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WRAPS

A Business Plan: Wraps


Presented to the
Faculty of the Department of Business Administration
School of Business Economics
University of San Carlos
Cebu City, Philippines

In Partial Fulfillment
Of the Requirements of the Course
BUSINESS PLAN (Entrep 39E)
2nd Semester, AY 2012 - 2013

By:

CUEVAS, EARL JUSTICE G.


ESPAÑOL, RAFAEL DAVE G.
GENOSA, JOHN DAVID M.
GO, JED EARL C.
LIM, LAMBERT LAMTHAI B.
TAN, JOHN DAVIDSON A.
TIU, ELIJAH ROSS O.
VALENZUELA, IRVIN EDU O.

February 2013

1
Endorsement Sheet for ORAL DEFENSE

This Business Plan entitled WRAPS submitted by MEATBAGS AND A VEGGIE in partial
fulfilment of the course BUSINESS PLAN (E39e) has been examined and approved for
ORAL DEFENSE.

__________________________________________ __________________________________________
Dr. Corazon G. Anzano, PhD Demetrio S. Anticuando, MBA
Marketing Aspect Operations Aspect

__________________________________________ __________________________________________
Dr. Alicia Villar, DBA Priscilla Nicholas, CPA
Human Resource Aspect Finance Aspect

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ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

To God,
To our advisers,
To the chefs and their students,
To our parents,
To our loved ones.,
To our respondents,

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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY
This document is a business plan to be submitted to the Entrep 39 Food superiors.
Wraps is a business that eight male student entrepreneurs plan to venture into. The
business idea is simply to provide a quick grab-able healthy meal. The main product is the
Grilled Chicken Wrap, which is simply a combination of pan-grilled marinated chicken,
vegetables, mangoes, secret home-made sauce and sprinkled with cheese, all wrapped up
in a 9 inches tortilla bread. A cost-based pricing strategy is used in determining a P60
selling price per wrap. With a cost of P30, the team desires to have 100% mark-up. This
entire concept will be sold initially at the ground floor of Kolk’s Nook at the University of
San Carlos, downtown campus. The idea will be promoted and marketed through the use of
social networking sites and marketing collaterals such as posters, fliers, loyalty cards and
advertisement spaces in the university’s organizations.
The target market of the business venture is the tight-scheduled passersby and the
health conscious segment of the USC market and thus the reason why the initial stall will be
opened up at the route between the main buildings and the aw building. The business will
be running five days a week with its very own management team as its own employees.
The rent of the initial start-up location will be P3,000 per month for 10 months a year. The
team has decided to close down during the months of April and May because there will be a
great decrease of foot traffic during summer. These will be maintained until the business
stabilizes and the management decides to hire employees outside the entrepreneurial
team.
For the projecting of the demand, the team based it on the quantitative data of the
competition survey and student survey and the qualitative data of the chef survey. Trend
projection and guessing was used based on the survey results to forecast sales. Maximum
production per day is 100 wraps. However, it is projected that sales will be an average of
50 wraps daily; and as such, the team will produce at an average of 55 wraps daily which is
10% more than the projected daily sales.

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TABLE OF CONTENTS

1. OVERVIEW OF THE BUSINESS VENTURE 10


1.1. Vision 11
1.2. Mission 11
1.3. Goals 12
1.4. Objectives 13
2. INDUSTRY ANALYSIS 14
2.1. Industry Profile 14
2.1.1. Classification 14
2.1.2. Size 15
2.1.3. Competition 15
2.1.4. Key Success Factors 15
2.2. External Factor Analysis 16
2.3. Competitor's Analysis 19
2.3.1. Existing Competitors 19
2.3.2. Potential Competitors 20
3. MARKETING PLAN 21
3.1. Marketing Strategies and Programs 21
3.1.1. Market Segmentation Strategies 21
3.1.2. Target Market 21
3.1.3. Positioning Strategies 22
3.2. Marketing Mix Decisions 22
3.2.1. Product 22
3.2.2. Pricing Program 22
3.2.3. Distribution Channel 23
3.2.4. Advertising and Promotions 23
3.3. Sales Forecasts 25
4. OPERATIONS MANAGEMENT PLAN 26
4.1. Overview of Proposed Supply Chain Management 26
4.2. Production Forecast / Schedule / Budget 26

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4.2.1. Sales Projection 26
4.2.2. Production Forecast 28
4.2.3. Production Capacity 29
4.3. Supply Network 30
4.3.1. Bill of Materials 30
4.3.2. Raw Materials and Suppliers Requirement 30
4.3.3. Transportation Requirement 31
4.3.4. Location Strategy 31
4.4. Internal Supply Chain 32
4.4.1. Process Flow 32
4.4.2. Layout Design 33
4.4.3. Machineries and Equipment Requirement 34
4.4.4. Manpower and Skills Requirement 34
4.4.5. Inventory Management 34
4.4.5.1. Raw Materials 35
4.4.5.2. Work in Process 38
4.4.5.3. Pipeline Inventory 38
4.4.5.4. Finished Goods 38
4.4.6. Waste Management 38
4.5 Distribution System 39
4.5.1. Transportation / Delivery Requirements 39
4.6. Project Management 39
5. ORGANIZATION AND MANAGEMENT PLAN 40
5.1. Type of Ownership 40
5.2. Organizational Structure 41
5.3. Functions and Responsibilities 43
5.4. Compensation 45
5.5. Organizational Policies 46
5.6. Legal Requirements 47
6. FINANCIAL PLAN 54
6.1. Financial Objectives and Targets 54

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6.1.1. Total Project Costs 54
6.1.2. Capital Structure / Sources of Financing 55
6.1.3. Investment Returns and Risks 55
6.1.4. Profitability Levels 55
6.1.5. Cash Flows 55
6.1.6. Survival Expectations 55
6.1.7. Sustainability Expectations 55
6.2. Statement of Assumptions 55
6.2.1. Income Statement 55
6.2.1.1. Pricing and Costing Method Used 55
6.2.1.2. Volume Trends 55
6.2.1.3. Production Costs / Service Costs 56
6.2.1.4. Operating Costs 56
6.2.1.5. Financing Costs 56
6.2.1.6. Tax Assumption 56
6.2.2. Balance Sheet 56
6.2.2.1. Accounts Receivable and Cash Collection Policies 56
6.2.2.2. Inventories 57
6.2.2.3. Prepaid Expenses 57
6.2.2.4. Other Current Assets 57
6.2.2.5. Accounts Payable and Purchases Payments 58
6.2.2.6. Accrued Expenses 58
6.2.2.7. Other Current Liabilities 58
6.2.2.8. Borrowings and Payments 58
6.2.2.9. Capitalization 58
6.2.2.10. Dividends / Drawings 58
6.3. Total Project Cost 58
6.3.1. Components 58
6.3.2. Sources of Funds 59
6.4. Projected Financial Statements 59
6.5. Projected Income Statement 59

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6.6. Projected Cash Flow Statements 60
6.7. Projected Balance Sheet 60
6.8. Set of Schedules and Charts 60
6.9. Financial Evaluation 61
6.9.1. Vertical Analysis 61
6.9.1.1. Financial Ratio Analysis 61
6.9.1.2. Liquidity Ratios 61
6.9.1.3. Cash Ratio 61
6.9.1.4. Acid-Test Ratio 61
6.9.1.5. Current Ratio 61
6.9.1.6. Collection Period 61
6.9.1.7. Accounts Receivable Turnover 61
6.9.1.8. Days Sales in Inventories 61
6.9.1.9. Inventory Turnover 61
6.9.1.10. Working Capital Turnover 62
6.9.2. Earnings / Profitability Ratios 62
6.9.2.1. Gross Profit Ratio 62
6.9.2.2. Operating Margin Ratio 62
6.9.2.3. Return on Sales 62
6.9.2.4. Return on Assets / ROI 62
6.9.2.5. Return on Equity / Capital 62
6.9.2.6. Return on Net Working Capital 62
6.9.2.7. Return on Fixed Assets 62
6.9.2.8. Stability Ratios 62
6.9.2.9. Debt-Equity Ratio 62
6.9.2.10. Times-Interest Earned Ratio 62
6.9.2.11. ROE vs. ROA 62
6.9.3. Cost-Volume Profit Analysis 62
6.9.3.1. Variable Cost Component 62
6.9.3.2. Fixed Cost Component 63
6.9.3.3. Breakeven Point Analysis 64

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6.9.4. Investment Returns Analysis 64
6.9.4.1. Payback Period 64
6.9.4.2. NPV 64
6.9.5. Benchmark with Industry Average 64
6.9.6. Du Pont Analysis 64
6.9.7. Sensitivity Analysis 64
7. CONCLUSIONS AND RECOMMENDATIONS 65
APPENDICES 66
The Management Team 68
Other Pertinent Documents 69

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CHAPTER 1
OVERVIEW OF THE BUSINESS VENTURE

Rationale
Before the history of the business idea of Wraps can be explained, it is essential to
keep in mind that all the members of the entrepreneurial team are second year students at
the Downtown Campus. The need was found when the members, a barkada, found
themselves troubled on where to have their lunch. They are bored with the food around
and find themselves giving up to the unhealthy foods offered. Then came the day of
business proposals, where the team had an approved proposal that most of the members
could not find the will to cash in such big amounts. That’s when Jed Earl Go recalled a
delicious home-made meal he had. He conversed with the team regarding the idea and no
sooner had the team started the concept of commercializing such a healthy treat. Wraps
was then coined because of the way the product is wrapped in tortilla bread.
Wraps was the solution. As a healthy fast-food option to the busy world of today, it
was the perfect business idea to solve both the need of healthy foods around and provide a
business for the team to venture into. It was then decided that the first stall of Wraps will
be located at the ground floor of Kolk’s Nook of the University of San Carlos, Downtown
Campus. There, Wraps will be portrayed as a grab-able product that can be a quick meal for
the busy foot traffic of our target market. The stalls will be located at vantage points where
foot traffic often tread by. It will lure the pedestrians as they take their usual route of daily
activities. It will be fast, but still a healthy and tasty alternative for society.
Wraps will raise a “No MSG” and “No oil” banner, wherein taste and flavor are not
sacrificed in doing so. It also offers classy drinks to complement the main product. Because
grab-able desserts are also trending, the team is planning to add desserts to the product
line. Aside from the healthy option, Wraps might offer a sweet option so as to excite the
taste buds of its customers. Although it is mentioned here, the desserts product line will not
yet be presented in the document.

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Brand Logo

Tagline: “And That’s A Wrap!”

