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04a. Business Analytics For Decision Support Part II
04a. Business Analytics For Decision Support Part II
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Modelling Multinomial Choices
Prize motivation:
“Development of theory
and methods for analyzing
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daniel_McFadden
discrete choice”
Consumer Choice Behaviour
• Consumers decide on:
• Whether to buy (purchase incidence) Binomial or binary choices (dichotomous):
• Whether to buy again (loyalty/churn) 2 available alternatives (previous lecture)
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Example: Product Design Choice-Based-Conjoint (CBC)
Brand
Walking distance to
Location 10-minute ride to destination 30-minute ride to destination
destination
Choice one A B C D 6
Example: Scanner-Panel Data Nielsen Homescan
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Sample Scanner-Panel Data
Customer Regular
Date Store ID Brand Quantity Discount Display Feature
ID Price
1001 01/03/2024 2345 Tide 1.5 L 3.55 0.43 No No
1001 29/02/2024 5678 Tide 2.0 L 3.99 0.54 Yes Yes
1001 25/04/2024 2345 Tide 1.5 L 3.55 0.45 No No
1001 28/05/2024 5678 Persil 1.5 L 2.99 0.50 Yes No
1001 27/06/2024 2345 Tide 1.5 L 3.60 0.45 No No
1001 22/07/2024 5678 Tide 1.5 L 3.60 0.20 No No
1001 29/08/2024 2345 Persil 2.0 L 3.15 0.60 Yes Yes
1001 24/09/2024 5678 Tide 1.5 L 3.65 0.42 No No
1001 28/10/2024 2345 Persil 1.5 L 4.99 1.00 Yes Yes
1001 25/11/2024 5678 Tide 1.5 L 3.99 0.50 No No
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Choice-Based Conjoint Study on Tablets
• When choosing a tablet:
• How do consumers trade-off between the tablet attributes/features?
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Tablet Conjoint Study Design
Attribute Levels
Brand iPad, Galaxy, Kindle, Surface, Nexus
Screen size (inch) 7, 8, 9, 10
Hard drive (GB) 16, 32, 76, 128
RAM size (GB) 1, 2, 4
Battery life (hours) 7, 8, 9
Price ($) 169, 199, 299, 399, 499
RAM size 4 GB 4 GB 2 GB
Battery life 8h 7h 9h
Alternative 1 2 3 11
Excerpt from the Conjoint Data
There are 137 consumers in the dataset
ConsumerId ChoiceSetId AlternativeIdInSet Choice Brand Size Storage Ram Battery Price
1 1 1 1 iPad sz7inch st32gb r4gb b7h p499
1 1 2 0 Surface sz10inch st64gb r2gb b9h p399
1 1 3 0 Kindle sz9inch st16gb r2gb b8h p499
1 2 1 1 iPad sz8inch st32gb r1gb b8h p399
1 2 2 0 Surface sz10inch st128gb r4gb b7h p299
1 2 3 0 Nexus sz7inch st64gb r1gb b9h p199
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Excerpt from the Conjoint Data
There are 137 consumers in the dataset
ConsumerId ChoiceSetId AlternativeIdInSet Choice Brand Size Storage Ram Battery Price
1 1 1 1 iPad sz7inch st32gb r4gb b7h p499
1 1 2 0 Surface sz10inch st64gb r2gb b9h p399
1 1 3 0 Kindle sz9inch st16gb r2gb b8h p499
1 2 1 1 iPad sz8inch st32gb r1gb b8h p399
1 2 2 0 Surface sz10inch st128gb r4gb b7h p299
1 2 3 0 Nexus sz7inch st64gb r1gb b9h p199
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Utility
• The multinomial logit model assumes the consumer has a utility
for each Tablet
• Faced with a choice set, the consumer selects the tablet that
has the maximum utility
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Sub-Utility
• For example, each brand is worth
• Galaxy: βGal
• iPad: βiPad
• Kindle: βKind
• Surface: βSurf
• Nexus: 0 (reference value)
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Consumer Utility for a Tablet
Vj = βGalGalj + βiPadiPadj + βKindKindj + βSurfSurfj ß Brand value
+ β10”10inchj + β9”9inchj + β8”8inchj ß Screen size value
Brand βiPad
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Utility of Tablet 2 in Choice Task Example
