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Campaign Management Document
Campaign Management Document
Players –
Advertiser - Buyer
Publisher – Seller
Ad network – Techno platform that serves as a broker between Pub and advertiser (collects unsold
inventories from Pub and offers it to adv
Ad exchange – Tech platform which facilitates buying and selling of online media through bidding (RTB)
Yahoo right media, double click, appnexus
Players in ad exchange –
Advertiser > Agency (DSP) > Ad X < (SSP) ad network < Publisher
DSP - A DSP is a Demand Side Platform which allows digital ad buying to manage multiple ad exchange
through one interface.
SSP - A supply-side platform is an ad techno platform used by publ to manage, sell and optimize
available inventory on their websites and mobile apps in an automated and efficient way
Adserving process
• User enter the webpage
Targeting
Geography, demographic (age, gender, income), device, browser, Ad position, KW, content etc
Day parting –
F-cap – no of times you limit the view of an ad per user in the given time frame (1/1 hr, 2/1 day,
5/session etc)
Pacing – how fast the purchased impression are delivered (Actual delivery/ expected delivery) * 100
CTR - Ratio of how often people see your ad end up clicking it (clicks/Imps)*100
Conversion – tracking metric of successful completion of any action on the website by the user
(conversion/clicks)*100
Viewabilty rate - s the percentage of ads which are counted as having been viewed by a user (viewable
Imps/Measured Imps) * 100
Pricing model
CPC – Cost paid by the advertiser to publisher when the ad is clicked (total ad spend/total clicks)
CPA – Payment model use to charge an advertiser only for a specified action (total
adspend/conversions)
CPI – Cost per install specifically for mobile applications ( total adspend/total installs)
CPV – Cost per view – number of times an ad is viewed and counted by server in youtube ad must have
been viewd for 30sec (total adspend/total views)
VTR - percentage of all video ads that play through their entire duration (total completed views/total
impression)*100
1. List out different optimizations to improve CTR in GAM [Google Ad manager] and provide
explaination
2. List out the applications of Third party tracking system like Google campaign manager [DCM]
• In-House Analysis
• Media Optimization
• Efficiency in spend
• Conversion tracking
• Audience Targeting
• Real-Time De-Duplication
• Data Ownership
• Data Freshness
• Data Privacy
• Discrepancy Analysis
• Optimized : In Optimized creative rotation creatives will rotate based on performace that
we choose. (like click, conversion)
Example – Break out by Country, Break out by Ad unit, Break out by Line Item, Device etc
5. Explain with diagram – Programmatic Eco system. Provide explanation for each component
• Allows Advertisers to buy, serve and track ads across wide range of Ad exchanges within one
tool
• Enhanced consumer targeting capabilities because we can target anyone using open
internet Pay every Impression its worth
• Elimination of Middlemen.
• Campaign monitoring process is the process of tracking the campaign performace to ensure
that it is on the right place and processing towards goal.
• The Frequency of campaign monitoring is every two days. However for better performance
on daily basis we can monitor the campaign.
9. What is performance Analysis? List out different performance analysis reports and how does it
help in optimization decision making
1. Pacing Report: It provides insight into how much of the budget has been spent, how
many impressions have been delivered, and how well the campaign is performing
compared to its target. The report helps advertisers monitor the progress of their
campaign and make adjustments as needed to ensure that they are staying on track to
meet their goals.
4. Weekly Performance reports: These reports are completely based on client requirement.
Weekly report are scheduled accordingly which includes the KPI’s which client is selling
his inventory.
10. Explain optimization decision making process. Mentions 3 things that influences the
optimization decision
- Campaign data: The data collected from the campaign, such as impressions, clicks,
conversions, and cost, is used to identify areas for improvement and make informed
optimization decisions.
- Campaign goals and objectives: The goals and objectives of the campaign, such as increasing
brand awareness or driving sales, will determine what KPIs are most important and what
optimizations should be prioritized.
- Market conditions: The current state of the market, such as the level of competition, the
availability of inventory, and the behavior of the target audience, will also impact the
optimization decision-making process.
The optimization decision-making process typically involves regularly reviewing campaign data,
evaluating the performance of the campaign against KPIs, and making data-driven decisions to
adjust the campaign to improve performance. This may include adjusting targeting, changing
bidding strategies, or modifying creative to better reach and engage the target audience.
11. How is CPM, CPC and CPA calculated, when provided with Cost, Impressions, clicks and
actions?