1.1. Vision
Our vision is a world where no man, woman, or child shall ever be under
such pressures of life that he or she cannot grab a quick meal which will be of no
cost to one’s health.
1.2. Mission
Our mission is to provide a rendition of healthier choices of on-the-go snack
food to the busy populace of an ever-faster evolving world.

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1.3. Goals
Department Short Term Goals Transitional Goals Long Term Goals
3 months and less 3 months to 1 year 1 year and above
Marketing Grand Opening of First Stall Establish Promotional Redesign Brand Image
Cards
Present Products to Critics Advertise the new
and Food Bloggers for products
Advertisement
Advertise before Grand Advertise the upcoming
Opening products
Establish social network Determining the Next
pages Location
Market Brand
Set Monthly Promotional
Activities
Operations Addition of Products Addition to the Product Perfect the Recipe
Lines
Establish Workplace and Stall Redesign the stall and Research and
social network pages Development of
Products
Redesign workplace
and improve efficiency
Human Resource Begin Hiring Employees Improve employee and
customer relationship
Improve employee and
management
relationship
Finance Evaluation of the First Expansion to another
Location location

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1.4. Objectives

Our tripartite objective is to satisfy the need for healthy fast food to all, to
establish our brand and name as a premier source of healthy fast food, and to be
able to conveniently serve the busy people in their tight schedule in the modern
world of today.
1. Supply to the busy world of students a healthy option to provide them the
chance to nourish their bodies better.
2. Provide meals on the go, conveniently at the route where busy students and
faculty pass by.
3. Allow the students to relate themselves with Wraps and make it a part of their
Carolinian experience.
4. Create a healthy mindset to students when they meet the brand, Wraps.

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CHAPTER 2
INDUSTRY ANALYSIS

2.1. Industry Profile


WRAPS belongs to the food industry. The Food Industry is the biggest of its kind.
Filipinos enjoy eating and tasting different kinds of delicacies may it be western,
middle-eastern, Asian and/or Croatian. Food is the most essential factor you’ll ever
need in order to live, to fuel your bodies to do your daily tasks. Without food, a man can
live, but a man can’t do his normal physical activities without it. Food is the most basic
need to humans. Having a food-related business was our choice because everybody
eats! Not one man in his right mind would go on a day without eating or taking in
something.
Because this industry is a very competitive industry, this will require intense
marketing research and continuous studies to be able to keep up with the innovations
in the fast-revolving world. Underneath the food industry come a lot of smaller groups
of different kinds of food classifications. Specifically Wraps belongs to the fast-food
classification simply because it is in a stall and it isn’t a brick and mortar restaurant.
Wraps will cater to specified events around Cebu City depending upon agreement of the
team and the opposing company.
2.1.1. Classification
Wraps belongs to the fast-food classification. It will establish a stall at the
ground floor of Kolk’s Nooks in USC Downtown Campus and there Wraps will cater
to students, faculty and staff. The brand is labelled as fast-food because people go to
it to have a quick meal. Customers simply say what they want then the employee
begins the process of making the specific order. The employees do this in a matter of
90 seconds more or less. Fast-foods are very trendy in a country like the Philippines.
People go for the convenience, and do not really want the hassle of sitting down,
ordering their food, waiting for their food to come, and finally paying high prices for
ordinary food. Filipinos don’t like that idea – especially those who don’t have the
luxury of time.

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One doesn’t simply see office workers who are in a morning rush going to a
restaurant and taking their time eating breakfast. In this world today, one always
sees professionals passing a drive-through at the big fast-food chains such as
Jollibee and McDonalds. In like manner, because the entrepreneurial team is inside a
university campus, the team targets those students or staff who don’t have much
time and want to grab a quick and HEALTHY meal between their busy schedules.
2.1.2. Size
Wraps will initially venture in the University of San Carlos Main Campus. Of
course, no entrepreneur would want to stay in a single location when potential
money-making locations elsewhere are just easy to go to. In a few years time, when
the time is right, the team would venture out to other possible places within Metro
Cebu. The reason for this is that the team does not want its product to succeed only
inside a University campus, but also to all the other communities wherever there are
health-conscious and tight scheduled people. Wraps will be there to cater for them
conveniently and healthily.
Entrepreneurs do not settle for mediocrity, they do not end where they left
off but they venture to other places outside their training ground and into foreign
lands. The team would look for a place where there is great opportunity. The team
believes that the population of health-conscious people are escalating by the
hundreds, yearly. The team thinks that healthy food will be the trend in the near
future.
2.1.3. Competition
The direct competitors will be the fast food stations and restaurants that also
sell products similar to products such as Wraps and Flushes. The indirect
competitors are those who sell fast food that can substitute the products that Wraps
offers. The potential competitors are the restaurants and eateries outside campus
that offer substitute products and are near enough to steal the target market.
2.1.4. Key Success Factors
The key success factors of Wraps are: first, the healthfulness of the Wraps’
“no oil and no MSG”; second, the convenience of being a fast food stall will capture

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the tight-scheduled passersby; last, the tastiness of the Wraps will allow customers
to come back for more.
2.2. External Factor Analysis
Porter’s Analysis

Potential
Competitors

Suppliers Industry Target market

Threat of
Subsitutes

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Porter’s Analysis of the Fast Food Industry in USC - Main

Restaurants and
Eateries near the
campus, but not
in it

Tortilla Bread Supplier, The Fast


Vegetable Supplier, Busy passersby and the
Grocery Markets, Food health conscious market
Packaging Supplier
Industry

Restaurants,
Eateries inside the
campus

Wraps is under the fast food industry because its goal is to serve quick meals to
hurrying customers. It is also under the health conscious sector of the food industry
because Wraps is positioned to provide a healthy option.
Wraps has four suppliers, the tortilla bread supplier, the vegetables supplier, the
grocery stores and the packaging supplier. For the tortilla bread, Wraps has found a
supplier who is willing to partner up and provide a constant supply of tortilla bread for
a wholesale price. The vegetables supplier will either be a personal wholesaler
connection of one of the management team, or from a grocery store. The grocery store
will provide the cheese, the spices and the sauce ingredients. Lastly, the packaging
supplier will provide in quantity the in shorter intervals of time.

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The direct competitors of Wraps are Leylam’s Shawarma, Coolers and Burp. The
three direct competitors were chosen because they have similar products to Wraps.
Leylam’s Shawarma, also the main competitor, has been chosen because it is the closest
to the Grilled Chicken Wrap product. Coolers and Burp have been chosen because they
offer classy beverages that are similar to the Flush that Wraps offers.
The indirect competitors of Wraps are the restaurants that are dissimilar to the
products of Wraps, but offer substitute products, and still are located within the
campus. And the potential competitors of Wraps are the restaurants that are different
from the products that Wraps offers, but still offer substitute products and are located
nearby, outside the campus. This is because these may still be able to take some of the
market share that Wraps is trying to collect for its market equity.
The threats of substitution are the restaurants and eateries that are located
outside the downtown campus. They are those who are near enough to serve to the
market of the University of San Carlos. Because they are near enough to tap our target
market, they become a threat of substitute.
The target market of Wraps is the busy passersby and the health conscious
market. Although the scope of the target is the entire Cebu, the team will initially start-
up the business in Kolk’s Nook of the University of San Carlos, Downtown Campus. It
will be located at the ground floor which is the immediate pathway for students to cross
from the main buildings to the law building. This way, the passersby who are in a hurry
to get to class can conveniently grab a quick meal and be on their way. As for the health
conscious segment of the market, the downtown campus is a perfect place to plot a
healthy option because inside and outside the campus, there are no healthy foods sold
nearby.

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2.3. Competitor's Analysis
2.3.1. Existing Competitors (Direct and Indirect)
Direct Competitors - Competitors who are in the USC Downtown campus
and have similar products.

Leylam Shawarma Burp! Burger Bites

Size Three employees Three employees Two student employees

Monthly Sales Php 65,000 Php 85,000 Unavailable

Fast food stall offering


middle-eastern snacks and Fast food stall offering Fast food stall offering
Type of Business rice meals burgers and fries specialty burgers
Kolk's Nook, University
Kolk's Nook, University of Kolk's Nook, University of of San Carlos, Main
Location San Carlos, Main Campus San Carlos, Main Campus Campus

Students who need a Students who need a Students who need a


Target Market cheap, quick meal cheap, quick meal cheap, quick meal

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Indirect Competitors - competitors who are in the USC Downtown
campus and sell substitute products.
Steyler Catholic Trade USC Kafe

Size Two employees Three employees Seven employees

Monthly Sales Unavailable Unavailable Unavailable

A convenience store
A small convenience store which offers food,
which offers food, beverages, school A University cafe which
beverages and school supplies, and University offers food and
Type of Business supplies of San Carlos products beverages

University of San Carlos, University of San Carlos, University of San Carlos,


Location Main Campus Main Campus Main campus
People who wants to eat
People wanting to have a in a fancy restaurant
People wanting to have a quick bite or for a place inside the school with
Target Market quick bite to sit down airconditioning

2.3.2. Potential Competitors - competitors who are not in the USC Downtown
campus but sell nearby and sell substitute products.

Siomai sa Tisa Fidel’s Chicken


1 Cashier, 1 Cook, 1
Size 1 Cashier, 3 workers worker
200,000-220,000 gross 240,000-300,000 gross
Monthly Sales sales sales

Type of Business Fast Food Fast Food


Across the University of
Location San Carlos Junquera Street
Students, Lower-Middle Students, Lower-Middle
Target Market Class Class

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CHAPTER 3
MARKETING PLAN

3.1. Marketing Strategies and Programs


3.1.1. Market Segmentation Strategies
The Psychographic Segmentation Strategy was chosen because it mainly
classifies each segment according to their personality and lifestyle. The
classifications below define “working class” as both students, professionals and
businessmen who are busy and wish to have a quick meal; while “non-working
class” is defined as the segment of the market that are pressured by time when
taking their meals.
1. Health conscious working class
2. Not health conscious working class
3. Health conscious non-working class
4. Not health conscious non-working class
Also, a demographic Segmentation Strategy will be used to classify each
segment according to their buying power.
1. High Class
2. Upper Class
3. Middle Class
4. Lower Class
5. Low Class

3.1.2. Target Market


1. Health conscious working Class because these are those who can find healthful
foods in quick getaways.
2. Not health conscious working class because these are those who can find
delicious fast foods in their tight schedule.
3. Health conscious non-working class because these are those who take our
healthy option and Flush down their time.
4, The Lower class who are willing to save to eat quality healthful meals.

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5. The Middle class who casually dine into the only healthy option around.
6. The Upper class who choose to take the healthy Wraps experience.
3.1.3. Positioning Strategies
The team wants to be highly available, convenient and affordable, but most of all,
the fastest food in town. Available and convenient in the sense of time and place; that
Wraps is located along the route on where the busy bodies are when they need a quick
meal.

