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Acct20007 Tutorialsol Combine
Acct20007 Tutorialsol Combine
Topic 1
What is Good Accounting Information
Topic Objectives
1. Discuss the nature and purpose of accounting from economic events to reporting
and decision making.
2. Define the qualitative characteristics of useful financial information (both
fundamental and enhancing) established in the IASB/AASB’s Conceptual
Framework.
3. Define the information qualities of validity, accuracy, and completeness, with
respect to both transactions and balances.
4. Critically discuss the relationship between the Conceptual Framework’s qualitative
characteristics and the information qualities of validity, accuracy and
completeness, in the context of the conceptual roadmap of accounting.
Readings
Tutorial Week 2
Tutorial Question
PRE-CLASS TASK
The following information is provided for two items of property for a company.
Property A was purchased five years ago for $400,000. It was intended to be used to
build another factory, but the company has now reorganised its original factory and it
is no longer required. The company now intends to sell it. The current property
market has dropped but it is expected to rise when interest rates fall. If sold now, the
property is expected to realise $360,000. Real estate experts have predicted that if the
company wait for the property market to recover, it could realise $450,000.
Property B is the current factory. It was purchased ten years ago for $200,000. If sold
now, it would be expected to realise $380,000 (and $500,000 if the property market
recovers). The company has various estimates about its contribution to the profit of
the company. Using current interest rates and various assumptions about future sales
and costs, the property is calculated to have a present value (in terms of future cash
flows) of $900,000. It is insured for $600,000 because this is the cost required to
rebuild it.
The company has always recorded property using the historic cost basis. Other
companies in the same industry have traditionally used the same basis, although
about 40% now use the fair value basis.
Required:
a) For each of the properties, identify which cost or value would best meet each
of the following qualitative characteristics (consider each separately) of:
• Faithful representation
Tutorial Week 2
it would also be required that assumptions etc made to achieve this
estimate were outlined.
• Verifiability
• Comparability
As the companies have in the past used cost this would assist in comparison
across time. As other companies use either cost or fair value these measures
would be useful for comparisons.
• Understandability
The original costs, fair values and insurance value would be easily
understood. The only value that could be more difficult to understand would
be the present value for Property B as this requires an understanding of the
item value of money and the impact of assumptions in relation to future cash
flows, costs and interest rates. However, the Conceptual Framework expects
users to ‘have a reasonable knowledge of business’ (QC32).
Recall that relevance will vary depending on the user’s perspective and the
decision being made. For Property A the most relevant measure would be fair
value as this is intended to be sold. Whether current fair value or expected
fair value is more relevant will depend on users’ perspective and also whether
or not the company is intending to ‘wait’ until market recovers before selling.
For Property B from shareholders perspective (as interested in long term cash
flows) then the present value would appear most relevant, although cost
obviously also relevant (as this will determine profit made that can be
distributed as dividends etc). For other users, perhaps assessing liquidity or
Tutorial Week 2
safeguarding funds provided to the company current fair value may be most
relevant.
b) For each of the properties, consider which option would provide the highest
quality accounting information. Explain why.
• For Property A choose current fair value. Although less verifiable than cost,
providing information is provided about this as an estimate it would be
representationally faithful and it is more relevant given that the company
intends to sell and future fair value is not sufficiently verifiable.
• For Property B choose cost. This is verifiable (especially as compared to
present value) and still comparable with most other companies in the industry.
Fair value is not relevant as intending to use asset.
c) Do you think everyone would agree with your choices? Why or why not?
Tutorial Week 2
IN-CLASS TASK
Question 2
You are hired as a consultant for Company ABC Ltd. The company runs a retail
business and in order to improve the customer experience, they are in the process of
introducing self-checkouts.
The director of the company, Martha Jane, is asking for your opinion on potential
risks to accounting information produced by the self-checkouts.
Required:
Consider what validity, accuracy and completeness risks could potentially arise from
the self-checkouts.
Tutorial Week 2
Articles about issues with self-service machines:
https://www.news.com.au/technology/innovation/inventions/new-selfservice-checkout-tech-
slammed-as-being-dangerous/news-story/38edd8a0604b060442e0c8bd8b371a04
https://www.vice.com/en_au/article/4w5pz3/how-best-to-scam-supermarket-self-service-
machines
Tutorial Week 2
ACCT20007
Accounting Information: Risks & Controls
Workshop Week 1
Question 1
Consider JB Hifi (https://www.jbhifi.com.au/)
The following table contains some of the key line items from JB Hifi’s Statement of Profit
and Loss and Balance Sheet. For each line item consider what data would be used to
calculate the line amount that would be shown and why this information would be
considered faithfully represented.
Hint: Consider where the information (data) will be collected from, and what controls may
be in place to ensure it is faithfully represented.
Rationale: The purpose of this exercise is to get you thinking about where accounting
information (data) comes from, not how to prepare the statements
Cost of Sales Invoices (in - costs and out - what sold), point of
sales system for receipts, security to ensure
inventory is sold
Workshop Week 1
Balance Sheet
Workshop Week 1
ACCT20007
Accounting Information: Risks & Controls
Topic 2
What is a Business Process and how do we document them?
Topic Objectives
Readings
Tutorial Week 3
TOPIC 1 Reflection
In your own words, reflect on the relationship between the Conceptual Framework’s
qualitative characteristics and the information qualities of validity, accuracy and
completeness, in the context of the conceptual roadmap of accounting.
- The conceptual roadmap of accounting (this is a map in one of the Week 1 videos)
highlight the cycle of business event > data > information > decision making
- From an accounting perspective, we have data which we then structure into information
useful for decision making. These information includes the financial reports, which as per the
Conceptual Framework, needs to be a faithful representation of the business events.
- To do so, the data, which acts as the basis of the information need to achieve VAC in order
for the information to then be of a faithful representation.
PRE-CLASS TASK
A Flowchart combines both the functional and process perspectives into one
document. In what ways does a Flowchart combine the functional and process
perspectives?
In generating a Flowchart, one of the most important steps is to identify all the departments
involved in the system and to separate them with “swim lanes”, with documents and tasks of
related departments classified under corresponding headings, as seen in Figure 1, which
depicts a hiring process in a firm (Simkin, Norman, & Rose, 2015). This reflects the
functional perspective, which is task-driven (i.e. focuses on “what is done”). Generally, this
perspective looks into the clearly defined set of activities and tasks of a business
function/department in achieving a particular objective. For instance, the “Payroll
Department” column depicts what specific task the department performs as a part of the
hiring process (i.e. using the position hiring form to enter data into the firm’s system to create
payroll record for the newly hired employee) (See Figure 1) (Simkin et. al, 2015).
Tutorial Week 3
Simultaneously, Flowchart also reflects the process perspective, which focuses on “how
things are done”. The process perspective is customer-driven as it looks into the system by
which an organization delivers value to its customers (both internal and external). The
Flowchart depicts a well-defined beginning (i.e. job vacancy) and a clear end (i.e. employee
hired and payroll account created) in the process, clearly depicting how the process (i.e.
hiring) is performed within the firm (See Figure 1) (Turner & Weickgenannt, 2013). It does
not only show what each department does in the process but, through the arrows and off-
page connectors, it suggests an interrelation between the departments involved in the
process (See Figure 1). This insinuates that while the Flowchart details the specific tasks
each department is responsible for (i.e. functional-perspective), these tasks serves as inputs
and/or outputs to the business process to create and deliver value (i.e. process-perspective).
Not one task rank superior over another as they are only the interlocking pieces to the
business process execution as a whole.
Watch the video titled “Card Sorting Part 1”. The following is the instruction that we have
provided to the “Card Sorters”.
Job description:
Tutorial Week 3
§ Pick up the partially sorted deck of same suit
§ Place card in proper position (Ace at the bottom)
§ Put the partially sorted deck of the same suit back on the table.
Rules:
Required: Draw a pictorial representation of what you observed in the video. Show this to
someone who has not watched the video. Were they able to deduce what occurred?
§ What was difficult about creating the diagram? Identifying the process beginning
and end is an abstract concept and does not easily lend well to pictographic
representation.
§ Would your diagram be different if:
o Only 1 person was doing the job?
o 10 people were doing the job?
The diagram would look different (having to illustrate ten people doing the job
could complicate the diagram). However, the basic task that each person does is
the same.
§ Do you think others would illustrate the process in a similar way? Not everyone
is likely to illustrate the process in the same way.
