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MODULE

E-marketing tools
1. Objectives 2/5

1 2 3

Distinguishing the different types Measuring effectiveness of e-


Assessing the importance of
of e-marketing marketing
Internet
3. Why Internet marketing is important?
It gives companies the ability to:
 Drive high quality customers to their
website
 Increase sales leads from customers
looking for their products and services
 Build their brand online by
communicating marketing messages to
their target audience
 Increase their profile against their
competitors
 Target a global audience via international
search engines
 Be accountable with ROI tracking
3. Growing importance of e-marketing

Source: https://www.magnaglobal.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/MAGNA-December-Global-Forecast-Update-Press-
Release.pdf

OOH: Out-of Home (Cinema advertising)


4. Internet ad format

Social
media

Sponsorship Search

Rich media Mobile


Internet
ad
format

Lead
Banner
generation

Classifieds Digital video


3. Internet ad format

Social
media

Sponsorship Search

Rich media Mobile


Internet
ad
format

Lead
Banner
generation

Classifieds Digital video


4.1 Focus on search engine

Key internet marketing strategies


Search
engine

Search engine
Search engine
optimisation
marketing
(SEO)
(SEM)
- no cost per
- cost per click
click
Internet
ad
format
4.1 Focus on search engine

Key internet marketing strategies


 What is SEO?
SEO is the act of modifying a website to increase its ranking in
Search engine organic (vs paid), crawler-based listings of search engines
optimisation
(SEO)
 How do organic search listings work?
- no cost per
click  A spider or crawler which is a component of a SE gathers listings
by automatically "crawling" the web
 The spider follows links to web pages, makes copies of the pages
and stores them in the SE’s index
 Based on this data, the SE then indexes the pages and ranks the
websites
 Major SEs that index pages using spiders: Google, Altavista, Msn,
Aol, lycos

“Spiders read only text, nothing else”


4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google

1. Boost your site speed


 Google penalizes slow-loading websites
Search engine
optimisation  How to improve your site speed:
(SEO) o 1. Go to google PageSpeed Insights
- no cost per (https://developers.google.com/speed/pagespeed/insights/?url=http%3A%2F
%2Fwww.danone.com%2F&tab=desktop)
click o Enter URL and press analyse
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google

1. Boost your site speed


 Google penalizes slow-loading websites

Search engine  How to improve your site speed:


optimisation o 1. Go to Google PageSpeed Insights
(SEO) (https://developers.google.com/speed/pagespeed/insights/?hl=en)
o Enter URL and press analyse (example: take the website of danone:
- no cost per www.danone.com)
click
o However, Google PageSpeed Insights, does not give you your sites’ actual
loading speed;
o Go to GTMETRIX.COM
o https://gtmetrix.com/

These arrows indicate your performance relative to the other sites that GTmetrix has
analyzed in the past 30 days.
• The green arrow pointing up indicates that your result is better than average.
• The red arrow pointing down indicates that your result is worse than the average.
• The orange diamond icon indicates that your result is within +/- 5% of the average.
This is useful because you can see which attributes of your site might require more
attention than others.
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google

1. Boost your site speed


 Google penalizes slow-loading websites

Search engine  How to improve your site speed:


optimisation o 1. Go to Google PageSpeed Insights
(SEO) (https://developers.google.com/speed/pagespeed/insights/?
hl=en)
- no cost per o Enter URL and press analyse (exemaple: take the website
click of danone: www.danone.com)

o However, Google PageSpeed Insights, does not give you


your sites’ actual loading speed;
o Go to GTMETIX.COM
 By pressing the button COMPARE, you can
compare the loading speed of your site with other
competitor
 Example :www.danone.com vs www.nestlé.com
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google

1. Boost your site speed


 Comparing Nestlé vs. Danone

Search engine
optimisation
(SEO)
- no cost per
click
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google

1. Boost your site speed


 Comparing Nestlé vs. Danone

Search engine
optimisation
(SEO)
- no cost per
click
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google

1. Boost your site speed


 Comparing H&M (https://www2.hm.com/en_us/index.html) and Zara
(https://www.zara.com/)
Search engine Zara

optimisation
(SEO)
- no cost per
click
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google
2. Solve your technical problems and fix them
 Log into Google Search Console (create an account for
your website)