3.2. Marketing Mix Decisions


The Wraps experience is simply the combination of healthful tasty wraps to
satisfy the tongue, fulfilling rice meals to fill the belly and sweet refreshing drinks to
flush down the meal, all wrapped up in a handy non-mess package provided
conveniently where our customers pass by.

3.2.1. Product
 Different kinds of Wraps:
 Specialty: Grilled Chicken (Healthy)
 Different kinds of Rice Meals:
 Grilled Chicken
 Our drinks will be called “Flushes”:
 Flushes
 Four Seasons Flush
 Iced Tea Flush
 Bottled Water

3.2.2. Pricing Program


Competitive pricing strategy will be utilized to mark our price. Because Wraps is
a new entrant, it cannot depend much from the market until the market has found a
connection to the brand worthy of their money. Because the team wants to keep a high
regard for the product, the team has decided that a price higher than its main

22
competitor is best. The team is quite confident that the taste and the size of the product
are worth more than 10 pesos in comparison to the main competitor’s product.
With a cost of 30 pesos per wrap, the team will price it at 60 pesos per wrap.
This is mainly because the team wishes to attain at least 100% mark-up and because
the team believes how the size and image of the brand is greater than that of its main
competitor whose product is priced from 50-60 pesos.
3.2.3. Distribution Channel
The initial distribution channel will be located on the ground floor of Kolk’s
Nook in the University of San Carlos, Main Campus. The site was chosen mainly because
it is the passage way of students who are going to and fro the main buildings and the
law building. As they walk on by, they will be enticed by the convenience of grabbing a
quick one-hand meal. It has also been chosen because the management are all students
of the said campus and will be more convenient for them to keep a closer eye on their
new venture and their employee’s performance.
The ground floor was also chosen because the as the management weighed the
two alternatives, the team decided that Wraps ought to be positioned as a “walk-
through” or take out meal. Because placing it on the ground floor saved five thousand
pesos every month and properly positioned the brand image, it was voted by the
majority.
The rental of the place will be renewed monthly, as such, the team has decided to
rent only 10 months a year and avoid the months of April and May because during those
two months, very few of the students will go to the university, therefore, the sales will
dramatically drop. To avoid this
3.2.4. Advertising and Promotions
Word of mouth truly is the best way to go. When it comes to the food industry, it
is friends and acquaintances that make the advertisement. Because of this and because
of the fact that the target market is a segment where the management belong, the team
has decided to primarily rely on word of mouth. However, aside from this, online
marketing will be done through social networks such as Facebook, Twitter and
Instagram, as a way to inform. Posters will also be made to entice the foot traffic.

23
Posters and flyers will be created as the marketing collaterals of Wraps. These
will be passed on, posted and spread throughout the campus and might be in some of
the Carolinian magazines. The team has connections with the TEC and the JPIA editors
and may be able to negotiate for a slot in the respective publications.
Marketing collaterals in the form of promotions and loyalty cards will also be
done as Wraps stabilizes itself and finds its place in the society and in the mind set of
the market.

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3.3. Sales Forecasts
Month Forecasted Working Unit Selling Peso Sales/
Sales Days Price Month
June, 2013 60pcs/day 15 days Php 99 Php 54,000
July, 2013 50pcs/ day 23 days 99 69,000
August, 2013 70pcs/day 22 days 99 92,400
September,2013 50pcs/day 21 days 99 52,500
October, 2013 60pcs/day 11 days 99 39,600
November, 2013 50pcs/day 20 days 99 60,000
December, 2013 65pcs/day 15 days 99 58,500
January, 2014 60pcs/day 20 days 99 72,000
February, 2014 50pcs/day 20 days 99 60,000
March, 2014 50pcs/day 21 days 60 63,000

Sales for the month of June is optimistically estimated to be 60 units per day as it
is newly introduced to the market, the team believes that people would be eager to try
the product. For the following months, demand is projected seasonally and assumed to
be the same everyday for the entire month. Projected demand changes every month as
it is done seasonally, calculated using the activities happening during the month. Say
during August, demand is expected to rise as intramurals is held during that month.
After the month that demand rises, the team assumes that the demand will fall during
the following month; this is due to the theory of "Marginal Satisfaction". The projected
sales/ month in units is calculated using the assumed demand per day multiplied by the
number of working days in each month. The Projected sales/ month in pesos is
calculated using Projected sales in units multiplied by selling price/unit.

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CHAPTER 4

OPERATIONS MANAGEMENT PLAN

4.1. Overview of Proposed Supply Chain Management

Suppliers Kitchen Stall Consumers

Wraps will get its supplies and raw materials from direct suppliers in the city
proper. Suppliers had been chosen carefully to ensure competitiveness of price. Purchasing
will be done once a week and raw materials will stored in appropriate temperature to
ensure freshness of products. A Multicab or L-300 panoramic van will be used to transport
the raw materials from the supplier straight to the stall and is to be stored inside the fridge.
Inventory will be regularly monitored to ensure proper upkeep of supply.
4.2. Production Forecast / Schedule / Budget
4.2.1. Sales Projection
Month Forecasted Working Units Unit Selling Peso Sales/
Sales Days Price Month
June, 2013 60pcs/day 15 days 900 Php 60 Php 54,000
July, 2013 50pcs/ day 23 days 1,150 60 69,000
August, 2013 70pcs/day 22 days 1,540 60 92,400
September,2013 50pcs/day 21 days 1,050 60 52,500
October, 2013 60pcs/day 11 days 660 60 39,600
November, 2013 50pcs/day 20 days 1,000 60 60,000
December, 2013 65pcs/day 15 days 975 60 58,500

26
January, 2014 60pcs/day 20 days 1,200 60 72,000
February, 2014 50pcs/day 20 days 1,000 60 60,000
March, 2014 50pcs/day 21 days 1,050 60 63,000

Sales for the month of June is optimistically estimated to be 60 units per day as it is
newly introduced to the market, the team believes that people would be eager to try the
product. For the following months, demand is projected seasonally and assumed to be the
same everyday for the entire month. Projected demand changes every month as it is done
seasonally, calculated using the activities happening during the month. Say during August,
demand is expected to rise as intramurals is held during that month. After the month that
demand rises, the team assumes that the demand will fall during the following month; this
is due to the theory of "Marginal Satisfaction". The projected sales/ month in units is
calculated using the assumed demand per day multiplied by the number of working days in
each month. The Projected sales/ month in pesos is calculated using Projected sales in
units multiplied by selling price/unit.

27
4.2.2. Production Forecast
Productions safety margin shall be 10% of projected sales.
Month Forecasted Working Units Unit Cost Peso Costs/
production Days Price Month
June, 2013 66pcs/day 15 days 990 Php 30 Php 29,700
July, 2013 55pcs/ day 23 days 1,265 30 37,950
August, 2013 77pcs/day 22 days 1,694 30 50,820
September,2013 55pcs/day 21 days 1,155 30 30,650
October, 2013 66pcs/day 11 days 726 30 21,780
November, 2013 55pcs/day 20 days 1,100 30 33,000
December, 2013 72pcs/day 15 days 1,080 30 32,400
January, 2014 66pcs/day 20 days 1,320 30 39,600
February, 2014 55pcs/day 20 days 1,100 30 33,000
March, 2014 55pcs/day 21 days 1,155 30 30,650

28
4.2.3. Production Capacity (aggregate plan)
Since everything is prepared for during preparation phase
Number of Wraps made at max capacity Time
1 1.5 minutes
60 90 minutes
260 6.5 hours / day

*Note: Since everything is prepared for during preparation phase, it only takes
approximately 1.5 minutes to have the wrap ready for the customer to have his meal. The
team believes that because of class schedules, the peak times of everyday will be at the
ends of class times. Such as 9:00am-9:15am, 10:30am-10:45am, 12:00pm- 12:15pm,
1:30pm- 1:45pm, 3:00pm-3:15pm. Having a total of 75 minutes of peak hour each day
divided by the approximate time to prepare each wrap, which is 1.5 minutes, we get 50
wraps/day.

29
4.3. Supply Network
4.3.1. Bill of Materials
Bill of Materials is based on our Production Forecast. Raw Materials will be
replenished on a weekly basis. Inventory stored in the fridge should be good for a little
over a week of Production Forecast. Given that Production forecast states 77/day x 5
days/week =385 Wraps/ week, Bill of Materials will be 80/day x 5 days/week= 400
Wraps/ week.
Below is a more detailed schedule on our Bill of Materials at the beginning of the
week given that Production Forecast states 77 Wraps/ day.

Level Description Unit Quantity


1 Grilled Chicken Wrap pcs. 400
2 Tortilla Bread pcs. 400
2 Chicken kg. 20
3 Secret Spices kg. 3.5
2 Cabbage kg. 6.4
2 Cucumber kg. 5.2
2 Tomatoes kg. 6
2 Cheese kg. 2.59
2 Sauce L. 20
2 Mango kg. 8

The levels represent the components involved in the products/raw material it


produces. Level 2 products are components of their corresponding level 1 product; level 3
products are components of their corresponding level 2 product, etc.

4.3.2. Raw Materials and Supplies Requirement


Raw Materials:
Tortilla Bread
Chicken

30
Secret Spices
Cabbage
Cucumber
Tomatoes
Cheese
Mango
Sauce

Supplies:
Plastic Gloves

4.3.3. Transportation Requirement


As much as possible, since purchasing is done just once a week, the team has decided to just
rent a vehicle from one of their members. The vehicle to be used can either be a Multicab or
an L-300 panoramic van. Rent of vehicle and gasoline expense will be paid at Php 280/day.

4.3.4. Location Strategy


Experimentation Phase - University of San Carlos, Main Campus
Maturity Phase - Ayala Center Cebu / SM City Cebu

4.4. Internal Supply Chain

31
4.4.1. Process Flow

Purchaser Cook Sales

Cooks
ingredients
Prepares
ingredients to be
pre-cooked
Prepares
Purchases products
ingredients
Distributes
Pre-cooks
products to final
ingredients
consumers

4.4.2. Layout Design

32
4.4.3. Machineries and Equipment Requirement

33
Griller
Slow cooker
Kitchen Tongs
Peeler
Kitchen Knife
Chopping Boards
Strainer
Marinating Bowl
Fridge
Weighing scale
Flush Machine
4.4.4. Manpower and Skills Requirement
Must be able to cook, work under pressure, treat customers, and be accountable for
their actions.
4.4.5. Inventory Management

Inventory will be monitored in a daily basis, but purchases will be once a week to
ensure freshness. The majority of the Raw materials will be purchased from a direct
supplier in Carbon, the tortilla bread will be purchased directly from a bread manufacturer.
Purchasing will be done on a Sunday and will be directly delivered to the stall and to be
stored and kept fresh inside the fridge. During preparation phase of working days, only a
certain amount will be taken off the inventory, only what is needed during the day, the rest
is kept fresh inside the fridge. In the end of the day, inventory will be checked during
closing phase.

