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Brandwagon’s

KNOWLEDGE TRANSFER SESSION - 4


Digital Marketing
KT Sessions Plan

• Session 1: Introduction and Marketing Basics


• Marketing
• STP
• 4P

• Session 2: Sales & Distribution


1. PLC
2. Basic Models
3. S&D

• Session 3: B2B and E-commerce


• Session 4: Digital Marketing
1.Basics of Digital Marketing
2.Strategy and Analysis
Why Digital Marketing

Define Digital Marketing (2 Marks)


Digital marketing is the component of marketing that utilizes internet and online based digital
technologies such as desktop computers, cell phones and other digital media and platforms to
promote products and services

What's New :
Digital Marketing is more a collection of tools and how to use them to get the best results
Most of the Marketing concepts covered earlier like Segmentation, targeting , positioning or 4Ps still
apply
Only the execution is different
Organic vs Inorganic Marketing
Organic Marketing Inorganic Marketing
Organic marketing are basically free marketing Inorganic marketing strategies involve paid
strategies. These strategies include creating advertisements, like banner ads and
your own original content and content created sponsored posts. These advertisements
by a loyal fan. typically micro-target a specific audience
related to your brand

Earned Media Paid Media Owned Media

Earned media is Owned media is Paid media is


publicity or any web marketing you pay
exposure gained property that for. Holistically, it is
from methods you can control used to promote
other than paid and is unique to content in order to
advertising. your brand. drive earned media,
as well as direct
traffic to owned
media properties.
Media Advantages Disadvantages

Paid Highly targeted & More Clutter, Declining response


effective rate
Owned No competition, high Takes time to scale,
control on messages company communication
not trusted

Earned Organic & high credibility Little control, can be


negative, hard to measure
Search Advertising : SEO vs SEM vs PPC

SEO PPC
SEM

PPC SEO : Comprises of Various factors like the content that goes on the
website , backlinks based on which ranking is given

PPC: Pay Google /Bing, Create Ads , Put in Relevant Keywords you
appear on the top of searches

SEM : SEM is just combination of all the activities paid and unpaid
to arrive on top in search results

SEO
Library, Google and SEO
🧔 Person searching for the book = Your potential customer
👩‍🦰 Librarian = Google All Books = All Websites available
searching for your product/ Service

Google prepares the search Google prepares results (contd.) Google prepares results (contd.)
results The librarian👩‍🦰 now has The first set of parameters will The second set of parameters
Potential Customer searches be: 1. Does “Keynesian
to decide which books📚 to are: 1. How many people🧑‍🤝‍🧑
Google : This is equivalent to Economics" appear in the title
asking the librarian for recommend from a sea of have borrowed those books📚
books. So, she does this by of the book 📘2. Does it appear 2. Did those people recommend
suggestion on the most relevant
setting certain parameters to in the chapter titles 📄 3. How the respective books? 3. Are
book on Keynesian Economics.
rank the various books. Which many times is it mentioned those people credible?
parameters? across the content 🔢

Connecting it all (Part 2) B) Connecting it all! “Keynesian Google shows the results
So, how do you appear in Attaching various weights to
Second parameters set: Economics ": Is what we call a
Google's results? 1. Choose a these parameters, the
1."People borrowing the book": "Keyword" A) First parameter
keyword your customer likely librarian👩‍🦰 shares a list of 10
Are "Backlinks" 2."Their set: 1."Book title": Is the Page
searches 2. Write an article &
recommendations": Are "Do- Title of your webpage books📚 that the person
infuse it per "on-page factors"
follow backlinks" 3."Their 2."Chapter titles": Are H1, H2... 🧔should consider. She has a
3. Distribute it so that websites
credibility": An unofficial factor tags 3."Mentions in book longer list, but the person
link back to it 4. Preferably
called "Domain Authority or content": Mentions in body doesn't care about the books
credible ones that give a do-
(DA)" These are called the "off- content These are called the beyond the top 10
follow backlink
page" factors. "on-page" factors
On Page Factors Influencing SEO Off Page Factors Influencing SEO

• Content
• Links
• Quality – Pages well written having substantial quality
• Quality – Links from trusted, quality & respected websites?
content?
• Text – Links pointing at pages use words likely to be searched
• Research – Researched keywords that people might be
for?
looking for?
• Numbers – How many links point at your web pages?
• Words – Use words & phrases people are likely to use?
• Engage – Visitors spend time reading or bounce quickly? • Social
• Fresh – Content is fresh and relevant and not dated? • Shares – Do many share your content on social networks?
• Reputation – Do influencers on social networks shares your
• HTML
content?
• Title – Title tags contain keywords relevant to the page?
• Trust
• Description – Meta description tags describe what the page
is about? • Authority – Do links, shares, etc. make your site a trusted
authority?
• Headers – Headlines use header tags with relevant
keywords? • History – Has your site been around a long time?
• Architecture • Personal
• Crawl – Search engines can easily crawl pages on the • Geography – What country/locality are you located in?
website? • History – Does someone regularly visit/liked your website?
• Speed – Does the site load quickly?
• URLs – Short containing meaningful keywords related to
page topic?
Landing Page Experience