Brand βSurf
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Utility of Tablet 3 in Choice Task Example
Brand 0
V3 = 0 + β9” + β32gb
Screen
9 inch β9”
size + βram2 + βbatt9 + βprice$199
Hard
32 GB β32gb
drive
RAM
2 GB βram2
size
Battery
9h βbatt9
life
Price $199 βprice$199
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Choice Probabilities
exp(𝑉! )
𝑝1 =
exp 𝑉! + exp 𝑉" + exp(𝑉# )
exp(𝑉" )
𝑝2 =
exp 𝑉! + exp 𝑉" + exp(𝑉# )
exp(𝑉# )
𝑝3 =
exp 𝑉 + exp 𝑉" + exp(𝑉)
0 < 𝑝𝑗 ≤ 1, ∀ 𝑗
𝑝1 + 𝑝2 + 𝑝3 = 1
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Results and Interpretation
Estimation Results
Estimate Std. Error z-value Pr(>|z|)
BrandGalaxy 0.3378857 0.0925056 3.6525962 0.0002596
BrandiPad 0.9780287 0.0937336 10.4341362 0.0000000
BrandKindle 0.2630105 0.0996254 2.6399948 0.0082907
BrandSurface 0.1450365 0.0938521 1.5453733 0.1222560
Sizesz10inch 0.3240632 0.0841953 3.8489489 0.0001186
Sizesz8inch 0.1890775 0.0829232 2.2801508 0.0225987
Sizesz9inch 0.4355415 0.0808408 5.3876444 0.0000001
Storagest128gb 0.5897703 0.0870533 6.7748219 0.0000000
Storagest32gb 0.2168719 0.0829213 2.6153951 0.0089124
Storagest64gb 0.5782183 0.0808259 7.1538766 0.0000000
Ramr2gb 0.3189348 0.0672579 4.7419705 0.0000021
Ramr4gb 0.6357438 0.0645225 9.8530525 0.0000000
Batteryb8h 0.1299599 0.0651501 1.9947771 0.0460672
Batteryb9h 0.1253824 0.0650588 1.9272156 0.0539528
Price -0.0050888 0.0002752 -18.4886259 0.0000000
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Estimation Results
Estimate Std. Error z-value Pr(>|z|)
BrandGalaxy 0.3378857 0.0925056 3.6525962 0.0002596
BrandiPad 0.9780287 0.0937336 10.4341362 0.0000000
BrandKindle 0.2630105 0.0996254 2.6399948 0.0082907
BrandSurface 0.1450365 0.0938521 1.5453733 0.1222560
Sizesz10inch 0.3240632 0.0841953 3.8489489 0.0001186
Sizesz8inch 0.1890775 0.0829232 2.2801508 0.0225987
Sizesz9inch 0.4355415 0.0808408 5.3876444 0.0000001
Storagest128gb 0.5897703 0.0870533 6.7748219 0.0000000
Storagest32gb 0.2168719 0.0829213 2.6153951 0.0089124
Storagest64gb 0.5782183 0.0808259 7.1538766 0.0000000
Ramr2gb 0.3189348 0.0672579 4.7419705 0.0000021
Ramr4gb 0.6357438 0.0645225 9.8530525 0.0000000
Batteryb8h 0.1299599 0.0651501 1.9947771 0.0460672
Batteryb9h 0.1253824 0.0650588 1.9272156 0.0539528
Price -0.0050888 0.0002752 -18.4886259 0.0000000
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Tablet Conjoint Sub-Utilities
Attributes Levels Utilities
Brand iPad 0.9780287
Galaxy 0.3378857 Reference levels are
Kindle 0.2630105
Surface 0.1450365 marked in grey
Nexus 0
Screen 9inch 0.4355415
Size 10inch 0.3240632
8inch 0.1890775
7 inch 0
Hard 128gb 0.5897703
drive 64gb 0.5782183
32gb 0.2168719
16gb 0
RAM 4gb 0.6357438
2gb 0.3189348
1gb 0
Battery 8h 0.1299599
9h 0.1253824
7h 0
24
Price -0.0050888
Relative Importance of Attributes
Attributes Levels Utilities
Brand iPad 0.9780287
Galaxy 0.3378857
Kindle 0.2630105
Surface 0.1450365 Range of attribute
Screen
Nexus
9inch 0.4355415
0
= Maximum Partworth–
Size 10inch 0.3240632 Minimum Partworth
8inch 0.1890775
7 inch 0
Hard 128gb 0.5897703
drive 64gb 0.5782183
32gb 0.2168719 Relative Importance
16gb 0
RAM 4gb 0.6357438 = Range /(Sum of Ranges
2gb
1gb
0.3189348
0
across all attributes)
Battery 8h 0.1299599
9h 0.1253824
7h 0
25
Price -0.0050888
Calculating Attribute Importances
Attributes Levels Utilities
Brand iPad 0.9780287 Range of attribute
Galaxy 0.3378857 = Maximum Partworth–Minimum
Kindle 0.2630105 Partworth
Surface 0.1450365
Nexus 0 Relative Importance
Screen 9inch 0.4355415 = Range /(Sum of Ranges across all
Size 10inch 0.3240632 attributes)
8inch 0.1890775
7 inch 0
Hard 128gb 0.5897703
Attributes Range Importance
drive 64gb 0.5782183
Brand 0.98 0.35