34
4.4.5.1. Raw Materials

Tortilla Bread

Chicken

Secret Spices

Cabbage

35
Cucumber

Tomatoes

36
Cheese

Mango

Sauce

37
4.4.5.2. Work in Process
Working hours will be from 8:00am – 4:00pm and store hours will be from 9:00
am- 3:30 pm from Monday to Friday. Every day, there will be 4 different shifts, which will
mean that there will be 2 members working together each shift. The First shift is from
8:000am - 10:00am, the people assigned in this shift is to prepare everything needed
during the day: the cutting of vegetables, Seasoning and grilling of the chicken, mixing of
the sauce, and etc. The second shift is from 10:00am- 12:00pm, the people assigned in this
shift are literally going to sell to costumers. The third shift is from 12:00pm- 2:00pm, the
people assigned in this shift are literally going to continue the work of the 2nd shifts. The
last shift or closing shift is from 2:00pm-4:00pm, the people assigned to this shift are to
continue the work of the 3rd shift and also responsible to keep the unused ingredients.
To sum it all up, for the preparation phase, first thing in the morning in clean up stage, 2nd
is taking the chicken and other vegetables out of the fridge to defrost, 3rd is to season the
chicken in the same time to cut the vegetables, 4th is to grille the chicken, and lastly, to
store all the food in its appropriate containers. When ready by 9:00am, store then opens to
serve its customers. Known as the selling phase, first, the tortilla wrap is heated on the
grille then cabbage strips are placed inside, followed by the cucumber strips, followed by
the tomato strips, followed by mango, followed by the chicken, followed by the sauce,
followed by the cheese, and lastly it is to be wrapped up nicely in thin hygienic wrapping
paper and then served to customer while hot. Serving time is approximately 1.5 minutes.

4.4.5.3. Pipeline Inventory


The team finds no bottle-neck to the operations except for the shelf life of products
and the employee’s efficiency.
4.4.5.4. Finished Goods
Finished goods are considered to be the "Wraps" that are handed out to final
consumers. Goods will not be considered final if not placed inside a wrap.
4.4.6. Waste Management
Proper Segregation and Disposal accordingly under the rules of Kolk’s Nook will be
observed according to the rules of the University of San Carlos.

38
4.5 Distribution System
4.5.1. Transportation / Delivery Requirements
Multicab/ L-300 Panoramic van - payment for the gas and rent only.
4.6. Project Management
As a company which offers food, health and sanitary precautions are requisites.
Employees are to wear plastic gloves. Anti-bacterial soap will be used for the hands to
make sure food won’t become contaminated once there is physical contact. The stall and
the utensils will be cleaned from time to time. Upon physical contact with money,
employees must wash their hands.
Employees are also required to be honest and maintain efficiency to ensure
customer satisfaction. Employees need to greet the customers as they order and say thank
you as they finish the transaction and give the drink. They must be patient with the
customers and must carry a pleasing personality at all times.
With regards of the raw materials, the company shall also make sure that the
deliveries of the raw materials will be exact to ensure correct inventory as well as checking
the expiry dates.

39
CHAPTER 5
ORGANIZATION AND MANAGEMENT PLAN

5.1. Type of Ownership


Wraps is a company of eight entrepreneurs who authorize to act as a single entity
and is recognized as such in legalities and will be under the name of the General Manager of
Wraps. Within the bounds of Cebu City, Philippines’ law, the business will be under the
property of Irvin Edu Valenzuela as he was the one chosen by the entrepreneurial team to
take the face of the company.

Although the company will be registered as a sole proprietorship, all eight


entrepreneurs have equal voice to make decisions and to channel the flow of command to
the employees. Each of the entrepreneurs will also have equal rights to create the face of
the company.

Memorandum of Agreement

This serves as the official memorandum of agreement to whomever it may concern


that Irvin Edu Valenzuela as the sole proprietor, has agreed with all the other
entrepreneurial team members that although the company is under his name, the company
is owned by the entire team as a whole, each having equal power and right over the
business. Herewith are the signatures of each of the entrepreneurial team members.

Valenzuela, Irvin Edu Genosa, John David Españ ol, Rafael Dave

Go, Jed Earl Tan, John Davidson Tiu, Elijah Ross

Lim, Lambert Lamthai Cuevas, Earl Justice

40
5.2. Organizational Structure
Our organizational structure is similar to that of a pyramid’s structure. It will show
who is in charge of each department and of each managerial task. It will also show the
chain of command from which the individual works of each of the managerial tasks shall be
submitted to as a whole. On the top of the structure is Irvin Edu Valenzuela, the General
Manager of the company. Directly below him is the four identified departments, Marketing,
Operations, Human Resource Management and along with the managers of each. Each of
the managers from the different departments has their respective assistants who will assist
them in the department’s management and to act as check-up method. The Finance
Manager, however, does not have any assistant since there is a lack of members in the
group to fill up as his assistant.
Each of the managers was designated to their respective roles accordingly to their
experiences and knowledge and skill. The management team will consist of Irvin Edu
Valenzuela as the General Manager, Elijah Ross Tiu as the Marketing Manager, Earl Justice
Cuevas as the Assistant Marketing Manager, Jed Earl Go as Operations Manager, Rafael
Dave Españ ol as the Productions Supervisor, John Davidson Tan as the Human Resource
Manager, John David Genosa as the Assistant HR Manager, and Lambert Lamthai Lim as the
Finance Manager.

41
WRAPS

Organizational Chart

General Manager

Irvin Edu Valenzuela

Irvin2edu@yahoo.com

Marketing Operations Management/HR Finance

Department Department Department Department

Marketing Manager Operations Manager HR Manager Finance Manager

Elijah Ross Tiu Jed Earl Go John Davidson Tan Lambert Lim

hajiletiu@gmail.com jedearlgo_1264@yahoo tan_john07@yahoo.co hilltothesouth@yahoo.


.com m com
09336587497
09227953150 09238640174 09228207165

Assistant Marketing Production Supervisor Assistant HR Manager


Manager
Rafael Dave Español John David Genosa
Earl Justice Cuevas
rafaeldave23@yahoo.c john_genosa04@yahoo
earlcueavas@yahoo.co om .com
m
09334298263 09228552469
09228371977

42
5.3. Functions and Responsibilities
I. General Manager – The GM is the one responsible for overseeing all other
aspects of management.
1. Functions
 To communicate with lower managers what top management has decided upon.
 To bring together the ideas of top management.

2. Responsibilities
 To oversee administrative activities.
 To lead and direct employees.

II. Finance Manager – The FM is the one to make sure that finances are efficiently
used.
1. Functions
 To understand and evaluate financial performance of the company.
 To manage the funds in such a way to ensure their optimum utilization with the
available resources.

2. Responsibility
 To make the financial statements.
 To handle the company’s finances.

III. Marketing Manager – The MM is the one handling all marketing duties.
1. Functions
 To conduct market research.
 To develop a marketing strategy.
 To identify new business opportunities.

2. Responsibilities
 To handle market surveys and research results.
 To seek out opportunistic events.

IV. Assistant Marketing Manager – The AMM is the one to assist the MM.
1. Functions
 To assist the marketing manager.

2. Responsibilities
 To help in market research.
43
V. Human Resources Manager – The HRM is the one to handle all aspects of
human resources.
1. Functions
 To handle group concerns.
 To play as peace keeper.

2. Responsibilities
 To help in improving sales packages.
 To oversee department functions.

VI. Assistant Human Resources Manager - The AHRM is the one to assist the HRM.
1. Functions
 To assist the HRM.
2. Responsibilities
 To help in improving sales packages.
 To oversee department functions.

VII. Operations Manager – The OM is the one to manage all production processes.
1. Functions
 To improve the efficiency of operations.
 To improve control of service levels and quality.

2. Responsibilities
 To develop processes of planning, designing and operating production systems
and sub-systems.

VIII. Production Supervisor – The PS is the one to oversee all production.


1. Functions
 To oversee production first-hand.
 To instruct how production is to be done.

2. Responsibilities
 To oversee the production process.
 To analyze inventory levels and supply needs.

44
5.4. Compensation and Benefits
Salary and Wages

Salaries and wages for the General Manager and his 7 employee-managers
will be at Php 40 per hour.

Benefits

SSS - Wraps are given SSS benefits which cover sick pay (for sick leaves used
up), maternity pay, retirement pay, death and funeral. Employees pay half of the
monthly contributions based on the range of salary and the other half is covered
by the company as stated in the Philippine Labour Law.

For Wraps, its total contribution includes the employers and employees
share, summing up to P320 per month.

The compensation for the employer and each employee is P1280 and its
monthly salary credit is 1500. Thus, the employer and the employee would be
paying 10.4% on a monthly basis.

Employer Employee
Compensation Social Security
ER (7.07%) EE (3.33%) Total Contribution
Php 1280.00 Php106.00 Php50.00 Php156.00

The next page shows the table or range of compensation and its corresponding
contribution and the requirements for registering.

* See attached table in the Appendices Section.

PHILHEALTH - Medical assistance provided by PhilHealth can help the wrap employees.
0% of the monthly contribution is paid by the employees and the other half is paid by the
employer.

* See attached form in the Appendices Section.

PAG-IBIG - wrap employees can avail the PAG - IBIG benefits as mandated. Both the
employee and the employer will have an equal share of contribution.

Pag-IBIG Fund guarantees the refund of member's total accumulated


savings (TAV), which consists of the member's accumulated contributions, the employer
counterpart contributions, if any, and the dividend earnings credited to the member's
account upon occurrence of any of the following grounds for withdrawal:
1. Membership maturity. The member must have remitted at least 240 monthly
45
membership contributions with the Fund. For Pag-IBIG Overseas Program (POP)
members, membership with the Fund shall be at the end of five (5), ten (10), fifteen
(15), or twenty (20) years depending on the option of the member upon
membership registration.
2. Retirement. The member shall be compulsorily retired upon reaching age 65. He
may however, opt to retire upon the occurrence of any of the following:
 Actual retirement from the SSS, the GSIS or a separate employer
provident/retirement plan, provided the member has at least reached age
45.
 Upon reaching age 60.
3. Permanent and Total Disability or Insanity. The following disabilities shall be
deemed total and permanent:
 Temporary total disability lasting continuously for more than 120 days;
 Complete loss of sight of both eyes;
 Loss of two limbs at or over the ankle or wrist;
 Permanent complete paralysis of two limbs;
 Brain injury resulting in incurable imbecility or insanity; and
 Such other cases which are adjudged to be total and permanent disability by
a duly licensed physician and approved by the Board of Trustees.
4. Separation from the service due to health reason
5. Permanent departure from the country
6. Death. In case of death, the Fund benefits shall be divided among the member's legal
heirs in accordance with the New Civil Code as amended by the New Family Code.

