Professional Documents
Culture Documents
MKTG 4110 Class 3
MKTG 4110 Class 3
Example: Berekeley
They run a “SaverCard” program, consumers earn credits for free home improvement classes
o (1 hour per $200 spent)
They have determined from customer information file the average SaverCard carrier:
o Revenue is $200 per year after sign-up
o Cost of goods sold (COGS) is 60% of gross revenue
o Marketing costs: Cost of attended home improvement seminars is $25 per year
However the biggest issue of using this to calculate custome life time value is the time value of
money and the churn rate of cusotomers, some dead and some quit
Total Customer Value 5*$55 = 275
Start of
the LTV
Calc. Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4 Yr 5
$ $ $ $ $
Revenue $ -
200.00 200.00 200.00 200.00 200.00
Product/Service $ $ $ $ $
$ -
Costs 120.00 120.00 120.00 120.00 120.00
Marketing $ $ $ $ $
$ -
Costs 25.00 25.00 25.00 25.00 25.00
$ $ $ $ $
Customer Profit $ - Revenue - Cost
55.00 55.00 55.00 55.00 55.00
Probability
Active at end of 100% 70% 49% 34.30% 24.01% 16.81% Previous Period * (1-0.30)
Period
* 30% of SaverCard customers become inactive each year
Average
Probability of (Prev Period + Current Period)
100% 85% 59.50% 41.65% 29.16% 20.41%
Being Active in /2
Period
Profit
Profit Expected
$0 $ 47 $ 33 $ 23 $ 16 $ 11 * Avg Prob. of being
on Average
active in period
* adjust profits to account for the fact that a customer may become inactive in the future
Present Value of
$0 $ 42.50 $27.05 $17.21 $ 10.95 $6.67
Expected Profits
Customer Life $
Time Value 104.68
Acquisition:
Does it pay to reduce the average call center response time from 8 to 2 minutes?
Should we proactively lower service fees for at-risk customer or keeping customers
How far into the future should we calculate the LTV?
Increasing marketing CLV models are trying to incorporate the Value of a Customer’s
Network such as families friends