12. List out the programmatic campaign KPIs and provide explaination
• Pacing : Pacing is how the campaign is performing with respect to impressions are delivered
or revenue spent. In other words we can analyze the campaign status which are over
delivering or under delivering.
• eCPM : for daily bases we are paying to the publish is call as eCPM.
• Viewability Rate: Viewability reports gives the viewable percentage of an ad on the clients
webpage.
• Post launch QA : QAing the actual campaign set up and checking wether the Ads are
delivering as per the requirement.
• Reporting: Is the process of gathering and analyzing Campaing data based on served
impression, clicks, Converions Etc.
• Campaign KPI monitoring: Montitoring the campaign based on the reports and with this
we can confirm/decide whether the campaign is meeting uo the KPI’s that are defined.
• Optimization: Based on the reports and the required KPI goals we can decide what all the
optimization that can be performed on the campaign. It is the process of making the
running Ad campaign more effective to rech it’s goals.
• End of the campaign : The EOC report shared once campaign ended.
• Exclude targets with low CTR/high CPA based on – Geo, Audience, Time and day, device.
• Make sure creative rotation is set to ‘optimized’ or remove creatives with low CTR.
• Reallocate budget from low performing line items to high performing line items/high CPA
lines to low CPA lines.
• Shift more budget to Mobile targeting lines. Generally mobile returns better CTR.
• Analyse the performance between environments and shift budget to better performers.
Generally Mobile Apps return better CTR than Web.
16. What is Brand safety? How it is achieved in programmatic advertising
• Brand safety is the practice of protecting a brand's reputation and keeping it from appearing
in unsafe environments. Its focus is to align your brand with other positive, authoritative,
and non-confrontational brands.
• Target domains with high Brand safety and increase the Bide
• Targeting optimization: Choose the right audience segments to target, and use data to
optimize targeting and minimize waste. This can help reduce CPM by ensuring that your ads
are only shown to users who are most likely to be interested in your products or services.
• Bid optimization: Set competitive but efficient bids to maximize the chances of winning
impressions while also controlling CPM. This can be done through automated bidding
algorithms or manual bidding strategies.
• Dayparting and geotargeting: Use dayparting and geotargeting to reach users when and
where they are most likely to be engaged. This can help reduce CPM by avoiding
impressions that are less likely to result in conversions.
• Inventory selection: Choose the right inventory sources to target, and prioritize premium
inventory sources that are more likely to result in high-quality impressions. This can help
reduce CPM by avoiding low-quality or fraudulent impressions.
• Frequency capping: Set frequency caps to limit the number of times an ad is shown to a
single user. This can help reduce CPM by avoiding over-saturating users and wasting
impressions.
• Ad format and size: Use ad formats and sizes that are more likely to result in high-quality
impressions, such as larger banner ads or video ads. This can help reduce CPM by avoiding
impressions that are less likely to result in conversions.
• Campaign pacing: Use pacing algorithms to manage the speed at which impressions are
served, and avoid spending too much too quickly or too slowly. This can help control CPM by
avoiding overspending or underspending, and ensuring that the budget is spent in a way
that maximizes results.
18. Client is expecting CPM to be lower than $2. Current CPM of the campaign is $1.2. Can
campaign manager increase bid as an optimization towards improving pacing? Why?
• Yes, Campaign Manager can increase the bid more than $1.2 to Improve the pacing as we
have option of maximum CMP upto $2.
19. Explain the difference between Publisher ad server like GAM and DSP like DV 360
So, the main difference between GAM and DV360 is that GAM is used by publishers to manage
and sell their own advertising inventory, while DV360 is used by advertisers and agencies to
purchase and manage programmatic advertising from multiple sources.
20. What is different between viewable impression and impression? How is Viewability %
calculated? Let us know the optimizations to improve Viewability of a DSP campaign
• A viewable impression is a more stringent metric that only counts impressions where the ad
is actually seen by the user. A viewable impression is counted when at least 50% of the ad's
pixels are in view for a minimum of 1 second for display ads, and 2 seconds for video ads.
The viewability rate is calculated as the number of viewable impressions divided by the number
of total impressions. For example, if an ad is served 1000 times and 500 of those are viewable,
the viewability rate would be 50%.
To improve the viewability of a DSP campaign, some optimizations that can be considered
include:
- Ad placement optimization: Ensure that ads are placed above the fold, so users are more likely
to see them when they first load a webpage.
- Reducing ad clutter: Minimize the number of ads on a page, so that users are more likely to
focus on the ad you want them to see.