Monthly Compensation Percentage of Monthly Compensation


Employee Share Employer Share
Php1,500.00 and below 1% 2%
Over Php1,500.00 2% 2%
For Wraps

Monthly Compensation Contribution


Employer Php 1,280.00 Php25.60
Employee Php1,280.00 Php25.60

5.5. Organizational Policies


The organizational policies of wraps is located in the appendices section of the
business plan

5.6. Legal Requirements

46
These are the requirements or documents required in order to be able to
operate a business. Wraps have applied for the following so as to gain operational status.

A. Mayor’s Business Permit


All businesses must have the necessary permits to operate. For a
Mayor’s permit, business shall pay regulatory fees based on the nature of the
business and its capitalization. The following procedures must be followed

REQUIREMENTS:

 Duly filled-up and notarized application form with sketch at the back of the form
(must be signed by the owner if single proprietor and by the authorized
representative if Corporation/Partnership/Cooperative)
 Photocopy of one valid ID of the signatory
 Personal proof of billing of owner (if single proprietor)
 Picture of the business location that includes the nearby establishments
 For Single Proprietor – Certificate of registration from the Department of Trade and
Industry (DTI)

Fees to be paid upon acquiring a business permit are the following

 Business Taxes – 0.0005 x Capital Investment


 Permit Fee – 0.002 x Capital Investment
 City Health Inspection Fee – Based on Capital Investment (max. Php
200.00)
 Zoning Fee – Based on Capital Investment (max. Php 550.00)
 Food and Drug Fee (in case the business is food related) – Based on
Capital Investment (max Php 150.00)
 Fire Department Fee - 10% of total regulatory Fees

47
 Garbage Fee – Based on the Nature and Area of the business (ordinance #
2018: Omnibus Tax Code – Imposition of Garbage Fee)
 Community Tax Certificate – Php 80.00 (2% interest per month for late
cedulas for single proprietorship)
 Corporate Cedula – Php 500.00 (Basic only)

*sample copy of Mayor’s business permit is found in the Appendices Section.

B. Barangay Clearance

1. Get a Cedula / Residence Certificate from the Cebu City Hall.


2. Apply for a Barangay Clearance in the Barangay. This costs Php 25.00
per clearance.
*sample copy is found in the Appendices Section.

C. DTI for business name registration

This is basically the first to do when starting a business. You have to


register the name of the business before it officially operates.

REQUIREMENTS:

 Filled out application form


 Any valid ID
 Registration fees for business name registration depending on the
territorial jurisdiction covered in the application:

Barangay: PHP 200.00

48
City/Municipality PHP 500.00

Regional PHP 1,000.00

National PHP 2,000.00

Once the business concept has been approved, that is when the group will have “wraps”
officially registered regionally.

*sample copy is found in the Appendices Section.

D. Application for Taxpayers’s Identification Number (BIR)

Its purpose is to monitor the legality of the business’ operation with regards
to the laws and regulation of the state or country. There are two stages upon
registration:

INITIAL STAGE

 Application and the issuance of the Taxpayer Identification Number


(TIN)

SECOND STAGE

49
 Subsequent registration of the employment, business, profession,
and/or undertaking which the person, natural or juridical, intends to
pursue on account of which the entity is expected to regularly file
tax returns, pay taxes and fees prescribed for by the Code, as
amended.

TIN or taxpayer Identification Number

Pertain to the reference index number issued and assigned by the BIR to each and
every person registered in its database

 Non – transferable

 In case of natural persons, stays with the taxpayer regardless of the


cessation and cancellation of business registration with the BIR

 Only one (1) TIN shall be assigned to the taxpayer. Multiple TIN
acquisition shall be subject to penalty of P1,000 for each TIN in excess
of one

50
Who are required to have a TIN?

 Every person subject to any national internal revenue tax

 Withholding Agents

 Any person required to make, render or file a return, statement or


document where TIN is required to be indicated therein

 Any person required to secure TIN by reason of EO No 98

Persons/Entities required to proceed to the second stage of primary registraion:

 Employees

 Self-employeed individuals, professionals, Estates and Trusts, and


their Branches or facilities, if any.

 Corporations, Partnerships, Cooperatives, Associations, (whether


taxable or non-taxabl) and their branches and facilities, if any

 GAIs, GOCCs, LGUs, and their branches and facilities

Therefore, Wraps is entitled to proceed to the second stage

Components of the second stage if the primary registration

 Payment of registration fee

 Secure Certificate of Registration (COR)

 Get “Ask for Receipt” Notice, if applicable

51
 Attend the Taxpayer’s initial briefing to be conducted by the BIR for
new registrants in order to apprise the taxpayers of their rights and
duties/responsibilities

Where to Register?

Same RDO where one applied for TIN

After which, have a COR (certificate of registration)

Also, Books of Accounts must be secured by the business.

Always Remember to issue receipts and invoices to avoid penalties. Failure


refusal to issue receipts/invoices upon conviction of each act or omission, be punished by a
fine of not less than P1000.00 but not more than P50,000.00

REUIREMENTS:

 BIR Form 1901 (Application Form)

 BIR Form 0605 (Payment of Registration Fee)

 Notarized Photocopy of the DTI Certificate of Registration of


Business Name

 Authenticated Photocopy of the Mayor’s Permit/PTR issued by LGU

 Authenticated Photocopy of the Birth certificate, Marriage Contract


(if applicable)

 Sketch design of Business Address

 Photocopy of the Leased Contract, If Applicable

The next page shows the BIR form 1901 (Application Form)

52
Table for Business Registration and Legal Requirement Expense

ITEMS COST
Mayor’s Business Permit Php 4,000.00

Barangay Clearance Php 400.00

DTI Php 1000

BIR Php 550.00

Other possible expenses or allowance Php 1050.00

Total Php 7,000.00

*sample copy is found in the Appendices Section.

53
CHAPTER 6
FINANCIAL PLAN

6.1. Financial Objectives and Targets


The goal of this financial plan is to prepare the business entity WRAPS for all possible
contingencies and unexpected costs. This financial plan is to prevent the naivety of
entrepreneurs and investors who are ignorant to the possible risks and costs of conducting
a business venture. This financial plan is meant to inform and prepare its users for future
possibilities.
6.1.1. Total Project Cost
The total project cost will consist of the total capital expenditure to start up the business,
one month’s rental, one month’s salaries and wages, and 3 months’ cost of sales at
projected values.
6.1.2. Capital Structure / Sources of Financing
A total project cost of Php 260,907 is required for the operation of the company. The total
amount will be divided by each member having an equal capital share of Php 32,613.38.
6.1.3. Investment Returns and Risks
The likely returns are significant profits, possibly up to a few thousand pesos per month at
the best of scenarios. Risks are also significant, but not nearly as large as the returns if the
project succeeds.
6.1.4. Profitability Levels
Costs are expected to be low while profits are expected to be on the medium level. If
projected sales volumes or higher are reached, profits are expected to be significant.
6.1.5. Cash Flows
An indirect method of cash flow representation will be used. All business transactions will
be in cash and no accounts receivables or accounts payables shall be placed. All capital will
be derived from the investments of the sole proprietor and his partner-managers and no
liabilities shall be incurred.

54
6.1.6. Survival Expectations
The business venture is limited only by its ability to sell. It can be expected that there are
very few external threats to the venture as it is within the safe vicinity of the school campus
of the University of San Carlos – Main and its main competitors are the amicable food stalls
of Kolk’s Nook and fellow student enterprises.
6.1.7. Sustainability Expectations
Operations are well easily sustainable as all transactions will be in cash and final
consumers will be dealt with directly. The product is nothing new on the surface but is
actually something new and innovative. If the product is marketed well and the market
knows well about the product, it can be expected that sustainability and even success will
be within reach.
6.2. Statement of Assumptions
6.2.1. Income Statement
6.2.1.1. Pricing and Costing Method Used
Prices are cost-based. It costs approximately Php 30.26 to make a Wrap. The team decided
to price the Wrap at Php 60, a 98.28% mark-up, which is almost a 100% mark-up.
6.2.1.2. Volume Trends
The team thinks their promotional methods and the unveiling of a new student enterprise
will cause sales on June to be about 60 units per day. During normal, non-special days (i.e.
Intramurals, SBE Week, SYBEE Days), the team expects sales of the Wrap to stabilize to
about 50-60 units per day.
6.2.1.3. Production Costs / Service Costs (June 2013)
Rent Expense Php 3,000
Utilities Expense 6,900
Salaries Expense 9,600
Transportation Expense 1,120
Cost of Goods Sold 27,234
Total Production Cost per month Php 47,854

6.2.1.4. Operating Costs (June 2013)

55
Rent Expense Php 3,000
Utilities Expense 6,900
Salaries Expense 9,600
Transportation Expense 1,120
Supplies Expense 75
Office Supplies Expense 30
Total Operating Cost per month Php 20,725

6.2.1.5. Financing Costs


No external financing shall be engaged. All finances shall come directly from sole proprietor
and partner-managers.
6.2.1.6. Tax Assumption
Not applicable for first year of operations.
6.2.2. Balance Sheet
6.2.2.1. Accounts Receivable and Cash Collection Policies
All income transactions shall be immediate cash collection transactions. There will be no
sales on account. All sales will be in cash.
6.2.2.2. Inventories
Inventories shall be replenished every week. The following table shows the minimum
amount of inventory required at the beginning of the week to make 50 Wraps per day for
one week.
Tortilla bread Php 3,000
Chicken breast fillet 1,688
White cabbage 198
Cucumber 168
Tomato 73
Mango 300
Spices 745
Wrap Packaging 275
Sauce 1,120
Plastic gloves 25

56
Total Inventories Php 7,592

6.2.2.3. Prepaid Expenses


All expenses shall be paid on or slightly before their due dates when payment is
immediately necessary.
6.2.2.4. Other Current Assets
2 Grills (Php 1,890 each) Php 3,780
Slow cooker 1,050
Tongs 200
Spatula 200
Refrigerator 55,000
Flush dispenser 3,000
Weighing scale 580
Stall Frame 12,000
Tarps & signs 5,000
Tables 2,000
Chairs 500
Papers 50
Notebooks & Ledgers 50
Pens 20
Total Other Current Assets Php 83,430
6.2.2.5. Accounts Payable and Purchases Payments
All payments shall be made in cash. No liabilities shall be incurred.
6.2.2.6. Accrued Expenses (June 2013)
Rent Expense Php 3,000
Utilities Expense 6,900
Salaries Expense 9,600
Transportation Expense 1,120
Total Accrued Expenses per month Php 20,620

57
6.2.2.7. Other Current Liabilities
No external financing or payments on account shall be made. All transactions will be done
with cash from the sole proprietor and his partner-managers.
6.2.2.8. Borrowings and Payments
No external financing shall be used. All capital will come from invested capital of the sole
proprietor and his partner-managers.
6.2.2.9. Capitalization
A total capitalization of Php 260,907 will be required to start up the business.
6.2.2.10. Dividends / Drawings
Dividends shall be paid evenly amongst the sole proprietor and his partner-managers.
Drawing will be accessible to only the sole proprietor.