Search engine  Pay attention to the “Current Status and Crawl errors”
optimisation
(SEO) o 3 types of errors : DNS (The Googlebot can not be
- no cost per connected to the DNS server) , server connectivity (The
click Googlebot can not have access to your URL) and robots.txt
fetch (The Googlebot can not retrieve the robots.txt folder
for your site)
o Have a green checkmarks
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google
3. Keywords research
 important in optimizing rankings
 keywords are words that appear the most in a page
Search engine  the spider chooses the appropriate keywords for each
optimisation page, then sends them back to its SE
(SEO)
 your web site will then be indexed based on your
- no cost per keywords
click
 can be key phrases or a single keyword
 do not use common words eg ‘the’ ‘and’ ‘of’: spiders ignore
them

How to
define 1. Google
your key suggest
words
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google
3. Keywords research
 important in optimizing rankings
 keywords are words that appear the most in a page
Search engine  the spider chooses the appropriate keywords for each
optimisation page, then sends them back to its SE
(SEO)
 your web site will then be indexed based on your
- no cost per keywords
click
 can be key phrases or a single keyword
 do not use common words eg ‘the’ ‘and’ ‘of’: spiders ignore
them

How to
2.
define
www.wordtrac
your key
ker.com
words
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google
3. Keywords research

Less competition se co benefit hon


Search engine
optimisation
(SEO)
- no cost per
click

How to 2.
define
www.wordt
your key
words racker.com
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google
3. Keywords research
 important in optimizing
rankings
Search engine  keywords are words that
optimisation appear the most in a page
(SEO)  the spider chooses the
- no cost per appropriate keywords for
click each page, then sends
them back to its SE
 your web site will then be
indexed based on your
keywords
3. SEMRush
tool give you  can be key phrases or a
How to single keyword
the keywords
define  do not use common words
a site is
your key eg ‘the’ ‘and’ ‘of’: spiders
ranked for
words ignore them
https://www.se
mrush.com/
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google
4. Content development
 Goal: publish unique quality content
 Make your keywords appeared at the beginning of your
Search engine content, in the first 100 words at least.
optimisation  No need to publish content too often but make it amazing
(SEO)
 How you make you content viral?
- no cost per o 1.Make the content actionable and practical
click o 2. Make infographics (visual representation of information
and data) part of you content marketing
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google
5. Optimize your URL
Scheme Authority part Path
 http://  www.ccm.net /glossair/glossair.php
Search engine
optimisation
 Make it short
(SEO)
- no cost per  It must contend your keyword
click

These URLs
are part of
how searchers
choose which
link to click
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google

6. Optimize off-page SEO


 Develop link building process which consists of
Search engine
having other sites point to your site: outbound
optimisation links or backlinks
(SEO)
- no cost per
click Backlink= are links from outside
domains (other websites) that point
to pages on your domain (your own
website); essentially linking back
from their domain to yours.
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google

6. Optimize off-page SEO


 Develop link building process which consists of
Search engine
having other sites point to your site: outbound
optimisation links or backlinks
(SEO)
- no cost per
 3 steps:
click
o 1. Find a page you want to get a link
from
o 2. Find broken links on that page (use:
http://www.brokenlinkcheck.com/
o 3. Let the site owner know about their
broken link and offer your content as a
replacement

A broken link= a link that does not work anymore


4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google

6. Optimize off-page SEO


 Example: (www.danone.fr)
Search engine  You have first to detect all the
optimisation broken link in the danone.fr
(SEO)
- no cost per
website
click
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google

6. Optimize off-page SEO


 Monitor your backlink
Search engine
optimisation
(SEO)  Tools:
- no cost per https://neilpatel.com/backlinks/
click
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google

6. Optimize off-page SEO


 Monitor your backlink
Search engine
optimisation
(SEO)  Tools:
- no cost per https://neilpatel.com/backlinks/
click
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies
How to improve your ranking on google

6. Optimize off-page SEO


 Monitor your backlink
Search engine
optimisation
(SEO)  Tools:
- no cost per https://neilpatel.com/backlinks/
click
Exercice

 You are the SEO manager for the brand Slim Fast (https://slimfast.com/)
 Analyse the speed of the website, what do you think?

 What are the keywords used : are they appropriate?

Weight loss, Diet plan, protein-


enriched product
Exercice

 You are the SEO manager for the brand Slim Fast (https://slimfast.com/)
 Analyze the broken links of the website
Exercice

 You are the SEO manager for the brand Slim Fast (https://slimfast.com/)
 You want to develop an outbound link with Health.com website (http://www.health.com/). How
to do?
Exercice

 You are the SEO manager for the brand Slim Fast (https://slimfast.com/)
 Is the strategy of backlink of slimfast efficient?
Case study
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies

 What is search engine advertising (SEA)?


SEA is the act of marketing a website via search engines by
purchasing paid listings Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click
 What are paid listings?
These are listings that search engines sell to advertisers, usually
through paid placement or paid inclusion programs. In contrast,
organic listings are not sold.
4.1 Focus on search engine
Key internet marketing strategies

Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work?

Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Three core principles

Principle 1: Google Ads is auction-based


When you make a search, Google quickly runs an auction among all advertisers that
are bidding for that keywords you enter in your search, an then they display the
winning ad. Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

Sponsored ads
appear
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Three core principles

Principle 1: Google Ads is auction-based


When you make a search, Google quickly runs an auction among all advertisers that
are bidding for that keywords you enter in your search, an then they display the
winning ad. Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

 Sponsored ads appear

 Levi’s appears in 3rd sponsored link

 How come?
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Three core principles

Principle 1: Google Ads is auction-based


The ranking of the sponsored ads do not depend exclusively on money you want to
invest (CPC; cost per click, Or PPC : pay-per-click)) but on an overall evaluation Search engine
quality (Quality score)
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 1: Google Ads is auction-based


The ranking of the sponsored ads do not depend exclusively on money you want to
invest (CPC; cost per click) but on an overall evaluation quality (Quality score) Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 2: Google Ads is based on search


Four tagging options
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

Time of the
Keywords Audience & day
devices
demographics
& interests
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 2: Google Ads is based on search


Four tagging options
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

Keywords
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 2: Google Ads is based on search


Four tagging options
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

device
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 2: Google Ads is based on search


Four tagging options
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

Audience
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 2: Google Ads is based on search


Four tagging options
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

Device
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 3: Google Ads bidding strategies

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 3: Google Ads bidding strategies

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 3: Google Ads bidding strategies

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

 Maximize Conversions: If you want to optimize for


conversions, but just want to spend your entire
budget instead of targeting a specific CPA (cost-per-
acquisition), you can use Maximize Conversions.

 Maximize Conversion Value: If you want to optimize


for conversion value, but just want to spend your
entire budget instead of targeting a specific ROAS
(return on ad spend), you can use Maximize
Conversion Value.
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 3: Google Ads bidding strategies

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

How to calculate the Key KPIs?


4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 3: Google Ads bidding strategies

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

CPA: cost-per-acquisition

Formula: Cost/Conversion

In the example= 3 052/90= 33.92$


4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 3: Google Ads bidding strategies

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

Return on Ad spend (ROAS)

Formula: Cost/Conversion value (revenu)

In the example, the conversion value is missing


4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 3: Google Ads bidding strategies

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

Click-trough-rate (CTR)

Formula: Click/Impressions or views*100

In the example, 804/34872*100= 2,3%


4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 3: Google Ads bidding strategies

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

Conversion rate

Formula: Conversion/clicks*100

In the example, 90/804*100= 2,3%


4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 3: Google Ads bidding strategies

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

CPM

Formula: Cost/Impressions*1000

In the example, 3052/33872*1000= 87,54 $


Exercice
Exercice: Results obtained after one month
Exercice: Results obtained after two months
Exercice: questions

 What was the main objective of the campaign?

 What is successful ? What is missing to appreciate the


sucessfulness of the campaign?
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 4: Google Ads have four types of campaign

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 4: Google Ads have four types of campaign

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

Search Campaigns – Search campaigns present text ads on search


results pages, i.e., after someone types in a search key word or phrase.
For example, if you were searching for “pizza”, you might see a text ad
like the following:
Example Pizza Store | Best Pizza in Town | Fresh, Hot, & Fast
www.pizzastore.com
Get your favourite pizzas starting at $5.99! Only at Your Pizza Store!
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 4: Google Ads have four types of campaign

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
Write the perfect search campaigns; A good (SEA)
Google Ads ad must convey the right message, at - cost per click
the right time, to the right person. Ads are subject
to editorial rules to ensure that the results are
accurate and relevant.

Guideline
1. Up to three headlines with 30 charaters max each
2. Introduce URL: 15 characters per path
3. Description: 80 characters
4. Extensions: Ad extensions boost the look and usefulness of ads. For
example, sitelink extensions link directly to different pages within a website,
location extensions map to your location, and call extensions include a
telephone number that you can click on during business hours. Ad
extensions can be more engaging for searchers and can communicate
even more specific information.
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 4: Google Ads have four types of campaign

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
Exercice: (SEA)
- cost per click
Update the sponsored search campaign by
introducing the idea of price reduction of 20% off
for clients who download the ASOS App.
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 4: Google Ads have four types of campaign

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

Display (Banner) Campaigns – Display campaigns are image ads


distributed and presented across millions of websites and apps called the
Google Display Network. Display campaigns also allow you to follow up
with people who have already seen your ads or visited your site (called
“remarketing ads”). Here’s an example of pizza display ad:
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 4: Google Ads have four types of campaign