§ Where is the bottleneck in this process (the card-sorting process)? The waiting
time for one person to finish sorting a deck for a particular suit before another person
can sort the same deck.
IN-CLASS TASK
Tutorial Week 3
TASK 2 – Construct and narrate a Flowchart
Case 1: Adapted from: Parkes, Alison, Brett Considine, Karin Oleson, Yvette Blount.
Accounting Information Systems, 5th Edition. John Wiley & Sons Australia, 04/2015.
VitalBook file. Page 324, question 7.2
Alpha Ltd offers an audio-visual equipment hire service. The online sales process is
described below.
The customer sends an equipment hire request form containing their name, email address,
phone number, dates of booking and equipment required. The Sales Assistant checks the
details are complete and sends the form through to the Sales Consultant. The Sales
Consultant uses the computer to check whether the equipment requested will be available
on the dates required. The Sales Consultant emails the customer to advise them whether or
not the equipment is available, and how much the equipment hire will cost. If the equipment
hire is not available on their nominated dates, the customer is given some alternative hire
dates. The email advises the customer to reply within seven days if they wish to proceed
with the hire. The Online Sales Consultant files the hire request form in date order in their
‘Awaiting confirmation’ file.
Tutorial Week 3
Alpha Ltd – Sales Process
(3)
(1)
Hire Request
Extracts equipment
(4)
Hire details details
(2) (6)
(5)
Checks Equipment
details availability
Equipment
Checked Hire
Request Creates customer
(7) (9)
Email details email
(3)
(8)
a Checked Hire
Request Email
Customer
(10)
Awaiting
confirmation
Online Sales
Tutorial Week 3
Case 2: Adapted from: Parkes, Alison, Brett Considine, Karin Oleson, Yvette Blount.
Accounting Information Systems, 5th Edition. John Wiley & Sons Australia, 04/2015.
VitalBook file. Page 325, Question 7.4
Delta Ltd sells and installs solar panels. Their main customer base is homeowners, but they
also occasionally do a large industrial installation. The billing process for Delta is described
below.
Once an installation date has been confirmed, the Installation Team Leader prepares and
sends a completed Confirmed Installation form to Accounts Receivable. The Billing Officer
enters the details into the computer, which saves the sales order data and prints two copies
of an invoice. The Billing Officer collects the printed invoices from the computer print room
and sends them to the Installation Team Leader. The Installation Team Leader checks the
details and posts one copy of the invoice to the customer. As all installation invoices must be
paid in full before the installation takes place, the installation request form is matched to the
invoice and the matched documents are filed in customer number order in the ‘Awaiting
payment’ file.
Tutorial Week 3
Delta Billing process
Prepares
Installation
confirmation
Sales
(1)
Installation data
(8) Installation
Confirmation form
Copy 2 Sales Invoice
Copy 1 Sales Invoice
(10)
(10)
(9)
Matches
Customer
(11)
Solar Panel Installation
Invoices
Awaiting
Payment
Tutorial Week 3
Case 3: Adapted from: Parkes, Alison, Brett Considine, Karin Oleson, Yvette Blount.
Accounting Information Systems, 5th Edition. John Wiley & Sons Australia, 04/2015.
VitalBook file. Page 325, Page 325, Question 7.5
The Waiter records customers’ food and drink orders by writing the details on an order form.
The order form is given to Kitchen staff for use when preparing the food and drinks. Once all
the food and drinks have been given to the Waiter for delivery to the table, the Kitchen staff
give the order form to the Cashier. The Cashier enters the order details into the computer,
saves the sales details and then two copies of the bill are printed. When the customers have
finished their meal, the Waiter collects one copy of the bill from the Cashier and gives it to
the customer. Gamma accepts only cash payments. The customer pays the Cashier and
keeps their copy of the bill as their receipt. The Cashier puts the cash in the cash drawer,
writes ‘paid’ on the other copy of the bill and files it in the sales file.
Tutorial Week 3
Gamma Restaurant – Sales Process
Kitchen Staff
(5)
Customer
Records (6)
order
(6)
Sales details
(1)
(11)
Copy 1 Bill
Puts cash in
drawer
(10) (12)
Copy 2 Bill
Customer
Writes
‘Paid’ on
bill
(13)
(14)
Sales
Ordering food
Tutorial Week 3
1
Shuffle the cards, and once again place several of the same suit next to each other.
2
3
Rather than have each person wait for the suit-sorting decks, it is the team lead who
will now wait while one person is busy. If the wait is long enough, then everyone else
will wait for new work, while one person feels overwhelmed.
In this exercise, not everyone is doing the same job, and so multiple stick people
need to be included. You can discuss whether it should be 2 (one lead, one specialist),
or 5 (one lead, and each kind of specialist). Typically it will be easier and clearer to
create a diagram with 5 roles rather than 2.
You can facilitate a discussion on correctness vs. clarity at this point. 2 or 5 could both
be accurate representations, but the use of 5, even with extra detail that is
duplicated, generally makes it clearer to see “what is going on”. It is also useful to
refer back to this discussion when presenting the sub-process icon. It allows for more
effective handling of repeated detail, while retaining important role interaction.
The bottleneck in this process is still the wait time but this mainly occurs on the team
leader.
4
5
6
7
8
9
You can discuss here that the process crosses from one role and back again several
times.
Highlight that although there are multiple students the role is only documented once
because each student behaves exactly the same and interacts with the teacher the
same way.
Highlight that a process begin node can be given a description. This can be used to
describe how often the process begins, or what event triggers it. Other examples of
this can be “At 9AM”, “Every Monday”, and “Once an hour”.
10
Rather than have the teams do this themselves, you could do it as a joint class
exercise. It takes less time, and is much easier to coach the students.
5 roles will be easiest to understand. While it is more correct with 2, it’s more
difficult. If you like, start with 2 and when things get difficult switch to 5.
It will seem tempting to create a decision split that goes 4 ways, with “Suit?” being
the text. This is both cumbersome and messy to diagram. Coach the students into
thinking about yes/no switches. Prompt them to think of a series of questions that
accomplish the same logic.
Similarly, ask them about the merits of having one or four end points. If there is only
one, then in which lane should it be?
Ask them about the detail of each specialists work. Do we need to include it, or can
we treat it is a sub-process that can be documented once elsewhere?
11
This is one of many valid possibilities.
You can discuss the pros and cons of this representation:
- Pass/take card are clearly included, as it is a process bottleneck. You can argue that
the wait state is represented in how long it takes for the “pass card” tasks to
complete.
- While tempting to put the first hand-off to the first spec. lane, it would result in a
much wider diagram or the crossing of process lines.
- The sequence of decisions is arbitrary, and may not reflect someone’s internal
mental processing. The representation is an abstraction of reality, and the goal is
to communicate in the clearest way what happens between roles to someone
unfamiliar with the process.
- When considering the next diagram, one also has to think about what facilitates
understanding the difference between the two processes. I chose this
representation over a four way decision, to seed the thinking needed to
understand the “to-be” process.
12
The jokers will create a dilemma. Each person who receives one will have to make a
choice:
(a) Obey the rules and be unable to complete the exercise
(b) Break the rules by putting it on the table, or keeping it in hand, and taking
another card
(c) Pass the card, and the dilemma, on to the next person
(d) Place it arbitrarily in a sorted deck
(e) Ask for clarification
13
14
Bottlenecks are more evenly distributed, but the club and diamond specialists can
jam up resulting in the heart and spade specialists being idle.
Being neither red, nor a club, the jokers should end up with the spade specialist if the
decision splits are strictly interpreted.
For discussion:
• Is it feasible to model errors and exceptions? All of them?
• Can they all be known? If included, how complex do the diagrams become?
• What about for common occurrences, or a way to have a catch all?
15
Since a joker is neither red nor black, the flow of the exception here is clearer. We
don’t know exactly what the team lead is supposed to do, but that they are in fact
accountable.
If the joker ends up being rejected (allowed to be put aside), this flow is clear.
But what does it mean to be “corrected”, for example, the idea that it’s a custom
order for the 11 of diamonds, or another 9 of clubs? How will this return for
processing?
The answer is that we don’t know exactly what happens in that sub-process, and we
don’t care here. But, what they need to realise is that the item could be resubmitted
to start this process all over again, and it is not always necessary to add extra flows to
show where exceptions rejoin regular process flow.
16
If cards could be put on the table, then the team leads would be very efficient. They
would simply place cards on the table to their left and right.