Should have all factors that aid a customer’s decision making process. Product view, pricing, product details,
multiple modes of payment etc
Display Advertising
Digital display advertising is graphic advertising on Internet websites, apps or social media through banners or other advertising formats made of text,
images, flash, video, and audio.
Behavioural Display Advertising

• Ad served based on the surfing behaviour of the visitor


• A ‘profile’ of the visitor is created based on clickstream
analysis. This profile is linked to the browser used.
• Allows for tracking the same consumer over different
sessions
• Allows for re-targeting of a returning visitor
• Allows serving of ad based on behaviour irrespective of
the context
Example: Visitor having visited automobile websites,
maybe served automobile-related ads even on non-
auto websites
• A lot more effective since Ads are served based on an
identified need/interest. Have a higher conversion rate
• Customers feel like the ads are directed at them
personally
• More data allows for a finer segmentation/targeting
(Precision Marketing)
• Serving an ad is more accurate, but does not guarantee
an ad will be clicked
• Works on the principle of relevance, if an ad is relevant,
it is likely to get clicked on
Geographical Display Advertising

• As the name suggests, it is delivering different


content to a visitor based on their geo-
location
- country, region/state, city, metro code/zip
code, organization, IP address, ISP or other
criteria
• According to the choice of the visitor
- Log into a website, select your country and
you are served content relevant/specific to
your country
- FedEx, multinational corporations, e-
commerce sites, etc
• If the enlister of the ad wants it to be so
- Online ad-serving is mostly automated
- Based on IP address or profile data supplied
by the visitor themselves
Brief Overview

Some known parameters which Google uses to


Rank your Ad.

1. Ad Network (SS: Ad Words vs DS: Ad Sense)


2. Ad Exchange
3. Real Time Bidding
• Bid price
• Expected click through rate
• Whether ad matches what is offered on the
page
• And other such quality parameters

Why Does Google just not give


the Ad space to the highest
bidder
Strategy & Analysis
Frameworks
KPI (Key Performance Indicator)

What is a KPI?
• KPIs support the goals of a company.
• Metrics that help you see where you stand at the moment and help you chart the course you must take to achieve
your goals.

Goals KPI’s Build Data Analyze Test

Implement
Fundamental Metrics in Analytics

Dimensions are the attribute of visitors to your website- For a website all these can be obtained from Google Analytics .

Device
Traffic Geography
1.Device Type
1.Source 1.Country
2.Browser
2.Medium 2.City
3.OS*
3.Channel 3.Lat/Long
4.Device Make

Page
Audience Time
1.Landing Page
1.Age bracket 1.Date
2.Page title
2.Gender 2.Day of Week
3.Exit Page
3.Interest 3.Hour of day
Fundamental Dimensions in Analytics

Metric is a number which is used to measure one of the characteristics of a dimension

Building Block Terms: Visit Characterization: Content Characterization:


• Page • Entry, Landing Page
• Page Views • Exit Page • Page Exit Ratio
• Visits • Visit Duration • Single-Page Visits
• Unique Visitors • Referrer (internal, external) • Bounce Rate
• New Visitor • Click-Through Rate
• Repeat Visitor • Page Views per Visit

Acquisition metrics: Behavior Metrics Conversion Metrics


• Sessions • Bounce Rate • Goal Conversion Rate
• % New Sessions • Pages/Sessions • Goal Completions
• New Users • Avg. Session Duration • Goal Value / Uniques
Buzz Words / Metrics

CPM: Cost Per Mille CPC: Cost Per Click


CPM is cost per mille, meaning the cost per 1000 impressions (or CPC means Cost Per Click, and it’s a method that websites can use to
how many times it is seen). This refers to how much it costs to determine the average times an advertiser has clicked on the relevant
have an ad published a thousand times on a website and is seen by ad. CPC is also a widely used metric that advertisers incorporate to
users. manage campaign budgets & performance.