- Optimizing ad size and format: Use ad formats that are more likely to be seen by users, such
as larger banner ads or video ads.
- Implementing viewability tracking: Use viewability tracking to monitor the viewability of your
ads, and make adjustments to improve viewability over time.
- Regular reporting and analysis: Regularly review and analyze the performance of your
campaigns, and use that information to make data-driven decisions to improve viewability and
overall campaign performance.
Extra details :
3. Optimization on CTR:
-Reallocation: for example we have multiple lines or ad groups, if some ad groups are
performing good with regards to CTR, we can move the impressions or Budget from non
performing Ad group to better performing Ad group.
-Blacklisting: Basically pull the report based on the device wise, site wise, ad exchanges wise
analyze where ever the CTR is not performing, we can blacklist them.
-Bidding factor, where ever the ad group better performing for them will increase slightly and
improve CTR. Or we can increase bidding for ad exchange it is also called as white listing.
Ex: if I show ad to 20 people with frequency cap of 5, 20*5=100, but 10 clicks, CTR is 10/100=0.1.
If for same tithing frequency to 3, then 20*3=60, same 10 clicks, CTR is 10/60=0.16, CTR
improved.
-Blacklisting the highest bidding ad exchanges, and white listing lowest price and better
performing ad exchanges.
5. Margin,
6. Types of Geo targeting: DMA(Designated Market Area), zip, Postal code and
MSA(Metropolitan Statistical Area).
7. Day and time targeting: It is basically restricting the number of user, For EX: In India if we
show festival offers at the weekend at particular time, it is useful for the client and gets good
impressions.
8. Pacing: Pacing is how the campaign is performing with respect to impressions are delivered or
revenue spent. In other words we can analyze the campaign status which are over
delivering or under delivering.
9. Ad network: Is basically company which runs unsold inventories, they go to publishers and
buy all the unsold inventories, then separate by categories wise and sell ad slots for less price.
Prons: They will sell the unsold inventories for low price and get good revenue.
Cons: it is having big problem is on transparency, Publishers don’t know which ad is running on
their sites and the advertiser doesn’t know where their ad is running.
50% of should be run at least 2 sec without buffering for video ads.
Optimization:
-we can ensure that all the creative’s are serving above the fouled.
-we can use interactive creative’s lick skin, cat fish, those creative even we scroll up or down
those creative’s always visible on the view port.
-basically try to target creative’s in some article page, because peoples spend time on that page
for reading the contents.
11. Conversion:
- reallocation, basically in ad group better performing and having less CPA, for those I will try to
move the budget.
-Blacklisting: Basically for some of ad exchanges or sites not performing CTR those will do
blacklist.
- Retargeting pixel, retarget the audience who are showing interest in my product, then
converting them to potential customer to customer.
- look back window if we set for 30 days with this period of time if customer purchase the
product it will considered as conversion.
Fed light report in DCM we use basically for conversion to show whether this clicked or viewed
conversion.
Pacing report: To check the preformace of the campaign that the campaign performing under
delivering or over delivering.
Campaign Performance report: mean Daily, weekly and monthly reports, basically check the
performance of the reports KPI goals, it can be CTR, Margin, CPM, Viewability.
Fed light or the conversion report: Run the repot on DCM and get the details of view through
and click through conversions.
13.Reasons for 1st & 3rd Party discrepancy: Deferent counting methodologies,
Deferent time zones, Data vacancy, Cache buster and Ad blockers these are the 5 major reasons.
14.What is the acceptable discrepancy percentage between 1st party & 3rd
Party?
For Google server +/-5% for other server +/– 15% for both.
19.Similarly in Programmatic: 1st party is DSP and 3rd party is 3rd party vender who
supporting advertiser.
For programmatic who is 1st party that is Publisher itself 1st party or SSP/TTD/DV360, and 3rd
party is 3rd party vender or DCM.
EX: If we set line item in TTD, then TTD is 1st party and DCM is the 3rd party.
Popular Science, Blair Corporation, The Sportsman Channel, Inc and Buffalo Bills, LLC.
The Nielsen Company is an information, data, and market measurement firm, Nielsen attempts
to provide its clients with valuable insights into consumer behavior and marketing information
by collecting data that measures what consumers watch and what they buy.
Comscore is a trusted partner for planning, transacting and evaluating media across platforms.
With transformative data science and vast audience insights across digital, linear TV,
over-the-top (OTT) and theatrical viewership, we are a powerful third-party source for reliable
measurement of cross-platform audiences.