plan will work effectively and efficiently for starting the business.

30
References

1. SIROPOLIS, NICHOLAS (2016) Entrepreneurship and Small Business Management. 6th


Ed. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company
2. COELHO, BERBERDO (2006) The footwear factory’s assembly sector P. 4-5
3. LIBRARIES UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA (2018) Writing the HRM Plan [Online]
Available from: http://open.lib.umn.edu/humanresourcemanagement/chapter/2-2-
writing-the-hrm-plan/ [Accessed: October 8th, 2018]

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