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Virgin Mobiles Final
Virgin Mobiles Final
Virgin Mobiles Final
7
Objectives of the CASE
Contracts
Buckets
Hidden Cost
Off-Peak / On-Peak
Differentials
Credit Checks
Complex Sales
Process
Privacy Concern
Poor Services
The Difference = 72 % - 24 % = 48 %
Virgin Mobile USA: Pricing for the Very First Time
23
1. Contracts
AT & T with customer base 20.5 M (Case Exhibit 1)
Forced Contracts
Credit Check
Poor Services
Forced Contracts
Time required to
breakeven = $370/$22
= 17 months
Virgin Mobile USA: Pricing for the Very First Time
35
Lifetime Value (LTV) Analysis
1. LTV = M/(1-r+i)-AC
1. LTV = M/(1-r+i)-AC
1. LTV = M/(1-r+i)-AC
2. Hidden cost = $35-$29 = $ 6 on $ 29 = 21 %
40
Option 3: Different Pricing
Customer Characteristics:
Highly Dissatisfied and Confused
No Credit Check
More Uncollectible
43
Current Industry Handset Cost $ 150 to $ 300 (225) Case p 3
48
Customer problems and Solutions
No Contracts Increased Churn Lower Subsidies
No Pricing Bucket
Lower
Acquisition Cost
No Hidden Fees Lower Operating Margins
Offset Loss in
No Peak / Off Peak Hrs LTV
No Credit Check
More Uncollectible
Simplified Pre-
Simple Sales Process Customer Confusion
paid Plans
Great Service Increased Cost
Virgin Mobile USA: Pricing for the Very First Time
49
A customer Friendly Plan:
Could it Achieve
Profitability?
50
Breakeven Analysis
Virgin’s Monthly APRU = 200 minutes * P
(p = price per minute)
120/ 110P = 17
Pricing Estimates
(1-0.45)(200*12*p)/(1-0.28+0.05)-120>0
1320p/0.77> 120
P>0.07 7 Cents
Virgin Mobile USA: Pricing for the Very First Time
53
Lifetime Value Analysis (LTV)
At 10 cents per minute the LTV would be $ 51
55
Virgin Price Plan
A pre-paid plan
No contracts
No Hidden Charges
No peak or off peak hours
Very Low handset subsidies
No credit check
No monthly bills
Price: 25 cents per minute for the first 10 minutes in a day, 10
cents/ minute for the rest of the day
Harvard Business School Case
56
Virgin Price Plan
A 3 months period in which to use pre paid minutes plus an
additional 2 months grace period
Handsets with one button access to view current
balance/remaining minutes
Customers could purchase additional minutes via the phone
or web using a credit card: users could also purchased top off
card through Virgin’s retail channel
No Contracts
No Credit Check
Great Services
No Contracts
Lower Customer
Acquisition Cost