The next people in line, would then pick up each batch of cards, and probably pre-
sort into suits, passing on work that was not theirs and then going about completing
their own.
The whole process would feel more effective since no one would be waiting to hand
off work to someone else.
Exception handling would feel less urgent, since each person could put the card aside
and decide what to do while working on other jobs, or while they had no work to do
(especially the team lead, who could deal with them at the end since they’re likely to
be finished first).
The table in this sense is synonymous with technology – quite literally “supporting”
the business process. While this easily compares to the use of computer systems, it is
worth pointing out that forms, inboxes and outboxes are also technology and serve
the same function.
17
ACCT20007
Accounting Information: Risks & Controls
Topic 3 - Solution
Topic 3 What is Data? How do we store data? How
do we design and document the structure of
stored data?
Topic Objectives
At the end of this topic you should be able to:
1. Distinguish between business events, economic events and accounting transactions.
2. Briefly compare and contrast the traditional versus events “database” view of accounting
systems.
3. Discuss the ACID properties of Transaction Processing.
4. Read and interpret an Entity-Relationship Diagram with a view to identifying threats to
information quality.
5. Understand how an ER Diagram works in conjunction with a process flowchart to
understand when and how information enters, is processed and stored, and reused as a
business conducts its operations.
Readings
Chapter 6 (E-text): Database Concepts 1
Suggested reading: Chapter 7 (E-text)
Tutorial Topic 3
POST-TUTORIAL CONSOLIDATION (TOPIC 2)
• Explain the importance of having a standard (agreed upon) notation to document process.
• Without a standard notation, it may be difficult to illustrate a process and have another
person deduce what is going on.
• As we experienced in Week 2’s pre-class exercise, it was relatively difficult to draw a static
illustration of the card sorting process, much less get another person to figure out what it is
illustrating.
• Without having a standard notation, it will be difficult to communicate what happens in a
process from one person to the next.
• This will create difficulty in areas e.g. training for new staff, audit of the process, figuring
out whether the process contains any weaknesses that should be addressed, etc.
• Describe the role of business processes in the capture of data for business decision making
and accounting reports with reference to the information qualities of validity, accuracy and
completeness.
• The different business processes (e.g. sales, purchase, conversion, etc.) records event and
transactions that is occurring in the entity’s day-to-day operation.
• As discussed in last week’s Topic 1 Consolidation, the accounting reports are the
information needed for decision making and in order for it to faithfully represent what is
occurring in the business, the data recorded needs to be able to achieve VAC.
• This means that business processes need to have controls in place to ensure that the data
that it is capturing are valid, accurate and complete representation of the events and
transactions for the business.
Tutorial Topic 3
PRE-CLASS TASKS
TASK 1: Economic event vs. business event
• Whose economic events are they, i.e. which organisation should record them?
Both companies should record an inflow and an outflow of resources. Hence, both
companies will be recording the economic events.
Tutorial Topic 3
Fantastic Widgets Pty Ltd sells the most fantastic widgets online. Its widgets are so fantastic, that
anyone who buys one, will never need more than one, and never need another.
Fig. 1 and 2 document the sales and delivery process, and database structure, for their online sales
process and supporting computer system.
Tutorial Topic 3
1. The flowchart is annotated with the numbers 1 through 4. At each of these points, data is being retrieved from the database. For each of
these, which entities and attributes are being referenced? Complete the table below.
Entity Attribute(s)
Position 1 Products Description, Price (and probably Code as well)
Position 2 Inventory Units on Hand, Units reserved
Position 3 Sales Sales ID (to generate the next one)
Position 4 Sales Product Code, Customer Name and Address, Shipment Date
2. Suppose the contents of the Sales entity table is as below, and it’s July 29, 2019 at 8am. What would be the best way for the system to
determine which records are “new sales orders” (annotation 4)?
All orders where the Shipment Date is empty – these are all unshipped. Using Order Date for the previous day won’t work because it won’t
catch items ordered on Friday or Saturday when run on Monday morning, and any item ordered before 8am on the same day can be
processed on the same day.
Sales ID Cust. Name Cust. Address C.C. Nbr. Prod. Code Order Date Shipment Date
1001 Andrew Andy’s palace 123-00000-12 WDGT-A 2019-06-27 2019-06-28
1002 Bob Bob’s private island 123-00000-09 WDGT-A 2019-07-25 2019-07-26
1003 Cindy Cindy’s mega-yacht 123-00000-19 WDGT-V 2019-07-26
1004 Casper Haunted castle 123-00000-10 WDGT-V 2019-07-27
Tutorial Topic 3
IN-CLASS TASK
1. Suppose a new customer, Danny, comes online on July 29 at 7am, and purchases a Kryptonite Widget. Follow the process step by step, up
until the end of the first sub-process (Goodbye!). Add to the Sales table above and modify the Products and Inventory tables below where
necessary at each step of the process. Danny lives on the moon, and his CC number is 123-00000-87.
Modified tables:
Product Code Description Price Product Code Cost per unit Units on hand Units reserved
WDGT-A Adamantium Widget $1m WDGT-A $ 0.1 m 10 0
WDGT-K Kryptonite Widget $ 100 m WDGT-K $ 10 m 1 01
WDGT-V Vibranium Widget $ 10 m WDGT-V $1m 2 2
Sales ID Cust. Name Cust. Address C.C. Nbr. Prod. Code Order Date Shipment Date
1001 Andrew Andy’s palace 123-00000-12 WDGT-A 2019-06-27 2019-06-28
1002 Bob Bob’s private island 123-00000-09 WDGT-A 2019-07-25 2019-07-26
1003 Cindy Cindy’s mega-yacht 123-00000-19 WDGT-V 2019-07-26
1004 Casper Haunted castle 123-00000-10 WDGT-V 2019-07-27
1005 Danny The Moon 123-00000-87 WDGT-K 2019-07-29
2. Another customer, Eve, comes online and would like to purchase a Vibranium Widget. Can she? Why/why not?
She can’t.
Available units = Units on hand – Units reserved = 0 (for WDGT-V)
There are two reserved units (for sales #1003 and #1004 that have not been fulfilled yet).
Tutorial Topic 3
3. Now follow the second sub-process performed by the warehouse. Update the tables above at each step of this process.
3 orders are found and shipped. Inventory is decreased for each of the three orders, and the reservation released for each one also.
Product Code Description Price Product Code Cost per unit Units on hand Units reserved
WDGT-A Adamantium Widget $1m WDGT-A $ 0.1 m 10 0
WDGT-K Kryptonite Widget $ 100 m WDGT-K $ 10 m 1 0 1 0
WDGT-V Vibranium Widget $ 10 m WDGT-V $1m 2 0 2 0
Sales ID Cust. Name Cust. Address C.C. Nbr. Prod. Code Order Date Shipment Date
1001 Andrew Andy’s palace 123-00000-12 WDGT-A 2019-06-27 2019-06-28
1002 Bob Bob’s private island 123-00000-09 WDGT-A 2019-07-25 2019-07-26
1003 Cindy Cindy’s mega-yacht 123-00000-19 WDGT-V 2019-07-26 2019-07-29
1004 Casper Haunted castle 123-00000-10 WDGT-V 2019-07-27 2019-07-29
1005 Danny The Moon 123-00000-87 WDGT-K 2019-07-29 2019-07-29
Tutorial Topic 3
4. It is now the afternoon of July 31st. Andy’s partner, Franceska, wants an Adamantium Widget of her own. Complete the first sub-process for
her purchase, updating the tables above as necessary once again. Franceska lives with Andy and uses his credit card.