32gb 0.2168719
Screen Size 0.44 0.16
16gb 0
Hard drive 0.59 0.22
RAM 4gb 0.6357438
RAM 0.64 0.23
2gb 0.3189348
Battery 0.13 0.05
1gb 0
Battery 8h 0.1299599
9h 0.1253824
7h 0
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Price -0.0050888
Attribute Importance Weights
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Model Fit
• Estimate a “null” or “constrained” model (Brand-only effects)
• Likelihood-ratio test assesses the goodness of fit of two competing
statistical models (the Brand-only and the Brand + Attributes)
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Hit Rate: Choice Prediction Accuracy
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Predicted Market Share
ConsumerId ChoiceSetId AlternativeIdInSet Choice Brand Size Storage Ram Battery Price
1 1 1 V1 1 iPad sz7inch st32gb r4gb b7h p499
1 1 2 V2 0 Surface sz10inch st64gb r2gb b9h p399
1 1 3 V3 0 Kindle sz9inch st16gb r2gb b8h p499
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Conjoint Simulator
What is the impact of a 2GB RAM upgrade on Galaxy market share?
Hypothetical market scenario
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Utility Exchange Rate
• The price coefficient indicates that a $1 increase in price leads
to a utility decrease by 0.005088 “utiles”
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Brand Value of iPad Relative to Galaxy
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Willingness to Pay for an Attribute Upgrade
• 𝛽Ramr4gb ≈ 0.6357
• 𝛽Ramr1gb = 0
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Key Takeaways
• Conjoint is the most popular marketing analytics tool in the
industry
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Managing
Customers as Investments
“Success is getting the
right customers… and
keeping them”
https://www.nytimes.com/2015/11/25/business/
charles-m-cawley-founder-of-mbna-corp-dies-
at-75.html
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Customer and Firm Value
Firm Value
Domain of Finance
Value of a
Customer
Domain of Marketing
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Measuring CLV
𝑚×𝑟 𝑚 × 𝑟/
𝐶𝐿𝑉 = −𝐴𝐶 + + /
+⋯⇒
1+𝑖 1+𝑖
𝑟
𝐶𝐿𝑉 = 𝑚 − 𝐴𝐶
1+𝑖−𝑟
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Margin Multiple (Constant Margins)
• CLV = Profit Margin × Margin Multiple
𝑟
• Margin Multiple
1+𝑖−𝑟
Margin Multiple
Retention Discount Rate (𝑖)
Rate (𝑟) 10% 12% 14% 16%
60% 1.20 1.15 1.11 1.07
70% 1.75 1.67 1.59 1.52
80% 2.67 2.50 2.35 2.20
90% 4.50 4.09 3.75 3.46
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Increasing CLV Strategies
• Customer acquisition
• Customer expansion
• Customer retention
𝑟
𝐶𝐿𝑉 = 𝑚 − 𝐴𝐶
1+𝑖−𝑟
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Customer Acquisition Example
• 140 customer-accounts of a company use 2,285 units
per month
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Customer Acquisition Example
• Annual margin 𝑚 per customer:
• m = (2,285 × 12/140) × (12.50 – 4.25) = $1,616
• CLV formula:
• margin multiple = 0.9/ (1 + 0.12 – 0.9) = 4.09
• CLV = m × margin multiple = $1,616 × 4.09 = $6,609
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Customer Acquisition Strategies
• Advertising/ Communications
• Affiliations
• Amazon
• EBay partner network
• Acquisitions
• In the last 30+ years, the FAMGA tech giants — Facebook, Amazon,
Microsoft, Google, and Apple — have collectively made over
800 acquisitions
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https://www.cbinsights.com/research/tech-giants-billion-dollar-acquisitions-infographic/
Customer Acquisition Costs
• Decrease cost per acquisition (Example)
48
Customer Acquisition Strategies
• Scale up volume
• Spend more on existing channels