6.3. Total Project Cost


6.3.1. Components

58
Equipment Php 63,810
2 Grills (Php 1,890 each) Php 3,780
Slow cooker 1,050
Tongs 200
Spatula 200
Refrigerator 55,000
Flush Dispenser 3,000
Weighing Scale 580
Stall 19,500
Stall Frame 12,000
Tarps & signs 5,000
Tables 2,000
Chairs 500
Research & Development 6,585
Surveys & Taste Tests 2,030
Legal Requirements 7,000
Provision for Contingencies (20%) 19,785
Operating Capital 142,197
Advanced Rental Php 3,000
Advanced Salaries and Wages (1 month) 12,800
Advanced Utilities (1 month) 6,900
Cost of Goods Sold 119,497
Variable Cost per Unit Php 30.26
Projected Sales for June 990 units
Projected Sales for July 1,265 units
Projected Sales for August 1,694 units
Total Project Cost Php 260,907

6.3.2. Sources of Funds


Funds will come from the investments of the sole proprietor and his partner-managers.
6.4. Projected Financial Statements
6.5. Projected Income Statement (for June 2013)
Sales Php 59,400

59
Less: Cost of Goods Sold 29,957
Gross Profit Php 29,443
Less: Operating Expenses
Supplies Expense 100
Office Supplies Expense 30
Salaries and Wages 9,600
Rent Expense 3,000
Utilities Expense 6,900
Transportation Expense 1,120
Depreciation Expense 1,389
Loss due to wastage and spoilage 200
Less: Selling Expenses
Advertising Expense 200
Less: Other Expenses
Miscellaneous Expense 100
Net Income Php 6,804

6.6. Projected Cash Flow Statements (for June 2013)


Cash, Beginning Php 142,197
Cash provided (used) by operating activities 6,804
Cash provided (used) by investing activities 0
Cash provided (used) by financing activities 0
Cash, Ending Php 149,001

6.7. Projected Balance Sheet (end of June 2013)


ASSETS
Current Assets
Cash Php 149,001

60
Office Supplies 120
Inventories 7,592
Non-current Assets
Equipment 63,810
Less: Accumulated depreciation (1,064)
Furniture & fixtures 19,500
Less: Accumulated depreciation (325)
Total Assets Php 238,634
LIABILITIES & OWNER’S EQUITY
Valenzuela, Capital Php 231,830
Retained Earnings 6,804
Total Liabilities & Owner’s Equity Php 238,634

6.8. Set of Schedules and Charts


Time Persons Wage / hour
John David Genosa Php 40
8:00am - 10:00am
Elijah Ross Tiu Php 40
Jed Earl Go Php 40
10:00am - 12:00pm
Rafael Dave Españ ol Php 40
John Davidson Tan Php 40
12:00pm - 2:00pm
Earl Justice Cuevas Php 40
Lambert Lamthai Lim Php 40
2:00pm - 4:00pm
Irvin Edu Valenzuela Php 40

6.9. Financial Evaluation


6.9.1. Vertical Analysis
6.9.1.1. Financial Ratio Analysis
6.9.1.2. Liquidity Ratios

61
There will be no liabilities. The enterprise will incur no liabilities. All investments and
finances shall come from the sole proprietor and his partner-managers.
6.9.1.3. Cash Ratio
There will be no liabilities. The enterprise will incur no liabilities. All investments and
finances shall come from the sole proprietor and his partner-managers.
6.9.1.4. Acid-Test Ratio
There will be no liabilities. The enterprise will incur no liabilities. All investments and
finances shall come from the sole proprietor and his partner-managers.
6.9.1.5. Current Ratio
There will be no liabilities. The enterprise will incur no liabilities. All investments and
finances shall come from the sole proprietor and his partner-managers.
6.9.1.6. Collection Period
There will be no accounts receivable. All business transactions will be in cash.
6.9.1.7. Accounts Receivable Turnover
There will be no accounts receivable. All business transactions will be in cash.
6.9.1.8. Days Sales in Inventories
Number of Days in Period / Inventory Turnover = 15 / 3.95 = 3.8 days
6.9.1.9. Inventory Turnover
Cost of Goods Sold / Inventory = 29,957 / 7,592 = 3.95
6.9.1.10. Working Capital Turnover
Sales / Working Capital = 59,400 / 142,197 = 0.42
6.9.2. Earnings / Profitability Ratios
6.9.2.1. Gross Profit Ratio
Gross Profit / Sales Revenue = 29,443 / 59,400 = 0.5
6.9.2.2. Operating Margin Ratio
Net Income / Sales Revenue = 6,804 / 59,400 = 0.11
6.9.2.3. Return on Sales
6.9.2.4. Return on Assets / ROI
Net Income / Total Assets = 6,804 / 238,634 = 0.03
6.9.2.5. Return on Equity / Capital
Net Income / Average Owner’s Equity = 6,804 / 235,232 = 0.03

62
6.9.2.6. Return on Net Working Capital
Net Income / Working Capital = 6,804 / 142,197 = 0.05
6.9.2.7. Return on Fixed Assets
Net Income / Total Fixed Assets = 6,804 / 19,500 = 0.35
6.9.2.8. Stability Ratios
6.9.2.9. Debt-Equity Ratio
Total Liabilities / Total Owner’s Equity = 0 / 238,634 = 0.00
6.9.2.10. Times-Interest Earned Ratio
There will be no interest expense as there will be no liabilities.
6.9.2.11. ROE vs. ROA
6.9.3. Cost-Volume Profit Analysis
6.9.3.1. Variable Cost Component
Tortilla bread Php 12
Chicken breast fillet 6.75
White cabbage 0.79
Cucumber 0.67
Tomato 0.29
Mango 1.20
Spices 2.98
Wrap Packaging 1.10
Sauce 4.48
Variable Cost Php 30.26

6.9.3.2. Fixed Cost Component


Supplies Expense Php 100
Office Supplies Expense 30
Salaries and Wages 9,600
Rent Expense 3,000
Utilities Expense 6,900
Transportation Expense 1,120
Depreciation Expense 1,389

63
Loss due to wastage and spoilage 200
Advertising Expense 200
Miscellaneous Expense 100
Total Fixed Costs Php 22,639

Total Cost per Unit (at 50 units per day and 20 working days per month)
Variable Cost Php 30.26
Direct Labor (Php 12,800 / 1,000) 12.80
Utilities (Php 6,900 / 1,000) 6.90
Rent (Php 3,000 / 1,000) 3.00
Supplies Expense (Php 100 / 1,000) 0.10
Office Supplies Expense (Php 30 / 1,000) 0.03
Transportation Expense (Php 1,120 / 1,000) 1.12
Depreciation Expense (Php 1,389 / 1,000) 1.39
Loss due to wastage and spoilage (Php 200 / 1,000) 0.20
Advertising Expense (Php 200 / 1,000) 0.20
Miscellaneous Expense (Php 100 / 1,000) 0.10
Total Cost per Wrap Php 56.10

6.9.3.3. Breakeven Point Analysis


BEP (units) = Fixed Costs / Contribution Margin = 22,639 / 29.74 = 762 units
BEP (pesos) = BEP (units) x Selling Price = 762 x 60 = Php 45,720
6.9.4. Investment Returns Analysis
6.9.4.1. Payback Period
Initial Investment / Earnings per period = 260,907 / 6,804 = 38.35 periods
CHAPTER 7
CONCLUSIONS AND RECOMMENDATIONS

The team would like to conclude that the business venture is projected to be
profitable, but just as all projections are, they are merely bound by assumptions and

64
analyses. In the end, it is the properness of execution and the other contingency factors that
actually declare the final say.
Also, the team would like to mention how important it is for the business to be
living. It must circulate and continue its movements in order to survive. Most importantly,
it needs to grow. In that sense, there is a need for the team to trust in their efforts and in
what they plan. There is a need for the members to cooperate with one another so as to
avoid conflicts and to continue productions and operations. The team must continue
making marketing efforts as well as expansions in order to maximize profits. And when all
odds are against them, the team must know when to swallow their pride and decide
whether temporal shut down of operations or to sell the assets is best.

65
APPENDICES
Organizational Policies
1. All reports are to be screened by the General Manager.
2. Everyone is to report to the General Manager.
3. The General Manager has the final decision, but in the absence of the General
Manager, all decisions are to be handled by the HR manager with the consent of the
General Manager.
4. All files are to be kept and managed by the HR manager.
5. If one member fails to cover his shift, and another member covers for him, the one
who is absent is obliged to cover for the person who took over for him if he does not
have class.
6. Everyone must submit their work on time.
7. Everyone must attend the meetings set by the General Manager

Penalties
Failure to comply with any of the following policies results in the following penalties
1st Offense Oral warning
2nd Offense Written warning
3rd Offense Payment of P50 to the group fund
4th Offense Payment of P200 to the group fund
5th Offense Expulsion from the group

Legal Forms
 Social Security Services
 PhilHealth
 Pag-Ibig
 Mayor’s Permit
 Barangay Clearance
 Department of Trade and Industry
 Bureau of Internal Revenue

66
Schedule of Payments in a month
Day Expense Account Amount in Pesos
Monday Transportation Expense 280
Tuesday
Week 1 Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Monday Transportation Expense 280
Tuesday
Wednesday Rent Expense 3,000
Week 2
Utilities Expense 6,900
Thursday
Friday
Monday Transportation Expense 280
Tuesday
Week 3 Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Monday Transportation Expense 280
Supplies Expense 100
Office Supplies Expense 30
Week 4 Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday Salaries and Wages 12,800

67
The Management Team
Name Position Mobile Number Email Address
Irvin Edu Valenzuela General Manager 09325387507 irvin2edu@yahoo.com
Elijah Ross Tiu Marketing Manager 09336587497 jedearlgo_1264@yahoo.com
Earl Justice Cuevas Assistant Marketing 09228371977 earlcuevas@yahoo.com
Manager
Jed Earl Go Operations Manager 09227953150 hajiletiu@gmail.com
Rafael Dave Españ ol Production 09334298263 rafaeldave23@yahoo.com
Supervisor
John Davidson Tan Human Resource 09062220174 tan_john07@yahoo.com
Manager 09238640594
John David Genosa Assistant Human 09228552469 John_genosa04@yahoo.com
Resource Manager
Lambert Lim Finance Manager 09228207165 hilltothesouth@yahoo.com

68
Other Pertinent Documents
Chef Survey Questionnaire

Good day chefs, students and faculty, today we are conducting a taste test in which we direly need your
ideas on our product. We are called Wraps. We are Business Administration students majoring in
Entrepreneurship who are currently enrolled in Entrep 39. We have decided that only the food experts
can give credential insight. Please do answer and speak your mind as you taste our product today. Thank
you for your time.