Modified tables:
Product Code Description Price Product Code Cost per unit Units on hand Units reserved
WDGT-A Adamantium Widget $1m WDGT-A $ 0.1 m 10 0 1
WDGT-K Kryptonite Widget $ 100 m WDGT-K $ 10 m 0 0
WDGT-V Vibranium Widget $ 10 m WDGT-V $1m 0 0
Sales ID Cust. Name Cust. Address C.C. Nbr. Prod. Code Order Date Shipment Date
1001 Andrew Andy’s palace 123-00000-12 WDGT-A 2019-06-27 2019-06-28
1002 Bob Bob’s private island 123-00000-09 WDGT-A 2019-07-25 2019-07-26
1003 Cindy Cindy’s mega-yacht 123-00000-19 WDGT-V 2019-07-26 2019-07-29
1004 Casper Haunted castle 123-00000-10 WDGT-V 2019-07-27 2019-07-29
1005 Danny The Moon 123-00000-87 WDGT-K 2019-07-29 2019-07-29
1006 Franceska Andy’s palace 123-00000-12 WDGT-A 2019-07-31
Tutorial Topic 3
5. On the morning of July 28th, the manager has asked you to prepare an ad-hoc trial balance for the month of July up to that date (use Table
3) Note: You can assume the owner of Fantastic Widgets only provided the initial inventory in starting the business
Cash 22,000,000
Inventory 13,000,000
Revenue 1,000,000
Tutorial Topic 3
6. On the morning of August 1st, the accountant for FW Pty Ltd arrives. Using the data from the database tables above:
a. Calculate the value of Inventory as it would need to be represented on the Balance Sheet as at July 31st, 2019.
Two key aspects to get this right – we use stock on hand, ignoring reserved, because we need to show items that are in our
possession; and we value at acquisition cost.
10 x $0.1m + 0 x $10m + 0 x $1m = $1 million
b. Prepare journal entries to update the necessary Income Statement account balances for the economic events that have taken place in
the month of July (use the table below).
Here, we need to calculate sales revenues based on items that shipped in July – ignore items that have not shipped yet, or that
shipped prior to July 1st. Revenue is calculated based at the sales price. The corresponding debit goes to Cash since we have already
collected the payment prior to shipping – there is no Accounts Receivable.
1 x $1m + 1 x $100m + 2 x $10m = $121 million
For Cost of Goods Sold, we use the same sales quantity, but at cost. The corresponding credit goes to Inventory.
1 x $0.1m + 1 x $10m + 2 x $1m = $12.1 million
Date Account Name Debit Amount Credit Amount
2019-07-31 Cash 121,000,000
Revenue 121,000,000
Tutorial Topic 3
7. For each of the two sub processes (Start -> Goodbye, 8AM -> Out for delivery), which of the 3 data processing modes is being used?
Start->Goodbye: Immediate. Key aspect here is that all data is written to database at the same time (inv reservation and sale), and processing
takes place immediately after the customer enters payment information.
8. Would you consider that the design of this database is normalised? Given that a customer only ever orders a single product, it is reasonable
to keep it as is, or would you change the structure?
Yes. The attributes of customer name, address and credit card are relevant to the sales order - who bought it, where to ship it, how it was
payed for. The fact that two people can live at the same address and use the same payment method is irrelevant. Even if we split out a
customer table, this information would be recorded twice, because there are two separate customers and the address and payment info
applies to both. The only real case for splitting out a customer table, would be if customers could order multiple times.
9. How do the ACID principles help ensure that data is correctly recorded and that the two subprocesses, or two customers ordering at the same
time would not interfere with each other?
Ensuring that the saving of the Sales record, and the update to Units reserved, are both successful, or neither of them are successful.
(Atomicity)
Ensuring that the update to Shipment Date, Units on hand and Units reserved each time a sales order is shipped are all successful. (Atomicity)
Ensuring that sales orders don’t refer to products that don’t exist. e.g. WDGT-B (Consistency)
Ensuring that two sales orders don’t use the same Sale ID. Ensuring that these two orders both result in +1 being added to Units reserved.
(Isolation)
Ensuring that the updates when an item ships, does not interfere with new sales orders being created. Specifically, the ship date of a new
order should not be updated when shipping a previous order. The decrement and increment to Units reserved should not interfere or
overwrite with the other between shipping one order and a new one coming in at the same time. (Isolation)
All updates must persist forever and not be lost due to power failure etc. (Durability)
Tutorial Topic 3
ACCT20007
Accounting information: Risks & Controls
Topic 4
Internal Controls I
Topic Objectives
Readings
Topic 4
POST-CLASS CONSOLIDATION (TOPIC 3)
Required: Compare and contrast how the journal entries for the month of July would be different in
a traditional accounting process as opposed to the database processing shown above.
• In the traditional accounting process, the event happened then documentations (e.g. receipts)
are generated. This receipt is then sent to the accounting department to get recorded in the
journal entries. Whereas with the database processing, the event itself is captured in the system.
And from the capturing of the event, we can now generate the receipts and/or create the
reports. The two are now independent of each other. We don't need source documents to
produce accounting records.
• The end result of two journal entries method will be the same; however, in the traditional
accounting process, the journal entries would be done for each transaction, even if you are
doing specialised journal entry (e.g. sales journal). However, for the database accounting
process, the system would capture the transactions and events and will be able to generate an
aggregated report without necessarily needing the per-transaction journal entries.
Q: Below is an extract taken from accounts payable, each of the 8 transactions records a
payment made. What quality problems can you see with this data?
A:
Line 1 (need to check line 5): The same vendor ID as like 5, but different name, and different
invoice format. Which suggests that there is a typo in the spelling of one, or possible the
same vendor id used twice.
Line 2 No Vendor ID – So is this a valid vendor? Preapproved?
Line 3 (need to check line 6) When compared to line 6 we have to companies with similar
names, Invoices in sequence but different vendor IDs which suggests a double up in data.
Line 4 Payment not authorised
Topic 4
Line 5 (also see line 1) Apart from the issues addressed in line 1 this number is significantly
higher than all other amounts, so risk that this is an overpayment and the actual amount is
much lower, e.g. 894.00 or 893.00 or 894.30
Line 6 (also see line 3) In addition to issues addressed in line 3 the date is in a incorrect
format.
Line 7 (also see line 4) Same amount as line 4 and vendor, which suggests double payment,
this time it is authorised, but no invoice number.
Line 8 (also see line 6) Same amount and vendor as line 6, but different authorised by. With
the a on the end of the invoice number same as 6, looks like a deliberate attempt to get
around paying the same invoice number twice control which has resulted in a double
payment.
PRE-CLASS TASK
Required: Discuss how management’s assertions regarding the value of trade and
other payables (account payable) on the balance sheet impacts the control
environment. Your answer should refer to information quality goals.
Business are may be tempted to purposely omit a liability to make themselves look better.
Thus, a focus of the control environment should be that all liabilities are included, therefore
completeness is a main risk, i.e. or Completeness (Event) for information goals.
Other risks are paying for goods not received, double recording or recording fake invoices.
Therefore, there needs to be controls in place to check the validity of the invoices.
- This could be discussed as either the existence of the trade payable, and/or the
obligation to pay.
Accuracy of entry is always an issue, thus controls in place to enhance the entry of invoices.
Affecting the valuation of Accounts Payable. No need to mention allocation.
Using the document ‘Internal Control – Integrated Framework’, explain each of the five
elements of internal control (https://www.coso.org/Documents/990025P-Executive-Summary-
final-may20.pdf)
Topic 4
Involves a dynamic process for identifying and analyzing a firm’s risks
from external and internal environments. Risk assessment allows a
firm to understand the extent to which potential events might affect
Risk
corporate objectives. Risks are analyzed after considering the
assessment
likelihood of occurrence and the potential loss. The analysis serves as
a basis for determining how the risks should be managed. This
component will be discussed later in the chapter.
Occur throughout a firm at all levels and in all functions. A firm must
Control establish control policies, procedures, and practices that ensure the
activities firm’s objectives are achieved and risk mitigation strategies are
carried out.
IN-CLASS TASK
Note: this question cuts across topics and is a past exam question. Part 3 covers future
topics but the overview of processes and readings from topic 2 should allow you to answer
it.
Imported Product Company only stocks items made in Korea. All products are pre-
packed and contain a barcode. To minimise waiting times at checkouts, it has
introduced self-checkouts.
Security recently caught someone in the store with a sheet of barcode labels for small
cans of Bong Bong (a grape drink; one of the store’s cheapest products), sticking the
Topic 4
labels onto other products before going through the self-checkout. The person caught
is a regular customer and has been frequenting the store on a daily basis.
Required:
It’s a random error as its one customer who has been detected. The error does not
impact all products in the store. From the sales data perspective, the error is also
random as it only impact the products which have been labelled as Bong Bong and not
all products in the store.
Receipt. Validity as the items recorded as sold are not what actually got sold.
3. Explain how this data problem would affect two other transaction cycles (not
sales) and the impact(s) this problem would have on the financial reports. Your
answer should clearly identify the decisions that would be most affected and the
consequences of these decisions on subsequent processes and the financial
reports.