• Develop new acquisition channels
• Improve performance
• Decrease cost per acquisition
• Shift mix towards high-value customers
49
Managing Customer Expansion
• Increase usage
• Upsell (switch customers to higher priced product or service)
• Bundling/ cross-selling
• Reduce cost
50
Impact of Bundling on Churn
Average Monthly Customer Churn
2.8%
2.3% 2.3%
1.85%
1.25%
TV only TV & Broadband Broadband & Mobile Broadband & TV Broadband & TV
& Mobile
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Customer Recommendation Systems
• Recommender systems are popular in ecommerce
and digital content settings
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Predicting the User Ratings
• Think about the Netflix streaming service, when predicting user
ratings, what data could be useful?
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Using Other Users’ Rankings
• Example:
• Users: Amy, Bob, Carl, Dan
• Movies: Men in Black, Apollo 13, Top Gun, Terminator
• Ratings: 1 (lowest) to 5 (highest) scale; blank entries: not rates
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Using Other Users’ Rankings
• Suggesting to Carl that he watches Men in Black
• Amy rated it highly
• Carl and Amy seem to have similar preferences
55
Using Movie Information
• Amy liked Men In Black • Recommending to Amy
(gave it a rating of five)
• Directed by Barry Sonnenfeld • Barry Sonnenfeld’s movie
Get Shorty
• Classified in the genres of
Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi and • Jurassic Park (Action,
Comedy Adventure, Sci-Fi)
• Stars actor Will Smith • Will Smith’s movie Hitch
58
Recommendation Systems
Most top digital business provide recommendations to their users
• Social networking sites • Retailers
• Facebook/ Instagram • Amazon
• LinkedIn • eBay
• Tiktok • AliExpress
• Streaming platforns
• Spotify
• Netflix
• YouTube
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Customer Churn: Leaky Bucket
• Telecommunication companies suffer from considerable
customer churn
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Causes of Churn
• Company
• Structural (poor ongoing customer experience)
• Event-based (a specific incident causes serious customer
dissatisfaction)
• Competition
• Promotion (switching)
• Product/Service (superior value proposition)
• Customer
• Customer’s needs change
• Location
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Impact of Retention on Market Share
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Impact of Retention on Market Share
63
Impact of Retention on Market Share
64
Impact of Retention on Market Share
66
Impact of Retention on Firm Value
67
What Drives Retention and Loyalty?
Loyalty
Experience Cross-selling
Programs …
68
Key Takeaways
• Customers are assets
𝑟
• Lifetime value of a customer is 𝐶𝐿𝑉 = 𝑚 − 𝐴𝐶
1+𝑖−𝑟
• Three key levers of growth
• Customer acquisition (𝐴𝐶)
• Customer expansion (𝑚)
• Customer retention (𝑟)
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Workbook
Workbook Question 4 of 4 (5% of course marks)
• Question(s):
• Reflect on how might your organization, or an organization of your
choice, adapt its current practices to better leverage the concept of
customer lifetime value? Provide examples on strategies that your
organization can implement to optimize customer acquisition (AC),
expansion (m), and retention (r) efforts (one example for each) to
maximize Customer Lifetime Value (CLV).
• Instruction(s):
• Length 200 words (± 20%, i.e., no less than 160, no more than 240!)
• Use MS Word
• Upload the file with your response on the course page on eclass (BA Workbook
Question 4 of 4)
• Upload by Wednesday 8 May, 21:00
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