1. Are there any items sold in the market that 5. Any recommendations on how to improve
is similar to what you have tasted? If so, the product?
please name them.
a. _______________
b. _______________
c. _______________
d. _______________

6. What makes this product distinct?


2. How are these products the same with the
product that we offer to you today?
a.
b.
7. How would you package this product?
c.
d.

8. If you were to create your own wrap, what


3. If this product was sold in the market,
would you use as for the wrap? (Ie., would
would you buy it? Why or why not?
you still use tortilla bread?) Why use that?

4. How much would you buy this product?


9. Do you think this is good enough to be a
_______________
casual everyday meal? (Ie., a meal that is
worth coming back to and not a meal that
easily makes one bored.)

Yes _____ No _____

Comments and Suggestions (especially on the sauce):

69
Chef Survey Qualitative Analysis
A taste test was conducted with three USC chef instructors – Chef Erwin K. Yerro,
Chef Ariel Valienos and Chef Bimbo, along with class of culinary students regarding the
proportions of spices, the propriety of procedures, taste of and the sanitation of
workplace. The purpose of the taste test with the chefs was to get their insight on the
product as a whole. The team decided that surveying students about a product they do
not know will give high probabilities of false data. As such the team’s marketing adviser
advised the team to also conduct a survey among professional chefs in order to get a
response that is with credence.

There were two taste tests conducted. During the first, the chefs corrected the
mistakes and suggested better sauces and ways to improve the product. It was during
the second taste test that the survey was conducted along with the class of culinary
students. Their response was voiced collectively in four questionnaires. Because the
responses were meant to be qualitative, the team decided that the student survey

The first product that all the respondents thought similar with our product was
Shawarma. They had different reasons ranging from “similar wrapping idea”, “similar
sauce”, “similar appearance” and “similar size”. Because the chefs see the product
similarly with Shawarma, the team believes that the competition will be tight. Although
according to the size, Wraps is bigger than Shawarma, the respondents hardly saw the
difference. Also, because Wraps is the new entrant among the two similar products, it
will seem to the public that Wraps is simply copying Shawarma. The team must create a
greater differentiation to take a step further.

All the respondents mentioned that they are willing to buy/try the wraps if sold
in the market. However, according to price, 25% were willing to buy at the price of P60,
50% were willing to buy at P50 and 25% were willing to buy at P100.

When asked what improvements they would request, 25% mentioned “more
twist to the idea”, 25% mentioned “more quantity”, 25% mentioned “do not overpower
the spices in the sauce”, and 25% mention “flavor”. The team will truly add more “twist”
to the idea, and try to perfect the amount of spices in the wrap to improve flavor.

70
However, the team believes that adding more meat would simply add up to the unit
cost. The team believes that the change of customers in adding more meat at a higher
price is negative. The team thinks that these the target market always want more, but
want a lower price even more.

When asked concerning the product’s distinction, the respondents mentioned


that the mangoes and the rice in the wrap were what differentiated the product from
the rest. Because of this, the team will continue searching for better differentiations that
will mark the distinction between wraps and shawarma.

When asked concerning the package, ideas included aluminum foil, carton and
plastic. Plastic seems to be most cheap and convenient, however, it is not
environmentally friendly. Aluminum foil is sturdy and clean, but quite expensive.
Carton is cheap and friendly to the environment; however, it is not as convenient as the
others. Among the three, the team will weigh decisions until further notice.

When asked on what bread they would use if they were to create their own
wrap, 25% mentioned pita bread, 25% mentioned tortilla bread, 25% mentioned both
pita and tortilla bread, and 25% mentioned crepes. Pita had been a thought to the
entrepreneurial team at first, but the team knew that pita is not as good as tortilla,
although the shelf life of the pita bread is better. Crepe on the other hand is a whole
other story. The team wishes to serve a meal, and not a dessert, so the team will
disregard the suggestion.

When asked whether the product does not easily bore the consumers, 50% said
yes and 50% said no. This means that it is the kind of meal that easily bores consumers.
Although they believe it is quite fine, they think that if it were eaten casually, one would
simply get bored with it. To address this analysis, the team will follow up with different
side sauces, fancy drinks and perhaps side dishes such as fries.

Finally, the comments and suggestions that the respondents placed included
how surprising the mango was and how there had been too much cumin powder. Both

71
will be taken into consideration especially on the ripeness of the fruit and on the
proportion of the said powder in the sauce.

72
Student Survey Questionnaire

Good day! We are entrepreneurial students ___ above P100 ___ above
who would like to ask your for a bit of time to P100
answer this survey. We intend to introduce a
new product, the Wrap, to your community.
Wraps is a healthful fast-food similar to a
burrito or shawarma. We would like to hear
your opinion so as to serve you better. Please
note that all the items here are private, will be
3. Do you go to Kolk’s Nook for a snack at least
kept confidential, and will in no way be used
once a week?
against you.
___ Yes ___ No
1. Status (please check all that apply):
4. Do you go to Kolk’s Nook for a meal at least
___ Student ___ Faculty ___ Staff
once a week?
Monthly allowance/income: ___ below
P1,500 ___ Yes ___ No
___ P1,500 -
5. Do you always have rice in your meals?
P2,500
___ P2,501 -
___ Yes ___ No
P4,000
___ P4,001 - 6. Do you often lack time to take your lunch?
P8,000
___ P8,001 - ___ Yes ___ No
P12,000
___ P12,001 - 7. Is your health a big factor or consideration
P15,000 when selecting the food for your meals?
___ P15,001 - P30,000
___ P30,001 - P50,000 ___ Yes ___ No
___ above
P50,000 8. Which stall/s do you usually buy from at Kolk’s
Nook? (please check all that apply):
2. How much do you usually spend for meals and
snacks? ___ Leylam Shawarma
___ Panlasang Pinoy
Snacks Meals ___ Master Siomai
___ Burp!
___ below P10 ___ below P10 ___ Lola Inda
___ P10 - P25 ___ P10 - P25
___ P26 - P40 ___ P26 - P40 9. What would you like to have in our Wrap?
___ P41 - P60 ___ P41 - P60 (please check all that apply):
___ P61 - P80 ___ P61 - P80
___ P81 - P100 ___ P81 - P100 ___ Chicken ___ Beef
___Pork ___ Fish

73
___ No meat, only veggies! Thank you for your time! 

74
Student Survey Analysis

RESPONDENTS OF THE STUDY

400 students of the University of San Carlos - Main Campus who happened to be in the
convenience of the researchers are the respondents of the study. The student population of
the University of San Carlos – Main Campus numbers about 6,498. Sloven’s formula, n = N /
(Pe^2), defines that with a total population of 6,498, the sample size must number 377
respondents. The researchers decided to survey a sample size of 400.

DATA PROCESSING AND ANALYSIS

The researchers first gathered the percentages of the student population who may buy the
product Wraps. They multiplied the percent values by the total population size of 6,498.
Finally, they quantified the final results and concluded accordingly.

CONCLUSIONS

The research team concludes that the burrito-like product, Wraps, is a viable selling
product for fast food outlets.

The following are the findings of the study based on the data gathered.

1. A significant majority of 66% of respondents claim that their meals usually cost
above the selling price of Wraps, Php 60.

2. More than half of respondents eat their snacks at Kolk’s Nook at least once a week.

3. Approximately 65% of respondents eat their meals at Kolk’s Nook at least once a
week.

4. A vast majority, 85% of respondents, always have rice in their meals.

5. Health is a big factor to 94% of respondents when selecting their food.

6.

75
RECOMMENDATIONS

The Wrap may need to lower prices or market its higher value in order to compete more
effectively with their main competitor, Leylam Shawarma. It is also recommended that it be
offered in a variety of meats and vegetables, as respondents seem to desire a variety of
ingredients to be available inside the Wrap.

The survey also shows that an increasing percentage of the student population desire to eat
healthy. The Wrap should maintain its reputation of being a healthy option in the world of
unhealthy fast food.

Lastly, an estimate of the demand for the Wrap has been established by multiplying the
percentages of the answers of respondents that would make them potential customers, and
multiplying that portion by the student population of the University of San Carlos -Main
Campus.

Using the percentages of the results, the researchers have concluded that a demand of 54
Wraps a day is plausible. This is derived from multiplying the percentages of answers
favourable to the purchase of Wraps in Tables 2,4,5,7,9, and 10.

Table 2 shows that 61% of respondents usually spend more than Php 60, the price of one
Wrap, for a meal.

Table 4 shows that 65% of respondents who go to Kolk’s Nook for a meal at least once a
week.

Table 5 shows that 15% of respondents do not require rice in their meals.

Table 7 shows that 94% of respondents consider their own health before purchasing their
food, which may propel them to purchase a Wrap instead of a Shawarma.

Table 9 shows that Leylam’s Shawarma is popular with about 42% of respondents.

Lastly, Table 10 shows that 72% of respondents would enjoy chicken in a Wrap.

Multiplying the entire USC-Main population of 6,498 with 61%, 65%, 15%, 94%, 42%, 72%,
then dividing it by 5 as there are 5 school days in one week (based on Table 4), and lastly
multiplying it 2.5, which is the almost the median of 5 days (based on Table 4, almost the
median because Friday sees a decreased student population), then the estimated demand
for a Wrap worth Php 60 each is 55 units a day.

TABLES AND GRAPHS

*Note: In the tables shown below, the choices in the survey questionnaire are in the
left-most column, with the number of respondents who checked that choice in the 2 nd

76
column, and the percentage of the 400 respondents who checked that particular
choice in the 3rd column with their respective graphical charts underneath them.