Purchasing cycle: As a result of this the business would think it has sold lots of Bong
Bong, thus would order more of it. However, it actually sold other more expensive items
without realising it and would not reorder these other items in the quantity needed.
Therefore, extra cans of Bong Bong would be purchased but the business will “under-
purchase” other items.
GL/FR cycle: This section would not expect you to be able to fully answer at this stage
• Would affect budgeting (linking into the purchase cycle)
• Would also affect report producing as sales of inventory would be incorrect due to
chart of account coding.
• Note revenue would be reported correctly based on what was recorded as sold.
Telstra needs to determine which accounting period the revenue from a phone call
should belong to. The phone call started before midnight on balance date (30th of
June) and finished after midnight (1st of July).
Required:
Topic 4
a) What accounting period did the phone call occur in? You might want to consider
the different options that Telstra has.
Telstra could recognise the phone call either when it started or when the phone call has
ended. Or, alternatively, Telstra could also recognise part of the phone call that
happened before the balance date (the duration of the phone call up to the balance date)
as revenue for the previous period and the remaining duration of the phone call after the
balance date as revenue recognised in the next period (pro-rata across both periods).
b) As a result of your answer for a), what information would Telstra need to ensure
that revenue is reported correctly within the financial statements?
The information that you will need for the phone call to ensure that revenue is reported
correctly within the financial statement are the following:
• Cost of call
• The time stamp for when the call started
• The time stamp for when the call ended
• Calculation for the duration of the phone call – depending on how Telstra
recognise the revenue.
The table below maps information goals to the elements of financial statements and the
normal direction of impacts.
Completeness
Understated Understated Understated Understated
(Event Level)
Required:
a) Define and explain the information reliability goals of validity, accuracy and
completeness.
- Validity – what is recorded relates to actual events that were authorised, actually
occurred and involve actual entities
- Accuracy – relates to whether the details recorded in the system actually
corresponds to the actual event
Topic 4
o Furthermore, accuracy also relates to whether the details for a particular
event have been correctly calculated
- Completeness (details) – have all the details of a particular transaction been
recorded?
- Completeness (events) – have all valid events/transactions that occurred been
capture? Have all valid events/transactions been updated to the relevant data
stores?
b) For revenue, expense, asset and liability accounts explain what overstatement and
understatement means.
Overstated (Understated) revenue means that revenue is reported higher (lower) than
the actual revenue the firm earned (or should have earned) from the economic
transaction.
• E.g. we entered the wrong price when setting a price or scanned the wrong
barcode. It does NOT mean that we have charged too little for our products or
services. (i.e. we charged $90 when we could have charged $100).
Overstated (Understated) expense means that expense is reported higher (lower) than
the actual expense paid incurred.
• E.g. we recorded an electricity bill of $100, when in actual fact it was $90. It does
NOT mean that we have paid too much for our expenses, e.g. we paid $50 for an
item from supplier A, when we could have purchased it from supplier B for $450.
Overstated (Understated) assets means that the asset values or assets reported are at
a higher (lower) value than economic value (cost) of the assets the company holds.
Overstated (Understated) liability means that the liability reported is higher (lower)
than the liability the company has.
c) Holding all else constant, if a company wants to use their financial statements to
signal an improvement in their financial position, which information goal risks are
at risk for revenue and expense accounts? Why? Provide examples to support
your argument.
Holding all else constant, validity is most likely at risk for revenue items because
overstating revenue will lead to an increase in profit.
Holding all else constant, completeness at event level is most likely at risk for expense
accounts because understating actual expenses will increase profit.
This question is asking you to think about how different incentives can decrease
accounting information quality
Topic 4
ACCT20007
Accounting Information: Risks and Controls
Topic 5
Internal Controls II
Topic Objectives
• Briefly describe the role of authorisation, recording, input accuracy in achieving the
key qualities of information
• Briefly distinguish between general controls and application controls
• Distinguish between preventive, detective and corrective controls and give an
example of each
Readings
Tutorial Topic 5
POST CLASS CONSOLIDATION (TOPIC 4)
Required: Describe how each of the period and period-end assertions relates to the information
quality goals of validity, accuracy and completeness.
Tutorial Topic 5
PRE-CLASS TASK
Gaurav operates a small physical store (i.e., bricks-and-mortar) that sells various electronics
goods. The company updates its inventory database once every two days. Gaurav has
sufficient controls in place so that database updates are always quite accurate. Gaurav
considers shifting to an online-only business model (i.e. no physical store; all sales are made
online).
Required:
Gaurav will need to shift to real-time processing, so inventory is always up to date to reduce
the risk of selling inventory not available.
For real-time processing, preventive controls are effective and necessary to reduce the risk
of errors in the first place.
Tutorial Topic 5
IN-CLASS TASK
Task 1 (adapted from Parkes, Olesen & Blount (2017). Internal Controls II. In
Accounting information systems, John & Wiley Sons Ltd, Australia.)
NOTE: the table at the end of the document provides a brief overview of possible
controls. Under each fraud risk, there are also a series of controls – these have been
noted down from discussions within tutorials.
CPA Australia’s advisory guide on employee fraud identifies some typical ways that fraud is
carried out. These include:
ii. creating bogus suppliers, with payment being made to the fraudster’s bank
account
Tutorial Topic 5
iii. creating bogus purchase orders of a bona fide supplier and substituting the
supplier’s bank account details with fraudster’s bank account details
Tutorial Topic 5
• Preset limits for various claims (preventive)
• Require receipt/claim summary before submitting a reimbursement
(preventive and detective)
o Issue: fake receipt, don’t show the purpose of the activity
• Guideline on what can/cannot be reimbursed (preventive)
• Upper limit – above the amount, require authorisation before allowing to
spend /get reimbursement (preventive)
• Human trust
xi. providing discounted (or free) goods or services to friends and associates.
Tutorial Topic 5
Required:
a) Suggest a possible application control that could deal with the fraud
b) Classify the control as preventive, detective or corrective and justify your
classification
c) Explain how the control addresses the fraudulent activity
Tutorial Topic 5
Scenario (a) (b) (c)
/ Risk
Application Control Classification Explanation
Tutorial Topic 5
*Cross checking * A crosscheck of employee banking details and
employee and supplier banking details looking for matches will
supplier data to look detect any situations where the details are the
for payment details D same. This could point towards situations
for employees that where the employee has engaged in such
match payment fraudulent activity.
details for suppliers
Tutorial Topic 5
* Resources stored P * Storing resources in a secure location locked
in a secure location after hours limits staff access outside if normal
and administered by hours. Missing stock can also be traced back to
a staff member keyholders. Since they would also be
responsible for administering and releasing the
items.
Tutorial Topic 5
ix. * Linking time sheets * If employee work is traceable to specific jobs /
D
to job cards clients, reconciling hours on time sheets to
hours allocated to clients/jobs may allow for
detection of the anomaly. Also, analysis of
hours worked but not billed (for example admin
time in a service firm) may be a hint to this
practice.
Tutorial Topic 5
ACCT20007
Accounting Information: Risks and Controls
Topic 7 Suggested Solution
Topic Objectives
• Describe the key objectives of the revenue (sales) process
• Describe key revenue business decisions, and the activities and data stores that
support them
• Analyse the risks and develop control plans pertinent to the primary activities
• Identify processing modes used in the revenue process and explain the implications for
risk assessment and information reliability
• Map Key Performance Indicators to the objectives, activities and data stores within (and
off) the revenue process
Readings
Tutorial Topic 7
POST-CLASS CONSOLIDATION
1. Compare and contrast the different modes of data entry and processing with
particular reference to the information qualities of validity, accuracy and
completeness and the impact on the control system
Data entry and processing Information qualities (VAC) Impact on Control System
modes
Batch: data inputted and Completeness (D and E) Detective controls are needed
updated periodically
Online Transaction Entry: data With the immediate input, Preventive controls are
inputted immediately and there may be needed at the input level and
updated in batch validity/accuracy issue but if detective controls needed at
there are checks before it is the update level
updated, it may be alleviated.
Still need to be mindful of
potential completeness issue
2. Outline the framework of analysing a business process. To do this, watch the worked
example on: "How to Analyse a Business Process (see Resources)” videos.
Step 5: Provide recommendation on how to improve the process and how to measure the
impact of the recommended changes
Tutorial Topic 7
PRE-CLASS TASK
1. Watch this video, please note this is not in English, so the sound can be turned
off.