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

Shopping Campaigns – Shopping campaigns are


ideal for retailers looking to sell their product
inventory. Shopping ads appear on search results
under the Google Shopping tab.
4.1 Focus on search engine
How Google Ads work? Four core principles

Principle 4: Google Ads have four types of campaign

You can automatically parameter your bidding strategy based on your objectives
Search engine
marketing
(SEA)
- cost per click

Video Campaigns – Video campaigns let you show


video ads on YouTube and other websites.
4.2 Focus on viral and digital campaign
How to develop an effective viral and digital advertising campaign :
Five problems and solutions

Prominent brands puts off viewers

 The Problem: When people watch ads, they focus on a few things,
such as the actors’ mouths and eyes. They also focus on logos. This
isn’t the boon it might seem: The more prominent or intrusive the
logo, the more likely viewers are to stop watching— even if they
know and like the brand. Why? People seem to have an
unconscious aversion to being persuaded, so when they see a
logo,they resist.

 The solution: Utilize “brand pulsing.” Smart advertisers unobtrusively


weave the brand image throughout the ad. Experiments have shown
that this can increase viewership by as much as 20%. One of the
best examples of the technique is Coca-Cola’s animated “Happiness
Factory” ad.
4.2 Focus on viral and digital campaign
How to develop an effective viral and digital advertising campaign :
Five problems and solutions

People get bored right away

 The solution: Create joy or surprise right away


4.2 Focus on viral and digital campaign
How to develop an effective viral and digital advertising campaign :
Five problems and solutions

People watch for a while then stop

 The solution: Build an emotional roller coaster. Viewers are most likely to continue watching a
video ad if they experience emotional ups and downs. This fits with psychological-research
findings about human adaptability.
4.2 Focus on viral and digital campaign
How to develop an effective viral and digital advertising campaign :
Five problems and solutions

People like an ad but don’t share it


 The solution: Surprise but don’t shock
4.2 Focus on viral and digital campaign
How to develop an effective viral and digital advertising campaign :
Five problems and solutions

People like an ad but don’t share it


 The solution: Surprise but don’t shock
4.2 Focus on viral and digital campaign
How to develop an effective viral and digital advertising campaign :
Five problems and solutions

People still won’t share the ad


 The solution: Target consumers who will. Companies are already placing ads on the pages of
Facebook users who frequently post links and are reaching out to Twitterers who have large
followings. The ability to find these archetypal sharers will become just as important as the ability
to reach certain demographic groups has traditionally been.
4.2 Focus on viral and digital campaign
Analyze the effectiveness of the video

 Identify one viral video in Vietnam and explain why it gets to be viral

 Identify one brand video which was not viral and explain why?
4.3 Focus on Mobile Marketing
Mobile Marketing is a set of practices that
enables organizations to communicate and engage
with their audience in an interactive and relevant
manner through any mobile device or network.

 More than 6 Billion Mobile Users Worldwide


 More than 50% of all “Local” Searches are Done from a Mobile Device
 Over 350 MILLION People Access Facebook from Their Mobile Devices
 A Majority of Adult Cell Owners Now Go Online Using Their Mobile Devices
 Our Mobile Devices are the First Thing We Check in the Morning and the Last Thing
We Check Before Bed
 Most People Keep Their Mobile Devices within Arm’s Reach 24/7
 Smartphones are Now OUTSELLING Personal Computers
4.3 Focus on Mobile Marketing
Popular Mobile activities
4.3 Focus on Mobile Marketing

 Traditional
Advertising
Methods Are No
Longer as Effective
as They Once
Were

TRADITIONAL MOBILE  Mobile Marketing is


METHODS No Longer a
METHODS Trend…
 Yellow Page  Mobile Websites
Books
 Text Message  It’s the NEW Way
 Newspaper Ads Marketing to Do Business!
 TV Commercials  Mobile Apps & More!
4.3 Focus on Mobile Marketing
Potential Mobile Profit Boosters
4.3 Focus on Mobile Marketing

Recent studies
show that current
mobile web-user
experiences are
overall HORRIBLE
when it comes to
Web Designers Understand How to Build Websites Made for
viewing and
COMPUTERS
navigating
websites… But a MOBILE PHONE is Not a Computer…
4.3 Focus on Mobile Marketing

Why mobile websites

 Improved Mobile User Experience


 Faster Website Loading Speed on Mobile
Devices
 Location-Based for Geo-Targeting

Recent studies
show that current
mobile web-user
experiences are
overall HORRIBLE
when it comes to
viewing and
navigating
websites…

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