If the cost paid for 7000 impressions is 1400 , CPM = So let’s say your ad gets 2 clicks, one costing Rs 5 and other is Rs 7, this
(1400*1000)/7000))= 200 totals Rs 12. So CPC = (5+7)/2 =6

CPA: Cost Per Acquisition CTR : Click Through Rate


Cost per acquisition is a method of payment where the Ad
provider is only paid if the user makes a purchase . The CTR or Click Through Rate, is measuring the success of online ads
by accumulating the percentage of people that click on the ad to arrive
In General, Digital Marketing its also calculated as the at the hyperlinked website.
= Total Marketing Spend/ Total Conversions (includes Leads The percentage is found when we divide the number of users who
Generated and converted later) clicked on the ad by the number of times the ad was delivered
Digital Marketing Mix

Email Paid Media Organic/SEO Social Referral Owned Media

• List Size • Reach • Search Terms • Reach • Active Users • Sources


Key Metrics

• Deliverability • Imp. Share • Search Share • Engagement sending invites • Demographic


• Open Rates • Viewability • Rank • CTR • Customer • PVs
• CTR • CTR • CTR • Conversions lifetime value • Conversions
• Conversions • Conversions • Conversions • Sentiment • Customer • Time spent
retention rate
• Churn Rate

• Known DB • Targeting • Keyword • Design


Key Aspects

• Content • Organic
• List Quality • Placements Research • RWD
• Sharable Reviews
• Automation • Budget • Content • UI/UX
• Audience • Sponsored
• CRM • RoI • On-Page SEO • Personalize
• SoV • Influencers
• RoI • Landing Page • Back-links
Case Study 1: Uniqlo

https://www.thinkwithgoogle.com/intl/en-apac/marketing-
strategies/app-and-mobile/experiment-how-uniqlo-drove-
store-sales-connecting-high-value-app-users/
Case Study 2: Paisa Bazaar

https://www.thinkwithgoogle.com/intl/en-apac/tools-
resources/success-stories/experiment-how-paisabazaar-
boosted-incremental-leads-digital-first-video-approach/

Key Points:
Brand vs Performance metrics
Case Study 2: Nykaa Case Study

https://www.thinkwithgoogle.com/intl/en-apac/tools-
resources/success-stories/experiment-google-ads-generic-
search-terms-drive-incremental-sales/
Attribution Model

Word of Google Website Newsletter Website Facebook


Mouth Purchase
Search Visit Subscription Visit Ad

15% 20% 25% 5% 25% 10%

First Touch/ Last Touch/ Multi Touch Attribution Model


Trends
User Generated Content

Starbucks took cues from the customers who had been


doodling on the iconic Starbucks cup for years and launched
a White Cup Contest.
The contest encouraged customers in the US & Canada to
Sugar Cosmetics : draw customized art on a Starbucks cup, click a photo of it
Adobe :
They have been posting UGC not only by and submit it through social media using the
Adobe photoshop frequently posts works of
influencers but also by users who essentially #WhiteCupContest. The winning design was printed on a
users by tracking hashtags which encourages
don’t classify as influencers projecting limited-edition Starbucks reusable plastic cup. Starbucks
more users to do so..
themselves as a brand that everyone can use. received almost 4,000 entries in just three weeks.
Social Commerce

What does it Mean What it actually means

Social Commerce sells products directly Assume you are watching an Instagram reel made by a model or a fashion blogger with some content,
through a social media network. This but you really like the shoe that person is wearing, social commerce enables you to purchase the exact
differs from social media marketing same shoe within the app and like how an E-commerce would work.
which takes you to the website of the
product rather guides you through the On top of this assume you can send the video to your friend on Instagram DM and ask for their
purchase funnel inside of the app suggestion about the product. That’s Social Commerce

Flipkart 2Gud

Flipkart 2Gud is a social commerce platform completely


This can be DM ed to your friends and asked for an opinion about the product and can be
dedicated for this where influencers use the product and can be
bought on their website redirected from Instagram
bought by the audience
Contextual Display Advertising

• Ad is related to the content of the


web page the user is viewing
• Scans the text of a website for
keywords and returns
advertisements to the webpage
based on those keywords
For ex. If you are visiting a hair
care website, the ads will be
those of shampoos/conditioners
etc
• Search engine advertising (Google
Adwords) is also a form of
contextual targeting
• More targeted ads > more likely to
be clicked > more revenue for the
websites
Summer’s Perspective
Internship in Digital Marketing
All said and done these form the basic
So, Most of the companies, even HUGE steppingstone in the career of digital
FMCG conglomerates have just started marketer and lays the foundation for
experimenting with Digital Marketing . the future.

All true work is sacred


You might have to generate content - Thomas Carlyle
through writing Blogs, posting and
making video content if needed.

General JD
This could be either organic marketing : this involves mostly SEO , on page and off page SEO, creating content for blogs , posting in various guest platforms
and creating relevant content for that

Inorganic Marketing : This involves managing all the paid Ads platforms like advertising through Google Ads, Facebook Ads(Instagram included) or in general
websites like Cricbuzz etc. Primary work would be to monitor the performance of the campaigns and tweak them if needed , monitoring CPC,CTR etc
For any doubts, feel free to
reach out to team BW.

Mansi : 9586010666
Namit : 9649729885
Reny : 8082351055
Vikram : 9791674961

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