• https://vimeo.com/159634451
a. In what order do the steps in the sales cycle occur (e.g. sales order, picking,
packing, shipping, billing and payment) and who undertakes these steps?
b. What technology is being used in this process, i.e. how does the checkout
work.
The main technology is the cash register which uses RFID to detect what is in the
shopping bag. This enables the checkout to detect what type of coffee pods are
in the bag. The register can search existing data stores to determine the price of
each box of pods to charge the customers the correct price. Built in payment
facilities, such as an EFTPOS terminal enables to proceed.
Furthermore, there is also a weight-check that reconcile with the RFID technology
so that the expected weight is compared against actual weight to identify any
inactive RFID chips. For instance, if the RFID scans through 4 products but there
are 5 in the bag, then you will be directed to get assistance and sale will not
progress.
c. Complete the table on the next page based on your observations from the
video.
Tutorial Topic 7
Process Goals How is the goal achieved? Any remaining risks or concerns?
Only sell to credit-worthy As goods are paid for before leaving the store, this
customers should be achieved
Protect cash receipts from The self-service checkout are cards only. This
fraud and misuse eliminates the handling of cash at the self-checkout
Tutorial Topic 7
IN-CLASS TUTORIAL
TASK 1: Nespresso
a. What order do the steps in the sales cycle occur (e.g. sales order, picking,
packing, shipping, billing and payment) and who undertakes these steps?
When moving to online sales, the sales order, billing and receiving payment would
be completed via the online sales systems. The main shift would be the need to
have a pick, pack and ship process based on the orders submitted by customers
online.
b. How might the technology that you identified being used in the self-
checkout be used within the online revenue process, and in which step(s)
would it be used?
RFID chips can be used to identify the correct pods for each sales order,
combined with barcode scanning. This ensures that each good selected (either
manually or in an automated process) is correct. Barcode scanning can ensure
packages are labelled correctly.
c. What are the key process differences between an online sale, and a self-
service checkout? How do the risks differ?
The key difference is who does the picking, packing and shipping. In online
sales, this becomes an internal process, which increases the risk of the
customers receiving an incorrect package or items. This is the case because
when purchasing in-store, customers are picking what they are purchasing on
their own and therefore, knows exactly the product they are going to have.
However, within stores, having stock on display to the public increases the risk
of theft.
For online sales, access to the latest inventory figures is critical to ensure that
only available goods are being sold. Within stores, this is done by only being
able to sell goods that are on the shelves.
This introduces credit sales, which introduces the risk of never getting paid for a sale. A
credit/identity check is needed upfront to ensure that only customers that are authorised
Tutorial Topic 7
to buy pods in such a way are extended credit. In addition, an invoicing process will need
to be established.
Required: Review the flowchart and the narration below and complete the following tasks.
Coombes Pty Ltd is a retailer of heavy machinery spare parts. To increase sales, and to provide
a better service, Coombes recently changed its sales process to allow for the sale of goods that
are currently not on hand but can be ordered (i.e., items on backorder). That is, when customers
place an order they are advised if the goods they wish to purchase are not immediately available
and given an approximate delivery date before deciding if they wish to proceed or not.
Tutorial Topic 7
After the first few sales of backorder items the managing director of Coombes hires you as a
consultant to identify the cause of several recent customer complaints. The complaints can be
summarised by these sentiments: “I never receive all the items I order” and “I was billed for items
that were not in the delivery package”.
Coombes provides the invoice at the same time the goods are shipped, a practice that customers
previously indicated they appreciated.
The managing director believes that the cause of the complaints is Coombes’ failure to change
its warehouse and invoicing processes to align with the company’s new sales order process. You
have been asked to examine the process and identify the issue(s) triggering the complaints. As
the change to allow backorder items was heavily advertised, Coombes believes it needs to fix
the problem rather than return to only selling goods on hand.
It should be noted that all documents and labels are pre-numbered and barcoded. The numbering
process is not shown in the diagram and can be assumed to be effective. The warehouse requires
swipe cards for access and is equipped with CCTV surveillance. Coombes has its own delivery
vehicles
Tutorial Topic 7
Step 1 – Identify the Process, Goals, Data and Processing Modes
Process Revenue
Tutorial Topic 7
Step 2 – Identify and Assess the Generic Risks on the Process
Tutorial Topic 7
Step 3 – Assess the Effectiveness of the Control Plans.
Identify two present and two missing controls. Annotate the flowchart.
Tutorial Topic 7
P1
P2
P1
M2
P3/M1
M3
P1
M2
Tutorial Topic 7
Step 6 – Identify How to Measure the Success of the Changes
Provide and explain how to calculate one or more KPIs (where does the data come from). What would indicate
improvement (increase, decrease, maximum minimum etc.)?
Answer
Customer complaints regarding “goods not delivered” and “Incorrect invoices: this data is currently being
collected as explained in the case, with existing data collection methods being used. This could include tracking
phone calls, and emails received with these complaints.
Given that customer complaints are already being recorded a new KPI could be Reconciliation errors between
shipping, sales orders and invoices.
Given the nature of this process it is recommended that regular reconciliation of all invoices, sales orders and
shipping information occurs. The reconciliation could be daily, weekly, or monthly depending on volume of
orders. The purpose of the reconciliation is to identify any inconsistences between these three set of data
which should match once all shipping is complete, considering invoices are sent along with the package.
This could be done by someone independent of the process, (e.g. Manager) and would help identify any
outstanding goods not sent (which could be cross referenced to purchases), as well as any items invoiced but
not sent.
Tutorial Topic 7
ACCT20007
Accounting Information: Risks and Controls
Topic Objectives
• Describe the key objectives of the expenditure (purchase) process
• Describe key expenditure business decisions, and the activities and data stores that
support them
• Analyse the risks and develop control plans pertinent to the primary activities
• Identify processing modes used in the expenditure process and explain the
implications for risk assessment and information reliability
• Map Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) to the objectives, activities and data stores
within (and off) the expenditure cycle
Readings
Tutorial Topic 8
POST-CLASS TASK:
Required: Based on your analysis of Coombes Pty Ltd’s process (Steps 1-3),
complete Steps 4-5 found within “Coombes Pty Ltd Answer Sheet”
The success of the system achieving the both the process goal, and information reliability
goals depends on if goods are placed on back order or not.
When all goods are available to be picked then the system achieves its
objectives however when all goods are unavailable to be picked it does not. Thus, it can only
be concluded that the system has a low chance of achieving its process goal.
There is low risk of errors in the Inventory and Shipping data due to the use of RFID in the
Pick, Pack and shipping process. With both shipping and inventory updates based on what
was picked and sent there is low chance of errors occurring in this process as the goods are
checked by RFID scanners at each stage of this subprocess and this information is used to
directly update these data stores with no human entry. As such the validity, accuracy and
completeness of this data is high.
In contrast accounts receivable data has a high chance of being invalid due to the same
error as invoices are based on sales orders each day, not what was shipped. This would
result in being invoiced for any goods not available, thus shipped. The nature of this error
means that all sales orders are invoiced, and invoiced for all goods, thus accounts receivable
is data is complete though invalid. This error would also cause sales revenue to be invalid
for the same reason.
How could the Coombes process be changed to better achieve the primary goal and
information quality goals? Explain how the changes would work, the strength of these
changes and any possible weaknesses.
Answer
The system needs two changes to achieve the primary goal and information reliability goal.
1. That sales orders are not updated as complete each morning rather updated to reflect
that they are being picked. When picked goods data is sent to create the delivery docket
Tutorial Topic 8
(B on the flowchart) the same information is used to update the Sales Order as partially
complete, including what goods are left to pick. To achieve this temporary data store to
monitor unpicked items may be required, adding some cost and complexity to the
system.
2. That invoices are not based on sales order, rather based on picked goods data used to
create the delivery docket (B on the flow chart). This would help to ensure that invoices
are based on what is sent, not what is ordered. A weakness with this is may delay the
creation of the invoices resulting a day’s delay in delivery if shipping times are missed.
PRE-CLASS TASK
c. After items are selected for purchase, what is the process that occurs
that results in the supplier receiving a copy of the purchase order?
Tutorial Topic 8
For receiving goods (or services) under $2,000, no receipt is requested. This
is done on a cost-benefit basis. The cost of administering the large number of
such purchases would be significant on an annual basis.
On the next few pages are the flowcharts for the accounts payable and billing process of a
large listed company on the ASX. They have asked not to be identified, but we are allowed
to use their materials.