Table 1 - Monthly Allowance

Below Php 1,500 38 10%


Php 1,500 - Php 2,500 57 14%
Php 2,501 - Php 4,000 53 13%
Php 4,001 - Php 8,000 109 27%
Php 8,001 - Php 12,000 93 23%
Php 12,001 - Php 15,000 27 7%
Php 15,001 - Php 30,000 13 3%
Php 30,001 - Php 50,000 5 1%
Above Php 50,000 5 1%

Table 2 - Usual Cost of Snacks

Below Php 10 47 12%


Php 10 - Php 25 51 13%
Php 26 - Php 40 88 22%
Php 41 - Php 60 51 13%
Php 61 - Php 80 35 9%
Php 81 - Php 100 101 25%
Above Php 100 27 7%

77
Usual Cost of Students' Snacks

7%
12% Below Php 10
Php 10 - Php 25
Php 26 - Php 40
25% 13% Php 41 - Php 60
Php 61 - Php 80
Php 81 - Php 100
Above Php 100

22%
9%

13%

Table 3 – Usual Cost of Meals

Below Php 10 27 7%
Php 10 - Php 25 31 8%
Php 26 - Php 40 31 8%
Php 41 - Php 60 64 16%
Php 61 - Php 80 109 27%
Php 81 - Php 100 93 23%
Above Php 100 45 11%

Usual Cost of Students' Meals

7%
11% Below Php 10
8% Php 10 - Php 25
Php 26 - Php 40
8% Php 41 - Php 60
23% Php 61 - Php 80
Php 81 - Php 100
Above Php 100
16%

27%

78
Table 4 – Eat snacks at Kolk’s Nook at least once a week

Yes 211 53%


No 189 47%

Do you snack at Kolk's Nook at least


once a week?

Yes
No
47%
53%

Table 5 – Eat meals at Kolk’s Nook at least once a week

Yes 259 65%


No 141 35%

Do you eat a meals at Kolk's Nook at


least once a week?

Yes
35%
No

65%

Table 6 – Do you always have rice in your meals?

79
Yes 339 85%
No 61 15%

Do you always have rice in your


meals?

15%

Yes
No

85%

Table 7 – Do you always lack time to eat lunch?

Yes 45 11%
No 355 89%

Do you always lack time to eat your


lunch?

11%
Yes
No

89%

80
Table 8 – Is your health a big factor when selecting food?

Yes 376 94%


No 24 6%

Is your health a big factor when se-


lecting food?

6%
Yes
No

94%

Table 9 – Which stalls do you usually buy from at Kolk’s Nook?

Leylam Shawarma 168 42%


Panlasang Pinoy 184 46%
Master Siomai 157 39%
Burp! 216 54%
Lola Inda 107 27%

81
Which stalls do you usually buy from
at Kolk's Nook?

13% Leylam Shawarma


20% Panlasang Pinoy
Master Siomai
Burp!
Lola Inda
26%
22%

19%

Which stalls do you usually buy from


at Kolk's Nook?
60%

50%

40%

30%

20%

10%

0%
Leylam Panlasang Master Siomai Burp! Lola Inda
Shawarma Pinoy

Table 10 – What would you like to have in our Wrap?

Chicken 288 72%


Pork 296 74%
Beef 259 65%
Fish 211 53%
No meat, only veggies! 61 15%

82
What would you like to have in our
Wrap?

5% Chicken
Pork
26% Beef
19%
Fish
No meat, only veggies!

23%
27%

What would you like to have in our


Wrap?
80%
70%
60%
50%
40%
30%
20%
10%
0%
Chicken Pork Beef Fish No meat, only
veggies!

83
STUDENT PROFILE

Name: Earl Justice Garcia Cuevas


Course & Year: BS-Entrepreneurship 2
ID No.: 11102372
Date of Birth: December 12, 1994 Age: 17
Gender: Male Status: Single
Address: #06 Maya St., Sto. Niño Village, Banilad, Cebu City
Nationality: Filipino
Religion: Christian
Contact No.: 09228371977
E-mail Address: earlcuevas@yahoo.com

PARENTS:
Father’s Name: Virgilio G. Cuevas Contact No.: N/A (deceased)
Mother’s Name: Linella G. Cuevas Contact No.: 09173216513

EDUCATIONAL ATTAINMENT:
College: University of San Carlos-Main Campus

High school: Philippine Christian Gospel School


Date graduated: 2011

Elementary: Mandaue Christian School


Date graduated: 2007

Interests: Playing the guitar and basketball


Motto: “Trust God with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding”

84
STUDENT PROFILE

Name: Rafael Dave G. Español


Course & Year: BS-Entrepreneurship 2 ID No.: 11102489
Date of Birth: October 04, 1994 Age: 17
Gender: Male Status: Single
Address: 62-a Kabajar Road, Guadalupe, Cebu City
Nationality: Filipino
Religion: Catholic
Contact No.: 09334298263
E-mail Address: rafael ̳spurs23@yahoo.com.ph

PARENTS:
Father’s Name: Leopoldo Español Contact No.: (032) 316-1446
Mother’s Name: Adelia Español Contact No.: (032) 272-0759

EDUCATIONAL ATTAINMENT:
College: University of San Carlos – Main Campus

High school: Cebu Eastern College


Date graduated: 2011

Elementary: Cebu Eastern College


Date graduated: 2007

Interests: Cars
Motto: No money, no honey!

85
STUDENT PROFILE

Name: John David Macrohon Genosa


Course & Year: BS-Entrepreneurship 2
ID No.: 11102377
Date of Birth: January 18, 1994 Age: 18
Gender: Male Status: Single
Address: Sea Breeze Homes, Mactan, Lapu-Lapu City
Nationality: Filipino
Religion: Born Again
Contact No.: 09228552469
E-mail Address: john_̳genosa04@yahoo.com

PARENTS:
Father’s Name: Nathan Genosa Contact No.: N/A
Mother’s Name: Sandra Genosa Contact No.: 0917844957/
09237350336

EDUCATIONAL ATTAINMENT:
College: University of San Carlos – Main Campus

High school: Philippine Christian Gospel School


Date graduated: 2011

Elementary: Philippine Christian Gospel School


Date graduated: 2007

Interests: Music and sports


Motto: “Never say never”

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STUDENT PROFILE

Name: Jed Earl Chua Go


Course & Year: BS-Entrepreneurship 2
ID No.: 11102373
Date of Birth: December 06, 1994 Age: 17
Gender: Male Status: Single
Address: #52 Paseo Annabelle Maria Luisa Park, Banilad, Cebu City
Nationality: Filipino
Religion: Christian
Contact No.: 09227953150 / 09173641402
E-mail Address: jedearlgo_̳1264@yahoo.com

PARENTS:
Father’s Name: Johnny Uy Go Contact No.: 09173230500/316-3186
Mother’s Name: Elena Chua Go Contact No.: (032) 515-1133

EDUCATIONAL ATTAINMENT:
College: University of San Carlos – Main Campus

High school: Philippine Christian Gospel School


Date graduated: 2011

Elementary: St. Benedict Childhood Education Center


Date graduated: 2007

Interests: Earning money myself


Motto: “Many people choose to ask ‘why?’, I choose to ask ‘why not?’”

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STUDENT PROFILE

Name: Irvin Edu Ong Valenzuela


Course & Year: BS-Entrepreneurship 2
ID No.: 11104276
Date of Birth: November 01, 1990 Age: 21
Gender: Male Status: Single
Address: #2 Macaraya Street San Agustin Village, TugasPardo, Cebu City
Nationality: Filipino
Religion: Christian
Contact No.: 09325387507
E-mail Address: irvin2edu@yahoo.com

PARENTS:
Father’s Name: Christon Ching Valenzuela Contact No.: 516-8089 / 520-1476
Mother’s Name: Jenneth Ong Valenzuela Contact No.: 516-8089 / 520-1476

EDUCATIONAL ATTAINMENT:
College: University of San Carlos – Main Campus

High school: Cebu Eastern College


Date graduated: 2011

Elementary: Cebu Eastern College


Date graduated: 2005

Interests: Learning
Motto: “Nothing is Impossible”

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STUDENT PROFILE

Name: Elijah Ross Ong Tiu


Course & Year: BS-Entrepreneurship 2
ID No.: 11102636
Date of Birth: November 16, 1994 Age: 17
Gender: Male Status: Single
Address: 682 V. Rama Avenue, Cebu City
Nationality: Filipino
Religion: Christian
Contact No.: 09336587497
E-mail Address: hajiletiu@gmail.com

PARENTS:
Father’s Name: Alan Yu Tiu Contact No.: 09228884151
Mother’s Name: Rosita Sing Ong Tiu Contact No.: 09228884152

EDUCATIONAL ATTAINMENT:
College: University of San Carlos – Main Campus

High school: Bethany Christian School


Date graduated: 2011

Elementary: Bethany Christian School


Date graduated: 2007

Interests: Photography, literature, music, and friends


Motto: “All things work together for good to those who love God and work according to His
purpose”

89
STUDENT PROFILE

Name: Lambert Lamthai Binamira Lim Jr.


Course & Year: BS-Entrepreneurship 2 ID No.: 11102367
Date of Birth: September 11, 1993 Age: 19
Gender: Male Status: Single
Address: 8 Crimson Ct. South Hills, Tisa, Cebu City
Nationality: Filipino
Religion: Agnostic
Contact No.: 09228207165
E-mail Address: hilltothesouth@yahoo.com

PARENTS:
Father’s Name: Lam Thai Lim Contact No.: 09173207165
Mother’s Name: Rhodora Binamira Lim Contact No.: N/A

EDUCATIONAL ATTAINMENT:
College: University of San Carlos – Main Campus

High school: Philippine Christian Gospel School


Date graduated: 2011

Elementary: Cebu Cherish School


Date graduated: 2007

Interests: Swimming, wall climbing, badminton, ping pong, tennis, soccer, and martial arts
Motto: “Strive to be Happy”

90
STUDENT PROFILE

Name: John Davidson Ang Tan


Course & Year: BS-Entrepreneurship 2
ID No.: 11102366
Date of Birth: June 18, 1994 Age: 17
Gender: Male Status: Single

Address: #10 Pinnata St. North Town Homes, Cabancalan, Mandaue City
Nationality: Filipino
Religion: Protestant
Contact No.: 09062220174
E-mail Address: tan_̳john07@yahoo.com

PARENTS:
Father’s Name: David Johnson Tan Contact No.: 09173200110
Mother’s Name: Jennifer Mae Tan Contact No.: 09173216221

EDUCATIONAL ATTAINMENT:
College: University of San Carlos – Main Campus

High school: Philippine Christian Gospel School


Date graduated: 2011

Elementary: Philippine Christian Gospel School


Date graduated: 2007

Interests: Playing the guitar


Motto: “God will provide”

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