Required:
At accounts receivable stage, invoices are received and scanned into an initial
database.
If the invoice has a related PO, the details are added to the invoice before a 3-
way match between the invoice, goods received, and PO is conducted. If the
match is successful or within $50 or 5%, it is approved for payment (remember
discussion point around the 5% or $50) and sent for payment. If not matched and
outside tolerance limits, it is further investigated. If there is no PO associated with
the invoice, the invoice goes to the AP manager for separate approval.
Once approved for payment, the accounts payable team groups payments
together and notifies treasury to ensure that funds are available in the correct
accounts to pay. Once funds have been transferred (and presumably approved)
by Treasury, payment occurs. If payment is not in $AUD, payment is processed
bi-monthly and made via Bank of America. If domestic (in AUD), a payment run is
made twice weekly via Westpac which confirms the payment details before
payment is made. A monthly bank reconciliation is done by Treasury.
IN-CLASS TASK
Tutorial Topic 8
TASK 1: Account Payable and Billing Process of an ASX-listed company
Tutorial Topic 8
Tutorial Topic 8
Tutorial Topic 8
2. Identify two controls that are present within the Invoice Validation & Processing
stage and the purpose of these controls.
• Three-way match between PO, receipt of goods, and invoice to ensure that all goods
are ordered, received and that the amount to be paid is reasonable.
• The three-way match can also help with completeness and validity
o When going from start to end (i.e. PO à Receipt of goods à Invoice) – this is
a completeness check
o When going from end to start (i.e. Invoice à Receipt of goods à PO) – this is
a validity check
• Management approval of non-PO invoices to ensure these are valid. There should be
a check to ensure the good/service were delivered.
3. Identify two controls that are present within the Payment Processing & Account
Settlement stage and the purpose of these controls.
• Bank reconciliation each month to verify that the two sets of records (internal and
external) match and to identify possible differences.
• Separation of duties between people who make the payment and those who control
the bank account.
o This is to reduce the risk of fraudulent activities (e.g. staff paying themselves)
by requiring multiple people in the process
Tutorial Topic 8
TASK 2: AB Hi-Fi Expenditure Cycle
Purchase Order Number (to lookup purchase order from the data store) *2
Data Input/s Quantity received (to record quantity of items received) on paper (not needed) which is transferred to the
datastore
Batch (periodic) – the goods received report is filled in by paper and updated periodically by the Goods
Processing Mode/s
Receiving Clerk.
Tutorial Topic 8
Step 2 – Identify and Assess the Impact of Unaddressed Generic Risks on the Process
Generic Risks Impact on information goals Impact on financial statements
Tutorial Topic 8
Risk: Counting errors
An additional control could be double entry, where the user is required to enter the number twice, and the system checks you entered the same thing twice. It
could also do a blind check against the PO quantity. If what is entered matches the PO, the value is accepted. If not, then the user is asked to re-enter the number.
If the second entry matches the PO quantity or matches the first entry it is accepted.
Tutorial Topic 8
Risk: Delivery received, not recorded
Control Plan: Immediate entry of delivery details M4
Explanation: This control plan involves the warehouse clerk entering the details of the delivery into the computer at the point where the delivery first occurs.
This eliminates any temporal gap between the receipt of inventory (economic event) and the recording of the event in the system. Accordingly, it reduces the
chance of a delivery event going unrecorded due to it being forgotten about, or the paper-work that reflects the delivery going missing.
Tutorial Topic 8
ACCT20007
Accounting Information: Risks and Controls
Topic 10 Suggested Solution
Topic Objectives
• Describe key GLFR business decisions, and the activities and data stores that support
them
• Understand the risks and control plans pertinent to the primary activities
• Identify processing modes used in the GLFR process and explain the implications for risk
assessment and information reliability
• Map Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) to the objectives, activities and data stores within
(and off) the GLFR process
Readings
Tutorial Week 11
POST-CLASS CONSOLIDATION:
Sales forecasts are made which is planning which leads to an MRP run which creates
Purchase Requisitions, which leads to a creation of PO (decisions made by the teams)
the simulation then receives the raw materials and stores them. Teams then trigger the
order of production, causing the simulation to move raw materials to production,
production happens, and finished goods stored. Based on prices and marketing set by
teams, goods are sold triggering the pick pack and ship process run by simulation. In
the background invoices (both in and out) are processed by the simulation, and
payments made/received.
o The inflow of cash when the customers pay for their goods
o The outflow of cash when we pay the suppliers for the purchase of raw materials
and packaging
o The movement within the inventory (finished goods and raw materials) as a result of
conversion
The MRP Run allows for the generation of the purchase requisition with just enough raw
materials and packaging to fulfil the production need of the company.
In the MRP Run, the system looks into the sales forecast for the next period and also look
into current levels of finished goods inventory. The difference between the two numbers
indicate the number of finished goods that needs to be produced. The MRP Run then looks
into the BOM to see the raw materials required to produce each unit of the finished goods –
then this value is multiplied by the number of finished goods needed. This will then create
the purchase requisition for the raw materials needed (considering existing raw materials
levels that are not yet reserved for other production).
Tutorial Week 11
• What controls can be (are) implemented in the process?
o Application control within the system can control user access to the system – login
▪ Login also acts as an audit trail for who has performed the transaction
▪ Another example is that each group is playing within their own teams – you
cannot execute transactions for another team.
o Only allowing one person per team to edit the price at one time – this minimises the
risk of having the wrong price entered (i.e. having too many people deciding on
price)
o Edit checks, mandatory field check (e.g. ensure that the date entered is valid)
o Interactive feedback check – confirmation of what items are ordered (one example
of this is when you have created a purchase order)
▪ The use of codes for raw materials linked to a master database (this allows
for pre-population), which reduces the likelihood of data entry error and also
minimises the risk of ordering something that does not exist
▪ Making sure that the sold-to-party and the ship-to-party is the same entity
o Timestamps within the system for different transactions – act as audit trail
Further controls can be seen in the EPRSim videos posted to the LMS.
• At what stage would there be impact to the financial statements and how would they
be accounted for?
For the most part, the changes to the financial statements would occur when the economic
events occur. However, as the game also has a payment term, accounts payable and
accounts receivable will also be impacted.
• Marketing expenses: spent each day (accounted for weekly, every 5 days), other fixed
costs such as labour, depreciation etc are accounted for the same way.
• Goods Receipt (Raw materials) this is linked to inbound invoicing. The receipt of Raw
materials triggers the account payable, which depending on accounting policies is
recognised here, or when the invoice is received.
Tutorial Week 11
SAP acts as a central database. One example of this would be that inventory data can be
accessed by the purchasing personal to decide what raw materials need to be purchased
and the sales department for decision making around prices to charge and marketing
expenses. Inventory data can also be used to inform production decisions (what to produce,
and what order). Any updates to the inventory database are updated in real-time so
relevant personnel are then able to make decisions based on updated information at all
times.
• What information did you use for your decision making? Would this information be
considered accounting information? Could it be used to produce accounting
information? (the word “information” is “data” in the students’ version of the question)
Inventory, sales order, summary sales order, price market report (to see the average
market price to determine whether price is too high or low)
The above reports are the major information that are used for decision making. This
information is not considered as accounting information from a financial accounting point of
view, in that they do not directly affect financial reports. However, it can be used to produce
accounting information (e.g. inventory value, revenue, etc.)
However, it can also be argued that this information is accounting information as these
reports can be considered management accounting information/reports (as opposed to
financial accounting information) as they inform decision making that leads to changes in
economic events, and allocation of economic resources (e.g. what product to manufacture
impacts raw material allocation) and is based on financial data also used to produce the
financial reports.
PRE-CLASS TASK:
Task 1:
Undertake the University of Melbourne training module on the chart of accounts (please note this
needs to be viewed on a device that can flash)
https://lcms.elmolms.com/lms_modules/course_39589_ZWRzZ2RwNEkzZzNmnpmroA==/inde
x.php?t=d27cfd44d40d37576bbdfefa8ef30556&cid=184&mid=519&uid=12756&sd=uomtrainme
.elmotalent.com.au&page=0
Tutorial Week 11
Required: Answer the following questions:
The chart of accounts allows for classification of transactions (and thus data) into an AIS. It
identifies each account, as well as cost centre, project and budget unit
2. What are the segments of the chart of accounts? What is the purpose of using
segments?
Company, Budget Unit, Cost Centre, Natural Account, Project Code, LPC, Activity, Location.
The various segments enable multiple reports to be produced. For example, a user might want
a set of reports for a faculty or department within a faculty in which case the budget unit could
be used. Or, if a project cuts across faculties, project codes would need to be used.
3. What type of reports are supported through the university chart of accounts?
The University’s chart of accounts supports both Financial Accounting (FA) and Management
Accounting (MA) reports. For FA, it is used to generate the consolidated financial statements
of the university and those of each of the separate entities (as well as each unit of the
university).
It can also produce a range of MA reports for budgeting and expense tracking purposes, both
within and across divisions.
Task 2:
On the next few pages are the flowcharts for the reporting process of a large listed company on
the ASX. They have asked not to be identified, but we are allowed to use their materials.
Provide a brief summary of each of the five flowcharts by describing which sub-processes they
reflect. Your summary should identify any key controls that are in place as well as the reports (if
any) generated by the sub-process.
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ANSWER:
Chart 1: summarises the overall process used to produce the company’s financial statements; before the statements are being produced, all
balance sheet accounts are reconciled.
Chart 2: the process to request a change to the chart of accounts: local units’ request goes to a director to approve or reject before being
changed (if approved) by the finance unit.
Chart 3 and 4: show how each account is reconciled, depending on the owner (if it is a corporate account or belongs to a location within
Australia).
• Finance first prepares the information by consolidating the various inputs into one report;
• Subsequently, the regional finance teams prepare their individual reports (including commentary);
Tutorial Week 11
ACCT20007
Accounting Information: Risks and Controls
Topic 6 Suggested Solution
Topic Objectives
• Explain and give examples of key ethical issues relating to accounting information
systems
Readings
Topic 6
POST-CLASS CONSOLIDATION:
Required: Reflect upon your experience in working through the GBI modules, in particular, the
SD and MM modules.
SD Module: You start the sales order process by creating a new business partner (BP) with
the role customer (The Bike Zone) in Orlando. Then, you receive an inquiry which you will
process into a quotation. Once the customer accepts the quotation, you create a sales
order referencing the quotation. As you will have enough bikes in stock, you deliver the
products ordered to your customer, create an invoice, and receive the payment.
MM Module: Before you start the purchasing process, you will create a new vendor (Mid-
West Supply) in Lincoln. Then you create a new master record for a trading good (Chain
Lock) in the system. After checking the stock (that will be zero), you start the procurement
process by creating a purchase requisition. As the buyer, you will create a request for
quotation and enter the submitted bids from various vendors – including your new vendor.
After evaluating and accepting the quotation of Mid-West Supply, you will create a purchase
order referencing the RFQ. You will then post the receipt of the goods and verify the
physical receipt into stock. After creating two partial invoices, you will post the payments to
the vendor and review the G/L accounts.
PP Module: Before you can start forecasting demand for your touring bike product group,
changes in the material master record of the bikes need to be maintained. Afterwards, you
will create a 12-month sales and operations plan (SOP) for your product group, receive the
production of relevant goods from the warehouse storage location and issue them to the
production order. To conclude the process, the production is confirmed as complete, and
the finished goods are received into the warehouse and costs assigned to the production
order are analysed.
FI Module: Before you can post the accounts payable invoice, master data has to be
maintained. Within the Case Study, you will create necessary accounts within the General
Ledger and create the vendor. Afterwards, you will post the invoice and verify the changes
in your accounts. Since the posting is relevant to P&L-Statement, you will review the impact
on your Financial Statement as a final activity.
• Summarise what departments/personnel are involved in the process (hint: you may want to
look at the shaded box at the beginning of each step)
SD Module:
David Lopez (East Rep. Miami), Maria Diaz (Sales Person 1), Matthias Dosch (Sales
Person 2),, Sergey Petrov (Warehouse Employee), Stephanie Bernard (Billing Clerk),
Jamie Shamblin (Cost Accountant)
MM Module:
Topic 6
(Technical Office Assistant), Aura Maxwell (Buyer), Tatjana Karsova (Receiving Clerk),
Silvia Cassano (Accounts Payable Specialist), Shuyuan Chen (Chief Accountant)
PP Module:
Jun Lee (Production Supervisor), Hiro Abe (Plant Manager Dallas), Lars Iseler (Production
Order Worker), Susanne Castro (Receiving Clerk), Sanjay Datar (Warehouse Employee),
Michael Brauer (Shop Floor Worker 4), Jamie Shamblin (Cost Accountant)
FI Module:
Silvia Cassano (Accounts Payable Specialist), Shuyuan Chen (Chief Accountant), Clayton
Bartolome (Fixed Assets Accountant)
- Approval of documents
- Edit checks
- Pre-population
- Login (authorisation)
- Document Tracking
- Confirmation notification (e.g. each time a document is created, you get a confirmation
down at the bottom of the screen containing the document details and/or whether the
document has created successfully).
• Identify what data was created and what additional data was used within the process
SD Module:
- Created: new customer, contact person for the customer, BP Relationship, inquiry,
quotation, sales order, picking slip, shipping document, invoice, receipt of payment
Topic 6
MM Module:
- Created: new vendor, material masters for trading goods, purchase requisition, RFQ
(request for quotation), purchase order, goods receipt document, invoice receipt
PP Module:
- Created: changing the forecast of materials, adjusted routing of materials, sales and
operation plan (SOP), MPS (master production scheduling) and MRP (material
requirements planning), production order (from planned order),
FI Module:
- Created: Bank account, reconciliation account, expense account, vendor master record
for the landlord, cost element for an expense account, invoice receipt
GBI: related to the input of the transactions and following one transaction across the
process.
ERPSim: the high-level strategic decision making based on the data that is produced by
the system.
Topic 6
PRE-CLASS TASK:
iHarden is an online company that sells hardware products for new houses to both industrial clients and
individual consumers. As a result of its very competitive price schemes, iHarden has developed an
extensive customer base, which is reflected in its burgeoning database of customer details, purchasing
and internet usage data. Recognising that these data are potentially valuable to third parties, iHarden’s
directors discuss the prospect of selling its customer database to a large insurance company, thus
allowing the insurance company to target advertising and mail-outs about home and contents
insurance to new home buyers. The directors are divided on the issue. Some view this as an exciting
way to add value to their customers, through complementary product offerings; while others see it as a
gross misuse of information that is not in keeping with the original purpose for which the data were
gathered.
Required: You have been hired as an ethics consultant by the board of iHarden. You are required to
identify and analyse the key ethical principles at stake, and come up with a recommended course of
action.
Because this question is about ethics, there is no right or wrong answer. That is the point of ethical
dilemmas in the real world. The central question of ethics is: What ought one to do? Ethics should be
central to the study of all business disciplines, including accounting. All types of businesses and
government entities need to consider the ethical implications of their actions. Businesses and
governments have control of the world’s resources, including information, and managers make
decisions that affect those resources and the lives of millions of people.
Ethics is about making a choice. Ethics is how we act to make the ‘right’ choice to produce ‘good’
behaviour. Ethics is an examination of principles, values, duties and norms, the consideration of
available choices in order to make the decision and the strength of character to act in accordance with
that decision.
Advances in information technology have created ethical issues such as the common one described in
the question above. The situation should be used to prompt discussion, and students should be able to
come up with ‘what if?’ alternatives.
On the positive side, some individuals may welcome the targeted advertising, as it may be relevant to
their needs, and save them on personal information search and processing costs in seeking insurance
cover. On the other hand, it is a narrowing of their choice options.
• Consent – individuals did not consent for their data (or metadata) to be used for this purpose? o
Would it be possible to get consent? Now or in the future? Can that consent ever be fully informed?
• Security – how secure is the data if it is shared with third parties? What’s to stop third parties on-
selling the data?
Topic 6
• Ownership – who actually ‘owns’ the data? Is this personal data an ‘asset’ in accounting terms?
Consider ownership and control aspects.
• Does it make it okay because other businesses are doing this all time?
• What processes could the business put in place to make this action ethically acceptable?
IN-CLASS TASK:
Required: Considering your experiences with SAP (ERPSim and GBI), what are some ethical/privacy
concerns that you see with using SAP (or an ERP system) in a corporate environment.
- In addition, also consider what are some controls/policies that can be put in place to
minimise these concerns.
Some possible discussion points could include the following – you will need to justify their answers
Topic 6